1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Hella HID conversion problem

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by tacoma16, Oct 28, 2011.

  1. Oct 28, 2011 at 4:43 PM
    #1
    tacoma16

    tacoma16 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Member:
    #53109
    Messages:
    1,515
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Peter
    Ontario
    Vehicle:
    Double cab SR5 4x4
    Check the build
    Hey everyone.

    So pretty much i was doing the hid Conversion for the hella's like this:

    - http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/lighting/173272-how-hella-500ff-hid-conversion.html

    i got the new hid bulbs in the lamps, and all sealed up with silicone and tested the lamps off the batery and they both work.

    The problem is when i wired them to my switch i keep blowing a fuse that goes to the relay. Now the hellas are wired with 16 guage (thats what came with the wiring harness for the hellas), and the hid conversion kit has 14 guage.

    So do i just get a larger amp fuse for the relay? or should i change up the whole wiring to 14 guage?


    The hellas worked fine before i did the conversion so grounding i dont believe is an issue.

    IF it helps i got these hids
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/26080948901...em=&sspagename=ADME:X:RTQ:MOTORS:1123&vxp=mtr

    Thanks for the help!
     
  2. Oct 28, 2011 at 5:00 PM
    #2
    tacoma16

    tacoma16 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Member:
    #53109
    Messages:
    1,515
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Peter
    Ontario
    Vehicle:
    Double cab SR5 4x4
    Check the build
    dont know if it helps but the fuse that blew was a 2 amp? seems kinda low, but it was working before

    also there hella 500ff (the one with the 55w bulb)
     
  3. Oct 28, 2011 at 5:07 PM
    #3
    cummins6speed

    cummins6speed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Member:
    #12426
    Messages:
    1,851
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    '05 4Runner Limited Edition
    Custom extended travel 2.5" King RR coilovers, 1.25" Camburg uniball uppers, homebuilt tube bumper
    The fuse that is between the battery and the ballast blew? If so, yes a 2 and is WAY too small. Those ballasts probably draw about 5-6A each at start up. You will most likely need a 15A fuse and ideally you want 14AWG wire
     
  4. Oct 28, 2011 at 5:09 PM
    #4
    tacoma16

    tacoma16 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Member:
    #53109
    Messages:
    1,515
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Peter
    Ontario
    Vehicle:
    Double cab SR5 4x4
    Check the build
    i have 3 fuses

    one between the batery and the fues

    one for the switch

    and one from the relay to the lights

    the one from the relay to the lights blew
    sorry for not being clear

    still 2 small i am assuming though. should i change the wire?
     
  5. Oct 28, 2011 at 5:31 PM
    #5
    David K

    David K Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Member:
    #18969
    Messages:
    8,955
    Gender:
    Male
    San Marcos, Alta California
    Vehicle:
    2010 4WD Off Road DC
    Differential Breather Mod Light Bar: 2 Hella 4000 HID, 1 Kragen HID, 1 Cibie Halogen.
    Halogens run straight power, HID have a high voltage startup and ballast. Only 35 watts once running, but the start up takes more... 15-20 amps in normal fuse size for off road lighting.
     
  6. Oct 28, 2011 at 5:42 PM
    #6
    tacoma16

    tacoma16 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Member:
    #53109
    Messages:
    1,515
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Peter
    Ontario
    Vehicle:
    Double cab SR5 4x4
    Check the build
    Ill change the fuse to a 15 amp to start and if it doesnt work ill do the 20 amp. Im i going to have to change the 16 guage wire or the relay? ill double check the relay amps allowed. if its over i got to change it?
     
  7. Oct 28, 2011 at 6:19 PM
    #7
    tacoma16

    tacoma16 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Member:
    #53109
    Messages:
    1,515
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Peter
    Ontario
    Vehicle:
    Double cab SR5 4x4
    Check the build
    well i couldnt find a number on the relay, but on hella's site it says its a 40 am relay, so it should be able to handle this.

    now is my wiring still good?

    on here (http://www.powerstream.com/Wire_Size.htm) it says im good if its chasis wired but if its power transmission no good. whats the difference?
     
  8. Oct 28, 2011 at 6:42 PM
    #8
    tacoma16

    tacoma16 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Member:
    #53109
    Messages:
    1,515
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Peter
    Ontario
    Vehicle:
    Double cab SR5 4x4
    Check the build
  9. Oct 28, 2011 at 7:04 PM
    #9
    cummins6speed

    cummins6speed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Member:
    #12426
    Messages:
    1,851
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    '05 4Runner Limited Edition
    Custom extended travel 2.5" King RR coilovers, 1.25" Camburg uniball uppers, homebuilt tube bumper
    You will most likely be fine with that wire with a 15A fuse
     
  10. Oct 28, 2011 at 7:34 PM
    #10
    tacoma16

    tacoma16 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Member:
    #53109
    Messages:
    1,515
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Peter
    Ontario
    Vehicle:
    Double cab SR5 4x4
    Check the build
    super thanks everyone. ill be getting that fuse tommorow!!
     
