1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

has anyone run high wattage bulbs?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by builthatch, May 1, 2011.

  1. May 1, 2011 at 3:49 PM
    #1
    builthatch

    builthatch [OP] MiG-21 superfan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Member:
    #46713
    Messages:
    549
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony Mandarich
    near the ocean, NJ
    Vehicle:
    '11 SSM SR5 6 speed 4x4
    Hella DOT wattage high performance 9003 headlight bulbs, Optilux by Hella XY h10 fog light bulbs, Suntek HP50 tint, AFE Stage II Si intake
    i'm looking for people who have actually done it.

    i normally do a relay setup for higher-than-stock wattage bulbs but i already have one for my Supertones so if i could skip yet another relay run in my engine bay, i'd like to.

    thanks.
     
  2. May 2, 2011 at 12:03 AM
    #2
    BenMara

    BenMara That Asian RedNeck

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Member:
    #54903
    Messages:
    907
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Duck's Ditch, SC
    Vehicle:
    2011 DCSB 4x4 SCed
    TRD Blower, Ham Radio
    if your really serous about running higher wattage, or just want actual voltage to ur headlights
    Id just get the harness kit from painless PN# 30815

    The stock wiring system has the voltage and amperage coming the alt inside fuses then to headlamps along way.
    that painless kit will bring the voltage straight to ur headlamps, ive noticed a difference with just the harness....
     
  3. May 2, 2011 at 12:58 AM
    #3
    1Bigbird

    1Bigbird Yo! Wat up peeps?

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Member:
    #55460
    Messages:
    420
    Gender:
    Male
    winter-peg
    Vehicle:
    2010 TRD D-Cab
    Don't know how high a wattage you want to run?
    I've been running 60w/70w bulbs from PIAA for 4 months now and no problems!
     
  4. May 2, 2011 at 8:46 AM
    #4
    builthatch

    builthatch [OP] MiG-21 superfan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Member:
    #46713
    Messages:
    549
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony Mandarich
    near the ocean, NJ
    Vehicle:
    '11 SSM SR5 6 speed 4x4
    Hella DOT wattage high performance 9003 headlight bulbs, Optilux by Hella XY h10 fog light bulbs, Suntek HP50 tint, AFE Stage II Si intake
    thanks, i'd just make a harness - i've done it several times using SPW extension harnesses and my own wiring and a hella relay. i just would rather not if i don't have to, but...if i didn't i think i'd be at the very limit of the stock plug terminals and stock wiring for prolonged use of a 80w low beam. but you are right - a relayed setup makes even stock bulbs detectably brighter!
     
  5. May 2, 2011 at 8:52 AM
    #5
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,188
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    I ran an 80/90 bulb in my first gen for years with no issues. I also ran a 80/100 for a brief period, but not long enough to really tell if the wiring was up to the task or not.
     
  6. May 2, 2011 at 8:59 AM
    #6
    builthatch

    builthatch [OP] MiG-21 superfan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Member:
    #46713
    Messages:
    549
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony Mandarich
    near the ocean, NJ
    Vehicle:
    '11 SSM SR5 6 speed 4x4
    Hella DOT wattage high performance 9003 headlight bulbs, Optilux by Hella XY h10 fog light bulbs, Suntek HP50 tint, AFE Stage II Si intake
    thanks! it's so hit or miss sometimes. and you are right that it can be a time sensitive issue. oh well, i guess i'll just run a harness and the DOT-type wattage hella +50s so they get the max voltage. i was going to run higher wattage bulbs with the harness but the sacrifice in bulb life isn't worth it when i can probably just make similar lumens providing the +50s with the right voltage.
     
To Top