1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

GFI keeps tripping

Discussion in 'Garage / Workshop' started by coffeesnob, Nov 23, 2010.

  1. Nov 23, 2010 at 1:58 PM
    #1
    coffeesnob

    coffeesnob [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Member:
    #30892
    Messages:
    8,068
    Gender:
    Male
    VA
    Vehicle:
    2010 access 4 cyl 2 wd
    The GFI in my garage keeps tripping. When it trips a red light on it comes on. Sometimes it trips right away other times it takes a few seconds. I know nothing about electricity but if you think this is a bad GFI I can replace it myself... Thanks:confused:
     
  2. Nov 23, 2010 at 2:01 PM
    #2
    DaCapt

    DaCapt Mad Fisherman

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Member:
    #35429
    Messages:
    496
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Phil
    Reno, Nevada
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma 4X4 SR5 DC
    is it a wall gfi or a gfi in the electrical box?
     
  3. Nov 23, 2010 at 2:10 PM
    #3
    Snipe

    Snipe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Member:
    #12421
    Messages:
    1,150
    Gender:
    Male
    Pacific NW
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Off Road
    Start with unplugging anything down line of the GFI, the problem item doesn't need to be plugged directly into that outlet, it just needs to be on that line and triggering the GFI into seeing a ground fault.
     
  4. Nov 23, 2010 at 2:29 PM
    #4
    Hugebergen

    Hugebergen Crash and burn live and learn

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Member:
    #30927
    Messages:
    100
    Gender:
    Male
    Saskatoon Sask
    3"Toytec ULK, box mat, angle brackets in box corners for tie downs, anytime fog lights, bhlm, black grill and lip, trimed front flaps, 7089 procomp rims with 285/75/16 Toyo M/T tires, black badges with trd badges added,anytime foglights, lamin-x yellow fogs, illuminated 4x4 switch, colour match satoshi, Camburg ball joint UCAS.
    If the GFI is on the same circuit as the lights it can cause it to trip. Theres nothing plugged into it when it trips?
     
  5. Nov 23, 2010 at 3:22 PM
    #5
    coffeesnob

    coffeesnob [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Member:
    #30892
    Messages:
    8,068
    Gender:
    Male
    VA
    Vehicle:
    2010 access 4 cyl 2 wd
    all
    the gfi is in a wall. It trips on its own.. the only thing plugged into down stream ( I think) is an extension cord with a multi strip deal on it that is turned off. I've only had a battery charger plugged into the multi outlet strip so I don't think it is causing an overload. One other thing may be a coincidence. I had my house pressure washed today and the circuit breaked box is outside on the house. I am wondering if mositure got in it. It should have dried by now though
     
  6. Nov 23, 2010 at 3:32 PM
    #6
    DaCapt

    DaCapt Mad Fisherman

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Member:
    #35429
    Messages:
    496
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Phil
    Reno, Nevada
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma 4X4 SR5 DC
    yep, that would be a good reason it tripped. If this is the first time it has given you problems, then yes it was the power wash. Let it dry out on its own, or give it a blow dry, either using a compressor , or when its dry outside, you can use a hair dryer. Take the faceplate off before you try either method. Also might help to turn off that circuit, before you attempt to dry the outlet.
     
  7. Nov 23, 2010 at 3:35 PM
    #7
    DWreck

    DWreck Famous Retrieval Vendor

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Member:
    #37368
    Messages:
    5,135
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Derek
    Las Vegas, NV
    Vehicle:
    2004 Tacoma Smurf Truck
    Plasti-dip paint, TRD S/C, MCM Fab LT kit, bunches of my fab
    Sounds like ur equip has an issue
     
  8. Nov 23, 2010 at 3:37 PM
    #8
    WNYTACOMA

    WNYTACOMA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Member:
    #10961
    Messages:
    1,333
    Gender:
    Male
    Clarence, New York
    Vehicle:
    09 Metalic Grey TRD OFF ROAD
    Toyota Nerf steps Bugflector 2 Tool box Weathertech floor liners Wet Okole F/R - Bk/Char
    A lot of times, the garage interior wall will reset the exterior outlets on the same circuit, so it could be related...

    I would give it a chance to 'dry out' and see it that takes care of it. In the future, you might want to tape over / seal the exterior outlets prior to another power wash.
     
  9. Nov 23, 2010 at 3:37 PM
    #9
    coffeesnob

    coffeesnob [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Member:
    #30892
    Messages:
    8,068
    Gender:
    Male
    VA
    Vehicle:
    2010 access 4 cyl 2 wd

    The gfi is in my garage and dry as a bone. I menat that the breaker box was outside.
     
  10. Nov 23, 2010 at 3:47 PM
    #10
    davidsdad

    davidsdad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Member:
    #40383
    Messages:
    64
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Grove City, Ohio
    Vehicle:
    Reg. Cab 4X4
    "Under Cover" Bed cover, 3" Suspension Lift, Sony stereo, 600w amp, Rockford Fosgate 12" sub, wheels, tires, (window tint coming soon).
    Unplug the poower strip and all other equipment on this circuit and then attempt to re-set the G.F.C.I. If then it resets you know one of the items plugged into this circuit is causing the ground fault!! Let us know how it turns out!!!
     
  11. Nov 23, 2010 at 3:49 PM
    #11
    macgyver

    macgyver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Member:
    #21173
    Messages:
    3,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brad
    Canton, GA
    Vehicle:
    '13 Tundra double cab SR5 4x4
    the gfci outlet may be in your garage but it could control outlets on the outside. mine does in my house.
     
