1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Grounding Throttlebody?

Discussion in 'Performance and Tuning' started by NC15TRD, Jun 6, 2011.

  1. Jun 12, 2011 at 7:57 AM
    #21
    NC15TRD

    NC15TRD [OP] Your girlfriend likes my member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Member:
    #43212
    Messages:
    5,912
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    PA
    Vehicle:
    15 DCSB TRD Sport 6-Speed
    KINGS | LR | OME Dakars | Bilstein | Wheeler's Superbumps | OCTaco brake lines | UWS | Level 8 MK6 | Cooper Discoverer ST Maxx | PrInSu
    Whatever you think man! I wasn't expecting it to work but it did.
     
  2. Jun 12, 2011 at 8:00 AM
    #22
    whippersnapper02

    whippersnapper02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Member:
    #27905
    Messages:
    35,214
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Christian
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Vehicle:
    10 MGM TRD OR 4wd Auto DCSB
    Banks Monster Exhaust, Pop n Lock tailgate lock, Hook-Ups tie down brackets, USA Spec Ipod adaptor, WO seat covers, color matched grill with Grillcraft insert, Tuffy locking bed box
    Engines already have gound straps.:D
     
  3. Jun 12, 2011 at 8:16 AM
    #23
    rmb_crew

    rmb_crew My other ride has 18,400HP!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Member:
    #12837
    Messages:
    6,078
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Jacksonville, FL 30.243103, -81.591007‎
    Vehicle:
    2010 F150 XLT SuperCrew 4X4
    Access larado tonneau, magnaflow exhaust
    lol i was thinking the same thing. The throttle body is already being grounded since it is bolted into the manifold.... also there is a ground wire being run back away from the throttle body in order for it to move so really your just putting an extra ground wire for no reason....
     
  4. Jun 12, 2011 at 8:18 AM
    #24
    whippersnapper02

    whippersnapper02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Member:
    #27905
    Messages:
    35,214
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Christian
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Vehicle:
    10 MGM TRD OR 4wd Auto DCSB
    Banks Monster Exhaust, Pop n Lock tailgate lock, Hook-Ups tie down brackets, USA Spec Ipod adaptor, WO seat covers, color matched grill with Grillcraft insert, Tuffy locking bed box
    So if I put a grounding kit on my TV will picture be better?
     
  5. Jun 12, 2011 at 8:31 AM
    #25
    rmb_crew

    rmb_crew My other ride has 18,400HP!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Member:
    #12837
    Messages:
    6,078
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Jacksonville, FL 30.243103, -81.591007‎
    Vehicle:
    2010 F150 XLT SuperCrew 4X4
    Access larado tonneau, magnaflow exhaust
    lol yes. do it and post pictures!!!!
     
  6. Jun 12, 2011 at 8:34 AM
    #26
    whippersnapper02

    whippersnapper02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Member:
    #27905
    Messages:
    35,214
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Christian
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Vehicle:
    10 MGM TRD OR 4wd Auto DCSB
    Banks Monster Exhaust, Pop n Lock tailgate lock, Hook-Ups tie down brackets, USA Spec Ipod adaptor, WO seat covers, color matched grill with Grillcraft insert, Tuffy locking bed box
    After the meet I'm going to go home and work on it. Wish me luck.
     
  7. Jun 12, 2011 at 8:35 AM
    #27
    rmb_crew

    rmb_crew My other ride has 18,400HP!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Member:
    #12837
    Messages:
    6,078
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Jacksonville, FL 30.243103, -81.591007‎
    Vehicle:
    2010 F150 XLT SuperCrew 4X4
    Access larado tonneau, magnaflow exhaust
    :facepalm:
     
  8. Jun 12, 2011 at 8:46 AM
    #28
    BrokenTusk

    BrokenTusk I support a velociraptor free workplace.

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Member:
    #36607
    Messages:
    31,974
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Marcelasaurus
    AB, Canada
    Vehicle:
    The Scarlett Whore
    Check Build Thread!!
    Post pics of the pics on your tv :D

    OP, I'm curious to see where exactly you grounded from you should show a pic. I read part of that Mazda grounding thread where the guy actually took an Ohms meter to the different components to test everything. Just thinking out loud here, but if its a smoother transmission that your ass is feeling, wouldn't it be better to place the ground on the tranny instead of the throttle body??

    Also, to the rest of you, don't be so quick to dismiss ass dynos. Though they aren't near as accurate, some of us spend over a 100km's a day behind the wheel. I know if my truck started behaving differently, even if ever so slightly, I would notice in a heartbeat.
     
  9. Jun 12, 2011 at 8:49 AM
    #29
    rmb_crew

    rmb_crew My other ride has 18,400HP!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Member:
    #12837
    Messages:
    6,078
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Jacksonville, FL 30.243103, -81.591007‎
    Vehicle:
    2010 F150 XLT SuperCrew 4X4
    Access larado tonneau, magnaflow exhaust
    Also the information that was in the mazda forum doesnt sound right at all. in the post where the guy took a ohm meter to everything said he was reading 2 ohms on all 4 bolts but when he hooked up the ground strap he got 0.0 Well 0.0 means open which means its not grounded. so i dont know what kind of info he is putting out.
     
