1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Headunit/Equalizer Install - Need the Pro's!!!!!

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by TegoXR, Sep 7, 2011.

  1. Sep 7, 2011 at 9:33 AM
    #1
    TegoXR

    TegoXR [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Member:
    #31941
    Messages:
    116
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Freddy
    Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    '06 X-Runner
    Really need help on this one! This is for my '91 4Runner, currently has the Sony CDX-GT420U headunit, it only has a one set of pre-outs which is for rear/sub. Trying to figure out how to install an Alpine ERE-G180 equalizer, it has the INPUT, Front, Rear and Subwoofer inputs. How would I install this?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Sep 7, 2011 at 10:03 AM
    #2
    mattg43

    mattg43 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Member:
    #51640
    Messages:
    847
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    08 Prerunner SR5 DC
    SwingCase, driver side. PVC Bike rack. Aftermarket stereo.
    If the rear outputs are full range, you should be OK, although not ideal. Simply fade the output to rear only.

    Looks like the EQ has outputs for front/rear/sub (though you put input in your description above) so you should be good, as long as you dont want to fade when listening to music.

    My next question would be why do you want an EQ? with that, you will have to run amplifiers, and if this is the case, why not sell the deck and the EQ, and buy a new deck that will do everything you need?

    A quick Ebay look shows the EQ selling at over $200 recently...http://cgi.ebay.com/ALPINE-ERE-G180-EQ-EQUALIZER-/330585257666?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0
     
  3. Sep 7, 2011 at 10:08 AM
    #3
    whippersnapper02

    whippersnapper02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Member:
    #27905
    Messages:
    35,214
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Christian
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Vehicle:
    10 MGM TRD OR 4wd Auto DCSB
    Banks Monster Exhaust, Pop n Lock tailgate lock, Hook-Ups tie down brackets, USA Spec Ipod adaptor, WO seat covers, color matched grill with Grillcraft insert, Tuffy locking bed box
    Well if the outputs are full range then you would need to add some splitters.
     
  4. Sep 7, 2011 at 10:20 AM
    #4
    mattg43

    mattg43 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Member:
    #51640
    Messages:
    847
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    08 Prerunner SR5 DC
    SwingCase, driver side. PVC Bike rack. Aftermarket stereo.
    why?

    The eq has a pair of inputs, L/R. The deck has a pair of outputs, L/R. If the output on the deck is full range, and you plug that in the inputs of the EQ, where does that splitter come into play?
     
  5. Sep 7, 2011 at 10:24 AM
    #5
    whippersnapper02

    whippersnapper02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Member:
    #27905
    Messages:
    35,214
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Christian
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Vehicle:
    10 MGM TRD OR 4wd Auto DCSB
    Banks Monster Exhaust, Pop n Lock tailgate lock, Hook-Ups tie down brackets, USA Spec Ipod adaptor, WO seat covers, color matched grill with Grillcraft insert, Tuffy locking bed box

    No sure exactly how the EQ unit is set up or how the OP intends on using it but the EQ unit might keep each channel separate. So if you plug in sound into the front set of inputs he might only get sound from the rear set of outputs.

    I do agree that a new headunit would be better.
     
  6. Sep 7, 2011 at 10:25 AM
    #6
    TegoXR

    TegoXR [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Member:
    #31941
    Messages:
    116
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Freddy
    Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    '06 X-Runner
    I'm only running a mono amp with a subwoofer, and front speakers only.

    Rear outputs of the headunit to the input on the rear of the EQ,
    RCA from the amp to the Sub input of the EQ right?

    Will I still be able to adjust the frequencies through the EQ for the front speakers?
     
  7. Sep 7, 2011 at 10:35 AM
    #7
    mattg43

    mattg43 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Member:
    #51640
    Messages:
    847
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    08 Prerunner SR5 DC
    SwingCase, driver side. PVC Bike rack. Aftermarket stereo.
    Christian -
    Per crutchfield, they only have 1 pair of inputs: http://www.crutchfield.com/p_500EREG180/Alpine-ERE-G180.html?tp=116&tab=detailed_info
    [FONT=Arial, helvetica] I am pretty sure the OP mistyped there, and that is supposed to say outputs in the bolded section you quoted...

    OP - Let me start with - I am not familiar with this deck.

    After a brief look, it appears that this is designed to keep the internal amp going, even when the RCA outputs are used (not all do this, some turn it off, others have a setting to disable the internal amp). If this is the case, what you are describing is correct - RCA from the output in the deck to the input on the EQ, speaker wires from the deck to the front speakers.

    RCA from the EQ output for sub to the input on your amplifier, and you should be good to go.

    BUT - why? If the deck already has non-fading outputs for a sub, why mess with the EQ?


    [/FONT]
     
  8. Sep 7, 2011 at 10:38 AM
    #8
    TegoXR

    TegoXR [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Member:
    #31941
    Messages:
    116
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Freddy
    Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    '06 X-Runner
    I should be able to adjust the frequencies for the front speakers through the EQ correct?

    The reason why for the EQ, like the fact that I'm able to adjust all the settings right there on the spot instead fiddling around with buttons on the headunit. And I only got it for 75 bucks...lol!
     
  9. Sep 7, 2011 at 10:58 AM
    #9
    mattg43

    mattg43 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Member:
    #51640
    Messages:
    847
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    08 Prerunner SR5 DC
    SwingCase, driver side. PVC Bike rack. Aftermarket stereo.

    You can adjust frequencies for the front speakers ONLY if you are running an external amplifier. in the example described above you would only be able to control the subwoofer with the EQ.

    To control all speakers you would need to run the outputs on the EQ to amplifiers for each speaker or speakers you wish to control with the EQ. It cannot change frequencies put out by the head unit directly to the front speakers.

    More visually, to wire for the sub your wiring will be like this:

    Head Unit -> Speakers
    Head unit -> EQ -> Amp -> Sub

    If you want to control all frequencies:
    Head unit -> EQ -> Sub Amp -> Sub
    +
    Head unit -> EQ -> Speaker Amp -> Speakers
     
  10. Sep 7, 2011 at 1:58 PM
    #10
    TegoXR

    TegoXR [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Member:
    #31941
    Messages:
    116
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Freddy
    Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    '06 X-Runner
    Thanks a lot!!!!
     
To Top