1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Headunit Ground

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Chad, Aug 2, 2010.

  1. Aug 2, 2010 at 11:55 AM
    #1
    Chad

    Chad [OP] Rand Paul 2016

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Member:
    #9636
    Messages:
    2,365
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chad
    Raleigh, NC
    Vehicle:
    09 V6 Access Cab TRD Sport
    Pioneer AVIC-X920BT Headunit -- BHLM -- Pioneer TS-A1685R 4-way Coax Speakers in Front -- Suntek CXP 40 Front Tint -- Access Vanish Roll-up Tonneau -- Wet Okole Seat Covers -- Fog Lights on Anytime -- PnL Powered Tailgate Lock -- DTRL "Stealth Mode" -- LED Footwell and Cup Holder Lights -- Map Lights ON with Dome Light -- Shorty Antenna -- AC Line Extension Mod -- 09+ Access Cab Rear Headrest Removal
    Hey all! I'm going to tackle the install for my Pioneer AVIC-X920bt today and I noticed the ground wire out of the new harness had a ring connector on the end. Where is a bolt at back there that is on metal that I could use? All the ones I saw were on plastic. If there isn't a feasible ground do I just attach this to the stock ground wire (and does anyone know what color wire that is?) also, do I just connect all of my peripherals to this factory ground wire too (like the steering wheel control adapter ground wire)?

    Thanks guys!
     
  2. Aug 2, 2010 at 12:23 PM
    #2
    hookedontronics

    hookedontronics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Member:
    #28863
    Messages:
    2,783
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Glenville, NY
    Vehicle:
    2010 DC Off Road 4x4
    Icon extended travel 3.5" front coilovers, DSM UCAs, TSB leaf pack w/ wheelers AAL, All Pro U-bolt flip kit, Walker Evans 2.0 rear shocks, 18" XD Monster rims, Nitto trail grappler 285/65R18 Tires, Color matched grill, Grillcraft, Kragen HIDs, Carling switches, my bed light mod, diff drop, Alpine IVA-W505, JL Audio C5 componets and coaxials, JL 300/4 and 250/1 amps and JL stealthbox, wheathertechs, avs vent visors, toyota bed x-tender, alcantara center console cover and door pocket covers, console vault, color matched mirrors, heated mirrors, etc etc etc
    factory ground wire is black as well
     
  3. Aug 2, 2010 at 12:33 PM
    #3
    Cars0n`

    Cars0n` Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Member:
    #9091
    Messages:
    1,430
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Carson
    Edmonton AB
    Vehicle:
    07 2wd access cab base.
    Kenwood DDX-512 Deck, Boston Acoustics G5 Sub in Ported Bassworx Box, Kenwood eXcelon KAC-X10D Amp, Sirius Satellite Radio, Magellan GPS, DDM 55w bi-xenon headlights, 2 HID Hella 500ff's mounted behind grill, 4 pc ebay Billet grill, Fog Lights (my truck didnt have them stock), Pioneer Speakers 6x9's(front) 6.5's(rear) AFE Cold Air Intake, Hose Clamp Mod, Tailgate Strengthen Mod, Removed Gay Mud Flaps, De-Badged, BHLM, 245/45/20 on velocity wheels. VW865a, Extra D Rings In Box, OEM Cruise Added Optima Red Top Battery
    go with the factory ground.
     
  4. Aug 2, 2010 at 12:37 PM
    #4
    Chad

    Chad [OP] Rand Paul 2016

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Member:
    #9636
    Messages:
    2,365
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chad
    Raleigh, NC
    Vehicle:
    09 V6 Access Cab TRD Sport
    Pioneer AVIC-X920BT Headunit -- BHLM -- Pioneer TS-A1685R 4-way Coax Speakers in Front -- Suntek CXP 40 Front Tint -- Access Vanish Roll-up Tonneau -- Wet Okole Seat Covers -- Fog Lights on Anytime -- PnL Powered Tailgate Lock -- DTRL "Stealth Mode" -- LED Footwell and Cup Holder Lights -- Map Lights ON with Dome Light -- Shorty Antenna -- AC Line Extension Mod -- 09+ Access Cab Rear Headrest Removal
    Thanks guys! Guess I'll quick splice into it. Can't wait to get home to do this!
     
