1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

hella 500 question

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by taco2408, Feb 26, 2010.

  1. taco2408

    taco2408 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Member:
    #20231
    Messages:
    90
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marcos
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner DoubleCab
    Okay, I just got this kit and I'm trying to figure out what is meant by connecting the green wire to the high beams. How do you do this? I know this may be a dumb question but I definately haven't wired lights before. Any help is appreciated. Also, do I have to ground the two lights and if so what are some good spots to ground them. THanks.
     
  2. CopDoctor

    CopDoctor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Member:
    #30474
    Messages:
    1,874
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Vehicle:
    08 335i
    BMS Intake, JB4 chip, Plastidip everywhere
    yes you must ground them, otherwise nothing will work. you don't have to wire them to the high-beams, i actually wired them to the running lights so i always have the ability to turn them on. you have to use the little plastic coupler, its a small plastic piece with a metal blade in the middle with slots for two wires (your hot wire and the green wire), you need to put both wires in the piece and clamp it down so the wires are ecentially connected.

    as far as grounding the wires, you just want to find a good clean metal bolt with a washer to stick the wires under, if after wiring the whole thing your lights/switch don't turn on, you'll want to check the grounds first
     
  3. taco2408

    taco2408 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Member:
    #20231
    Messages:
    90
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marcos
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner DoubleCab
    thanks for the response..that info helps out
     
  4. taco2408

    taco2408 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Member:
    #20231
    Messages:
    90
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marcos
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner DoubleCab
    when you see hot wire you mean the wire from the running lights or high beam lights, right?
     
  5. CopDoctor

    CopDoctor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Member:
    #30474
    Messages:
    1,874
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Vehicle:
    08 335i
    BMS Intake, JB4 chip, Plastidip everywhere
    no problem, i just installed mine a couple weeks ago and the install is still very fresh in my head so if you have any other questions just let me know...also i highly suggest wiring them to your running lights like i posted above, otherwise the only time you'll be able to turn them on is when your high-beams are on..which is next to never (that way the running lights power the switch)
     
  6. CopDoctor

    CopDoctor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Member:
    #30474
    Messages:
    1,874
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Vehicle:
    08 335i
    BMS Intake, JB4 chip, Plastidip everywhere

    yes, exactly. your hot wire is the wire that your truck has power running through. when you turn your running lights on, your running light wires are hot. when you connect your green hella wire to your running light positive wire (make sure you don't connect it to the running light's ground wire) the power is also sent to your switch. when power is sent to the switch, you have the ability to turn on/off your lights. when your running lights are off, your hellas will be off no matter what since the circuit has no power going into it at all
     
  7. taco2408

    taco2408 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Member:
    #20231
    Messages:
    90
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marcos
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner DoubleCab
    ok, but i'm still a little confused. how do you take the hot wire out of the running lights to put into the coupler and where does the coupler go..i hope this is not too dumb of a question..i know i can do this if I understood this part.
     
  8. rzimm001

    rzimm001 Tearmytaco

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Member:
    #14812
    Messages:
    962
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bobby
    Wildomar
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner SR5 Mid-travel
    King 2.5 coilovers w/ resi and adjustable compression. Factory spindles w/ ALLPRO gussets. Total Chaos tower gussets. Energy Poly cab mounts and steering rack mounts. Light Racing UCA's. Glassworks fenders. DMZ bed cage. King 2.5x14 smoothbody remote resi shocks in the rear. Icon progressive add a leaf 1.5" lift. Race radio (2meter). Removed swaybar. Removed front mud flaps. Removed secondary carbon air filter. Magnaflow exhaust. Phram fresh air cabin filter. Sirius satellite radio. HID headlights high/low beam and fog lights. Remote start system. K&N replacement filter, After market stereo with 10" subwoofer, Grillcraft grill, custom fabled roof rack with 7" HID's, TRD seat covers.
    I didn't connect mine to the headlights or running lights at all. I just connected the black ground wire to the frame (using a self tapping screw and a drill, l I tapped it into the sheet metal). The red wire goes to a switch in my cab and then to the positive terminal on my battery.
     
  9. CopDoctor

    CopDoctor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Member:
    #30474
    Messages:
    1,874
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Vehicle:
    08 335i
    BMS Intake, JB4 chip, Plastidip everywhere

    the wire splice should look like this::

    http://www.supermotors.net/getfile/561868/fullsize/wire-tap.jpg

    the long wire on the left is your "hot" wire. you just clamp it on anywhere on the wire on a free space then your green hella gets put in there as well
     
  10. colinb17

    colinb17 If at first you don't succeed, don't try skydiving

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Member:
    #4127
    Messages:
    17,365
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colin
    Lusby, MD
    Vehicle:
    '07 TRD Sport 4x4
    Build thread in sig...
    exactly what i have done for all of my lights...that way the truck doesn't even have to be on to use your lights...i do recoment using a switch that lights up when on though, so you don't forget them and kill you battery.
     
  11. CopDoctor

    CopDoctor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Member:
    #30474
    Messages:
    1,874
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Vehicle:
    08 335i
    BMS Intake, JB4 chip, Plastidip everywhere
  12. CopDoctor

    CopDoctor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Member:
    #30474
    Messages:
    1,874
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Vehicle:
    08 335i
    BMS Intake, JB4 chip, Plastidip everywhere

    last time i did that on my old truck i left all my lights on and ran the battery out...like a hundred times lol
     
  13. colinb17

    colinb17 If at first you don't succeed, don't try skydiving

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Member:
    #4127
    Messages:
    17,365
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colin
    Lusby, MD
    Vehicle:
    '07 TRD Sport 4x4
    Build thread in sig...
    i did the same thing lol...so i swapped all of my switches out for illuminated ones, and haven't done it since
     
  14. taco2408

    taco2408 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Member:
    #20231
    Messages:
    90
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marcos
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner DoubleCab
    Okay, I was trying to do this today and I just have a few questions. What color is the hot wire from the driving lights. I saw a green wire and a white wire? Second, can I ground the lights to the bull bar itself? And lastly, where did you ground the wire from the switche itself? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
     
  15. colinb17

    colinb17 If at first you don't succeed, don't try skydiving

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Member:
    #4127
    Messages:
    17,365
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colin
    Lusby, MD
    Vehicle:
    '07 TRD Sport 4x4
    Build thread in sig...

    not sure which wire is hot based on those colors, green maybe???

    you could ground it to the b ull bar, but i like to ground mine in the engine bay where they are less exposed to the elements. as for the switch, you can run the ground for that back through the firewall and ground it in the engine bay as well, or just find bold under the dash near somewhere near the firewall.
     
  16. CopDoctor

    CopDoctor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Member:
    #30474
    Messages:
    1,874
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Vehicle:
    08 335i
    BMS Intake, JB4 chip, Plastidip everywhere

    green. ground to the bull bar? might work, might as well give it a shot. if things don't work check that first. where to ground the switch wire? brake pedal bolt is where i did mine :anonymous: there's also a bolt right behind the plastic next to all the fuses and such, i couldn't get to it and didn't want to tear apart the truck for a wimpy ground wire
     
  17. taco2408

    taco2408 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Member:
    #20231
    Messages:
    90
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marcos
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner DoubleCab
    thanks matt..i was going to ground it to the brake pedal bolt but I wanted to see what others had done.
     
To Top