  10. Jun 12, 2011 at 8:51 AM
    #30
    BrokenTusk

    BrokenTusk I support a velociraptor free workplace.

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Member:
    #36607
    Messages:
    31,974
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Marcelasaurus
    AB, Canada
    Vehicle:
    The Scarlett Whore
    Check Build Thread!!
    I'll be honest, i napped a lot during the electrical section of my process engineering degree. But i'm pretty sure ohms is the measurement of resistance, not flow of electricity. If your resistance is 0, that would mean a smoother, cleaner flow of electrons.
     
  11. Jun 12, 2011 at 8:53 AM
    #31
    rmb_crew

    rmb_crew My other ride has 18,400HP!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Member:
    #12837
    Messages:
    6,078
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Jacksonville, FL 30.243103, -81.591007‎
    Vehicle:
    2010 F150 XLT SuperCrew 4X4
    Access larado tonneau, magnaflow exhaust
    correct but its impossible to have 0.0 ohms going through a wire. anytime you move electricity through anything you will have resistance. 0 resistance is like having an open circuit.
     
  12. Jun 12, 2011 at 8:57 AM
    #32
    BrokenTusk

    BrokenTusk I support a velociraptor free workplace.

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Member:
    #36607
    Messages:
    31,974
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Marcelasaurus
    AB, Canada
    Vehicle:
    The Scarlett Whore
    Check Build Thread!!
    Super conductors have zero resistance, thats the whole point of them :) haha sorry i had to say it.

    Yea I know what your getting it, it's called transmission losses, aka the transferring of power losses power as heat. Power companies hate this law of physics cause they lose billions of dollars worth of power every year on transmission losses.
     
  13. Jun 12, 2011 at 8:59 AM
    #33
    rmb_crew

    rmb_crew My other ride has 18,400HP!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Member:
    #12837
    Messages:
    6,078
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Jacksonville, FL 30.243103, -81.591007‎
    Vehicle:
    2010 F150 XLT SuperCrew 4X4
    Access larado tonneau, magnaflow exhaust
    lol u got a super conductor?

    I am a aviation electrician in the navy and deal with this stuff all day long.
     
  14. Jun 12, 2011 at 9:01 AM
    #34
    Yoytoda

    Yoytoda The Little Truck That Could

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Member:
    #23690
    Messages:
    4,963
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Roland
    Big Bear,CA / Upstate NY(Saratoga)
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma Regular Cab 4x4
    completely stock
    not impossible... :cool:
     
  15. Jun 12, 2011 at 9:02 AM
    #35
    rmb_crew

    rmb_crew My other ride has 18,400HP!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Member:
    #12837
    Messages:
    6,078
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Jacksonville, FL 30.243103, -81.591007‎
    Vehicle:
    2010 F150 XLT SuperCrew 4X4
    Access larado tonneau, magnaflow exhaust
    lol ok in a tacoma it is impossible.
     
  16. Jun 12, 2011 at 9:02 AM
    #36
    Yoytoda

    Yoytoda The Little Truck That Could

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Member:
    #23690
    Messages:
    4,963
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Roland
    Big Bear,CA / Upstate NY(Saratoga)
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma Regular Cab 4x4
    completely stock
    i work with superconductors all day long. 35 miles of 14 gauge wire with 0.00000000 ohms resistance
     
  17. Jun 12, 2011 at 9:03 AM
    #37
    whippersnapper02

    whippersnapper02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Member:
    #27905
    Messages:
    35,214
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Christian
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Vehicle:
    10 MGM TRD OR 4wd Auto DCSB
    Banks Monster Exhaust, Pop n Lock tailgate lock, Hook-Ups tie down brackets, USA Spec Ipod adaptor, WO seat covers, color matched grill with Grillcraft insert, Tuffy locking bed box
    If I use a grounding kit on my brain will I be smarter?
     
  18. Jun 12, 2011 at 9:04 AM
    #38
    rmb_crew

    rmb_crew My other ride has 18,400HP!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Member:
    #12837
    Messages:
    6,078
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Jacksonville, FL 30.243103, -81.591007‎
    Vehicle:
    2010 F150 XLT SuperCrew 4X4
    Access larado tonneau, magnaflow exhaust
    yeah thats just ridiculous.
     
  19. Jun 12, 2011 at 9:04 AM
    #39
    joes06tacoma

    joes06tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Member:
    #28588
    Messages:
    3,061
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Central Coast, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 Off Road Access Cab v6 6spd
    LEER Shell with dome lights operated with 3 way switches, aux backup lights with relay and 3 position switch, modified wiring to compass/temp display and clock to include switch that disables dimming function (poor man's DRL solution), Scan Gauge 2
    Looks like another cost cutting measure from Toyota.......bastards shorted us at least 10 HP! :rolleyes:
     
  20. Jun 12, 2011 at 9:05 AM
    #40
    Yoytoda

    Yoytoda The Little Truck That Could

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Member:
    #23690
    Messages:
    4,963
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Roland
    Big Bear,CA / Upstate NY(Saratoga)
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma Regular Cab 4x4
    completely stock
    im dead serious...
     
To Top