  5. Aug 2, 2010 at 1:01 PM
    #5
    macgyver

    macgyver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Member:
    #21173
    Messages:
    3,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brad
    Canton, GA
    Vehicle:
    '13 Tundra double cab SR5 4x4
    Why would you splice back into that ground when your headunit harness already grounds back to that same wire?

    I drilled a small hole in the metal bar behind the dashboard/headunit and put a sheet metal screw in it with the ring connector.
     
  6. Aug 2, 2010 at 1:12 PM
    #6
    ChompsterTacoma

    ChompsterTacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Member:
    #36975
    Messages:
    233
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chompster
    Fresno,Ca
    Vehicle:
    TRD offroad 4x4
    Bone Stock
    If you use a harness adaptor that attach to the stock harness then there would be no need to splice into anything. You can get it from walmart auto section.
     
  7. Aug 2, 2010 at 1:14 PM
    #7
    Cars0n`

    Cars0n` Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Member:
    #9091
    Messages:
    1,430
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Carson
    Edmonton AB
    Vehicle:
    07 2wd access cab base.
    Kenwood DDX-512 Deck, Boston Acoustics G5 Sub in Ported Bassworx Box, Kenwood eXcelon KAC-X10D Amp, Sirius Satellite Radio, Magellan GPS, DDM 55w bi-xenon headlights, 2 HID Hella 500ff's mounted behind grill, 4 pc ebay Billet grill, Fog Lights (my truck didnt have them stock), Pioneer Speakers 6x9's(front) 6.5's(rear) AFE Cold Air Intake, Hose Clamp Mod, Tailgate Strengthen Mod, Removed Gay Mud Flaps, De-Badged, BHLM, 245/45/20 on velocity wheels. VW865a, Extra D Rings In Box, OEM Cruise Added Optima Red Top Battery
    why not? its a factory ground. cant really get much better than that.

    its cleaner too if he were to take it out. rather than having a hole drilled in the frame structure of the truck. new owner may not like that.

    i say go with the factory ground, ive never had a problem with it
     
  8. Aug 2, 2010 at 1:16 PM
    #8
    Cars0n`

    Cars0n` Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Member:
    #9091
    Messages:
    1,430
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Carson
    Edmonton AB
    Vehicle:
    07 2wd access cab base.
    Kenwood DDX-512 Deck, Boston Acoustics G5 Sub in Ported Bassworx Box, Kenwood eXcelon KAC-X10D Amp, Sirius Satellite Radio, Magellan GPS, DDM 55w bi-xenon headlights, 2 HID Hella 500ff's mounted behind grill, 4 pc ebay Billet grill, Fog Lights (my truck didnt have them stock), Pioneer Speakers 6x9's(front) 6.5's(rear) AFE Cold Air Intake, Hose Clamp Mod, Tailgate Strengthen Mod, Removed Gay Mud Flaps, De-Badged, BHLM, 245/45/20 on velocity wheels. VW865a, Extra D Rings In Box, OEM Cruise Added Optima Red Top Battery

    yeah wait a sec. what the f?

    is it just a ground on the shell of the head unit?
     
  9. Aug 2, 2010 at 1:33 PM
    #9
    macgyver

    macgyver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Member:
    #21173
    Messages:
    3,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brad
    Canton, GA
    Vehicle:
    '13 Tundra double cab SR5 4x4
    Because your harness should already have a ground wire that grounds into the factory wire, by grounding that one you are essentially running two wires back into the same factory ground wire. Take a look at the harness. I have wired many many headunits. The reason they add the extra ground with the ring connector is to ground it to the chassis to get a better ground. Grounds are the Problem and solution to many automotive electrical issues.
     
To Top