  12. Nov 24, 2010 at 5:17 AM
    #12
    coffeesnob

    coffeesnob [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Member:
    #30892
    Messages:
    8,068
    Gender:
    Male
    VA
    Vehicle:
    2010 access 4 cyl 2 wd

    Its still is tripping. If I get a chance I am going to the hardware store and buy a new outlet and go from there...thx
     
  13. Nov 24, 2010 at 5:38 AM
    #13
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 is gooder 'en chicken Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    49,828
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5 (+250k AND COUNTING), 88 SR5 PU (SOLD), 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours
    I think you are wasting your time buying a new outlet. A GFI monitors the load on both sides (hot and common/neutral). A wet neutral line (or even ground since they are typically bonded at the box) could cause it to trip. And as others have said, an exterior outlet or the main box itself could have moisture in it which could take a few days to dry out. I'd say give it a week and see what happens. Pressure washing can force water into unwanted places.
     
  14. Nov 24, 2010 at 6:10 AM
    #14
    Dimonback

    Dimonback Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Member:
    #32964
    Messages:
    872
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Patrick
    Austin, Tx, from all over hell and back
    Vehicle:
    Geezer double cab w/ shell
    It's likely that the GFI is working correctly, and as someone else pointed out, one of the other exterior receptacles has faulted due to the power wash. Shack electricians will typically use one GFI to power several receptacles downline to save money. Check your exterior recepts before you buy a new GFI.
     
  15. Nov 24, 2010 at 6:22 AM
    #15
    WNYTACOMA

    WNYTACOMA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Member:
    #10961
    Messages:
    1,333
    Gender:
    Male
    Clarence, New York
    Vehicle:
    09 Metalic Grey TRD OFF ROAD
    Toyota Nerf steps Bugflector 2 Tool box Weathertech floor liners Wet Okole F/R - Bk/Char
    Yep.

    If you have a circuit fed by your service equipment ('main panel') on a grounded circuit, the GFCI outlet closer to the source (panel) will (or should) provide GFCI protection for the outlets farther away or 'downstream'.

    In other words, you don't have to see the little buttons on the outlet for them to be GFCI protected, and in your case, it sounds like the GFCI outlet closer to the panel is the one in the garage interior wall, whether it be on the garage / house common wall or possibly the rear wall. That one would 'reset' the exteriors, in all likelihood, in your case.

    Let it 'dry out' for some days and see if that takes care of it, otherwise, you might have to target the effected outlet.
     
  16. Nov 24, 2010 at 6:23 AM
    #16
    xJuice

    xJuice My spoon is too Big!

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Member:
    #3208
    Messages:
    8,347
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    North DFW
    Vehicle:
    07 DCSB Sport 2wd
    5100s @ 0.85, Grom iPod/Bluetooth adapter, mud flaps removed, clear turn signal bulbs, TSB leafs, two extra D-rings, debadged, fog light anytime, OEM bed mat, Undercover classic, Hankook Dynapro ATM, Fumoto valve
    I've had a similar issue. My GFCI in my garage was randomly tripping itself. It's connected to the 3 exterior outlets on my house also. The seals around the ext. outlets (between the plate and brick) weren't very good so I figured that maybe water was getting behind them when it rained. Two of the outlets are uncovered. Caulked a nice silicone seal around them and also around my back patio light fixture. Haven't had a problem since. (knock on wood)
     
  17. Nov 24, 2010 at 6:25 AM
    #17
    coffeesnob

    coffeesnob [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Member:
    #30892
    Messages:
    8,068
    Gender:
    Male
    VA
    Vehicle:
    2010 access 4 cyl 2 wd
    I'll take that advice. I'll Give it a week and see what happens and thanks all. and happy thanksgiving
     
  18. Nov 24, 2010 at 6:26 AM
    #18
    macgyver

    macgyver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Member:
    #21173
    Messages:
    3,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brad
    Canton, GA
    Vehicle:
    '13 Tundra double cab SR5 4x4
    There's actually nothing wrong with using one GFCI to power multiple downline receptacles as long as you don't exceed the maximum wattage and amperage the breaker allows which by standard practice is around 80% of the breakers rating. Show me where in the NEC that says this is unacceptable?
     
  19. Nov 24, 2010 at 6:29 AM
    #19
    90YotaPU

    90YotaPU The Messiah

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Member:
    #37191
    Messages:
    3,069
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Union County, NJ
    Vehicle:
    1990 Toyota 4x4 (Pre-Taco)
    Aftermarket Stereo, Spidertrax Wheel Spacers, HF Air Horns, 3" Lift
    I had this problem when I bought my house a few years ago. Anytime it rained, my GFI tripped. Looked everywhere for an answer. Turned out the caulk around the lights on my back porch had a small hole in it and was letting water in. My house was built in '42 so all the GFI and exterior sockets are on one circuit. I never thought to look at the lights because they're not plugged in (hardwired).
     
  20. Nov 24, 2010 at 6:40 AM
    #20
    macgyver

    macgyver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Member:
    #21173
    Messages:
    3,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brad
    Canton, GA
    Vehicle:
    '13 Tundra double cab SR5 4x4
    Mine did their job last year. I had the christmas lights on the bushes plugged in and everytime my dog would pee on the bushes it will trip the circuit. A little bit of "liquid" on the circuit can trip it.
     
To Top