1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Grounding Throttlebody?

Discussion in 'Performance and Tuning' started by NC15TRD, Jun 6, 2011.

  1. Jun 12, 2011 at 9:05 AM
    #41
    rmb_crew

    rmb_crew My other ride has 18,400HP!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Member:
    #12837
    Messages:
    6,080
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Jacksonville, FL 30.243103, -81.591007‎
    Vehicle:
    2010 F150 XLT SuperCrew 4X4
    Access larado tonneau, magnaflow exhaust
    i dont doubt you at all. its just crazy that you can push power through a 35 mile long wire with no resistance just by a super conductor.
     
  2. Jun 12, 2011 at 9:08 AM
    #42
    BrokenTusk

    BrokenTusk I support a velociraptor free workplace.

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Member:
    #36607
    Messages:
    32,102
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Marcelasaurus
    AB, Canada
    Vehicle:
    The Scarlett Whore
    Check Build Thread!!
    Not off hand, but once I take over the world :spy:

    I suppose you could outfit your tacoma with an absolute zero refridgeration system. But the added weight would outweigh the benefits of the epic 10 hp ground wire :cool:

    I'm sure anything could help if you believe.
     
  3. Jun 12, 2011 at 9:09 AM
    #43
    BrokenTusk

    BrokenTusk I support a velociraptor free workplace.

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Member:
    #36607
    Messages:
    32,102
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Marcelasaurus
    AB, Canada
    Vehicle:
    The Scarlett Whore
    Check Build Thread!!
    Super conductors are gonna be the next big up and coming power tech.
     
  4. Jun 12, 2011 at 9:09 AM
    #44
    rmb_crew

    rmb_crew My other ride has 18,400HP!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Member:
    #12837
    Messages:
    6,080
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Jacksonville, FL 30.243103, -81.591007‎
    Vehicle:
    2010 F150 XLT SuperCrew 4X4
    Access larado tonneau, magnaflow exhaust
    sooo where would you ground it to?
     
  5. Jun 12, 2011 at 9:09 AM
    #45
    rmb_crew

    rmb_crew My other ride has 18,400HP!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Member:
    #12837
    Messages:
    6,080
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Jacksonville, FL 30.243103, -81.591007‎
    Vehicle:
    2010 F150 XLT SuperCrew 4X4
    Access larado tonneau, magnaflow exhaust
    like everything you gotta make it cost effective.
     
  6. Jun 12, 2011 at 9:11 AM
    #46
    BrokenTusk

    BrokenTusk I support a velociraptor free workplace.

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Member:
    #36607
    Messages:
    32,102
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Marcelasaurus
    AB, Canada
    Vehicle:
    The Scarlett Whore
    Check Build Thread!!
    his ass?
     
  7. Jun 12, 2011 at 9:12 AM
    #47
    Yoytoda

    Yoytoda The Little Truck That Could

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Member:
    #23690
    Messages:
    5,001
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Roland
    Big Bear,CA / Upstate NY(Saratoga)
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma Regular Cab 4x4
    completely stock
    yup it needs to be super cooled with liquid helium. -452 degrees F.

    at -450 or colder niobium titanium has no resistance. So an MRI (what i work on) has 35 miles of wire charge to 500 amps to create a 1.5-3.0 Tesla field. But at 0 volts since voltage is measured as a difference. Without resistance there is no difference so its not only 0 resistance its only way to have current with no voltage


    btw. grounding the TB is bogus. Its bolted to the engine block which is grounded...
     
  8. Jun 12, 2011 at 9:13 AM
    #48
    BrokenTusk

    BrokenTusk I support a velociraptor free workplace.

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Member:
    #36607
    Messages:
    32,102
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Marcelasaurus
    AB, Canada
    Vehicle:
    The Scarlett Whore
    Check Build Thread!!
    The is the big question, I bet i'll probably own the hydrid tacoma in ten years. power efficient :D
     
  9. Jun 12, 2011 at 9:15 AM
    #49
    BrokenTusk

    BrokenTusk I support a velociraptor free workplace.

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Member:
    #36607
    Messages:
    32,102
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Marcelasaurus
    AB, Canada
    Vehicle:
    The Scarlett Whore
    Check Build Thread!!
    Your an MRI technician? or you repair em? One of my best friends went into that field, she told me in case of an emergency with the machine, the helium purge costs 2 millions dollars if you push the big red button :eek:
     
  10. Jun 12, 2011 at 9:15 AM
    #50
    Yoytoda

    Yoytoda The Little Truck That Could

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Member:
    #23690
    Messages:
    5,001
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Roland
    Big Bear,CA / Upstate NY(Saratoga)
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma Regular Cab 4x4
    completely stock
    too expensive. the wire itself is about $10 a foot and needs to be super cooled. SuperPower has been trying it for years. it will never be cost effective because niobium titanium is expensive and so is keeping liquid helium cold. the military had the company i worked for built gigantic superconductor capacitors as silent generators too. not cost effective. Thats why a 15 minute mri scan is 1200-1800
     
  11. Jun 12, 2011 at 9:19 AM
    #51
    Yoytoda

    Yoytoda The Little Truck That Could

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Member:
    #23690
    Messages:
    5,001
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Roland
    Big Bear,CA / Upstate NY(Saratoga)
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma Regular Cab 4x4
    completely stock
    i repair them. Im a field service engineer magnet specialist. Used to work for Intermagnetics testing, building, and fixing them (we made all the MRI magnets for Philips). Then Philips bought Intermagnetic, worked there for 4 years. now i work for Aurora who uses philips/Intermagnetics magnets too


    Edit: The red button only costs about $150,000 worth of Liquid helium and labor to replace the burst disc, deice the magnet and re-ramping. Takes about 3 days to fix. Plus 3 days worth of lost revenue
     
  12. Jun 12, 2011 at 9:20 AM
    #52
    BrokenTusk

    BrokenTusk I support a velociraptor free workplace.