  11. Oct 29, 2011 at 8:41 AM
    #11
    tacoma16

    tacoma16 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Member:
    #53109
    Messages:
    1,515
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Peter
    Ontario
    Vehicle:
    Double cab SR5 4x4
    Check the build
    well, i tried up to a 30 amp fuse and they all blew. So i'll try a 35amp in a bit, but am i going to have to switch out the 16 guage for 14 guage.
     
  12. Oct 29, 2011 at 8:46 AM
    #12
    cummins6speed

    cummins6speed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Member:
    #12426
    Messages:
    1,851
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    '05 4Runner Limited Edition
    Custom extended travel 2.5" King RR coilovers, 1.25" Camburg uniball uppers, homebuilt tube bumper
    Sounds like something is wired incorrectly then
     
  13. Oct 29, 2011 at 8:56 AM
    #13
    David K

    David K Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Member:
    #18969
    Messages:
    8,955
    Gender:
    Male
    San Marcos, Alta California
    Vehicle:
    2010 4WD Off Road DC
    Differential Breather Mod Light Bar: 2 Hella 4000 HID, 1 Kragen HID, 1 Cibie Halogen.
    x2... don't go bigger than 30 amps... otherwise you could start a fire or at the least, melt the wires.
     
  14. Oct 29, 2011 at 9:05 AM
    #14
    tacoma16

    tacoma16 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Member:
    #53109
    Messages:
    1,515
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Peter
    Ontario
    Vehicle:
    Double cab SR5 4x4
    Check the build
    well the lights work on the switch when i dont use the fuse (just touch the two ends that are usually connected by the fuse) so i know the fuse is the problem. now what i am thinking im going to have to do is change all the wire from 16 guage to 14 guage?

    cuz it seems the only way is if i go with a higher amperage of fuse (30+). 16 guage can only handle 22amps.

    Now im i going to have to change out the whole relay, as well, or can i just change the 2 wires that carry the charge of the battery (barttery ---->relay and realy---> lights)
     
  15. Oct 29, 2011 at 9:19 AM
    #15
    tacoma16

    tacoma16 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Member:
    #53109
    Messages:
    1,515
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Peter
    Ontario
    Vehicle:
    Double cab SR5 4x4
    Check the build
    This is my wiring

    [​IMG]

    It worked perfectly fine with my halogens, no problems. It just seems the fuse at 30 on the relay keeps blowing. I have no idea why. my hids are 55 wat, 12v. I really have no idea why this keeps happening.
     
  16. Oct 29, 2011 at 9:29 AM
    #16
    cummins6speed

    cummins6speed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Member:
    #12426
    Messages:
    1,851
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    '05 4Runner Limited Edition
    Custom extended travel 2.5" King RR coilovers, 1.25" Camburg uniball uppers, homebuilt tube bumper
    The problem is that your ballasts should be drawing around 5A each, probably a little more at startup but not that significant so you shouldn't be blowing 30A fuses
     
  17. Oct 29, 2011 at 9:30 AM
    #17
    cummins6speed

    cummins6speed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Member:
    #12426
    Messages:
    1,851
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    '05 4Runner Limited Edition
    Custom extended travel 2.5" King RR coilovers, 1.25" Camburg uniball uppers, homebuilt tube bumper
    Do your ballasts say what the max current input is?
     
  18. Oct 29, 2011 at 9:36 AM
    #18
    tacoma16

    tacoma16 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Member:
    #53109
    Messages:
    1,515
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Peter
    Ontario
    Vehicle:
    Double cab SR5 4x4
    Check the build
    i figures 30 amps is to high. when i touched the wires together though the wires dont smoke, so i am assuming it isnt drawing that much amps. Its super weird

    the only thing my ballast says is cot/1200dvc/85vac/2000hrs? i dont no if that helps.
     
  19. Oct 29, 2011 at 10:17 AM
    #19
    tacoma16

    tacoma16 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Member:
    #53109
    Messages:
    1,515
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Peter
    Ontario
    Vehicle:
    Double cab SR5 4x4
    Check the build
    well i tried a 10 amp fuse out of the fuse holder and it worked fine....weird. so i then tried to put the fuse in the holder and it worked and then stoped, so im going to try another fuse holder and another 15 amp fuse and see how that goes.

    This is really weird and agrevating.

    on the bright side, the hids are...well bright haha
     
  20. Oct 29, 2011 at 10:46 AM
    #20
    cummins6speed

    cummins6speed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Member:
    #12426
    Messages:
    1,851
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    '05 4Runner Limited Edition
    Custom extended travel 2.5" King RR coilovers, 1.25" Camburg uniball uppers, homebuilt tube bumper
    Sounds like your fuse holder might be grounding out on something. Pinched wire?
     
To Top