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Member:
    #36607
    Messages:
    32,102
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Marcelasaurus
    AB, Canada
    Vehicle:
    The Scarlett Whore
    Check Build Thread!!
    Nice! Thats a cool field to be in :D I love seeing cutting edge tech
     
  13. Jun 12, 2011 at 9:25 AM
    #53
    KenLyns

    KenLyns Lord of War

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Member:
    #37674
    Messages:
    20,655
    Gender:
    Male
    Belly of the Beast
    Vehicle:
    4x4 TRD Off Road Full-Auto
    All-Pro Front Bumper, All-Pro UCAs, Icon ET Coilovers, Icon VS Rear Shocks, TSB Leafs, Timbren Bumpstops, CBI Sliders, ViAir Compressor, Klearz LED 3rd Brake Light, Pop-N-Lock Tailgate Handle, Husky Front Flaps, Deeza HD Sway Bar Links
    Hey, don't diss this. Some companies make a whole product line out of it :D, e.g. the HKS Circle Earth system:

    [​IMG]
     
  14. Jun 12, 2011 at 9:44 AM
    #54
    horwitzs

    horwitzs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Member:
    #57097
    Messages:
    681
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Seth
    Dayton, WA
    Vehicle:
    TX Pro
    Supercharger, OME lift w/ LR UCAs, running boards, toolbox, extinguisher mount, skidplate, N-Fab light bar, 40" R.I. LED bar, WO seat covers, TRD intake, Weathertech mats and visors, stubby antenna, hood struts, LED interior lighting, Hella Supertones, and other stuff I'm forgetting.
    You mean if I improve the ground on my CB antenna it will work better??!! NO WAY, you guys are crazy!
     
  15. Jun 12, 2011 at 10:08 AM
    #55
    BradleyScottETC

    BradleyScottETC Class IV Category 8 Elite VIP Member (Only)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Member:
    #20521
    Messages:
    1,757
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bradley
    Lake County, FL
    Vehicle:
    10 4.0 AC 4x4
    Well, I'm going to go ahead and call out all of the self-proclaimed electricians on this forum who have yet to actually test the ground of the throttle body before making their claims.

    On my truck, my throttle body, as it sits from factory, has 340k ohms of resistance to ground.

    Now, wether or not .1 ohms would cause it to perform better is news to me, just saying. There's your data vs. speculation.
     
  16. Jun 12, 2011 at 10:23 AM
    #56
    stmpjmpr

    stmpjmpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Member:
    #38246
    Messages:
    1,970
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jimmy
    So Orange County, Ca
    Vehicle:
    2014 Tacoma Sport MGM 4X4
    OP.. whats the conclusion?...Dying to do mine, but wanna know if its worth it.
     
  17. Jun 12, 2011 at 10:45 AM
    #57
    BradleyScottETC

    BradleyScottETC Class IV Category 8 Elite VIP Member (Only)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Member:
    #20521
    Messages:
    1,757
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bradley
    Lake County, FL
    Vehicle:
    10 4.0 AC 4x4
    I just tried this. As far as it shifting smoother, I feel like I have vastly increased my psychosomatic shift-smoothness. I am going to leave it on for awhile and see what happens.

    As far as grounding improvement, you saw my post before. About 350k ohms to ground before, 0 ohms after.
     
  18. Jun 12, 2011 at 10:47 AM
    #58
    NC15TRD

    NC15TRD [OP] Your girlfriend likes my member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Member:
    #43212
    Messages:
    5,817
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    PA
    Vehicle:
    15 DCSB TRD Sport 6-Speed
    KINGS | LR | OME Dakars | Bilstein | Wheeler's Superbumps | OCTaco brake lines | UWS | Level 8 MK6 | Cooper Discoverer ST Maxx | PrInSu
    I have results in the OP, but here it is again: I didn't think I'd notice anything, but I figured I'd give it a go. Results were that while coasting at about 50mph (80.5kph for our Canadian friends) I pushed the accelerator fairly far down, enough to get the truck to shift to 3rd gear from 5th. It was real smooth with no hesitation of the truck trying to go in 5th or even 4th, just a real smooth shift to 3rd.

    That was all I noticed. So to see if I was crazy I took the wire back off and ran the same piece of road in the same manner and it hesitated to shift down. Try it if you don't believe me, I hardly believed it myself!
     
  19. Jun 12, 2011 at 10:48 AM
    #59
    NC15TRD

    NC15TRD [OP] Your girlfriend likes my member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Member:
    #43212
    Messages:
    5,817
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    PA
    Vehicle:
    15 DCSB TRD Sport 6-Speed
    KINGS | LR | OME Dakars | Bilstein | Wheeler's Superbumps | OCTaco brake lines | UWS | Level 8 MK6 | Cooper Discoverer ST Maxx | PrInSu
    Thanks for backing me, it seems most wanna hate on someone trying something they haven't.
     
  20. Jun 12, 2011 at 10:53 AM
    #60
    jcremeans11

    jcremeans11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Member:
    #47531
    Messages:
    190
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    Ohio
    Vehicle:
    01 Tacoma SR5
    Spectre Cold Air Intake, Michelin XLT's (265/70/16), Escort Solo S3, Grounded Throttle body
To Top