1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Help! Any ideas as to what is causing this problem?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by txtuffluck, Jan 31, 2012.

  1. Jan 31, 2012 at 8:34 PM
    #1
    txtuffluck

    txtuffluck [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Member:
    #55543
    Messages:
    128
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Johnny
    Central Texas
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD OR, V6 4X4
    This just started happening last week. It comes and goes what seems like every 10 mins or so. In the beginning of the video, the volume on the HU is turned to 0, then I turn the volume up so that the music can be heard(but it's very muffled), then I turn the volume back to 0. I haven't changed anything and everything was working fine for the past 6 months.[​IMG]

    2007 Tacoma
    Sony XNV-660BT
    ARC XDi805.
    ARC 8 Sub
    HAT Clarus 6.5"
    Krystal RCA Cables

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o4XzznvNFts&feature=youtube_gdata_player
     
  2. Jan 31, 2012 at 8:59 PM
    #2
    ItalynStylion

    ItalynStylion Sounds Gooooood

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18467
    Messages:
    4,866
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    DFW, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    That's ultra fuct....I'm thinking that's gotta be the heaunit. The speakers, wires, and the amp don't "think" so I'm not sure how that could happen. Unless that's what a power supply going bad in that amp sounds like (I doubt it) I'm thinking it's your headunit somehow. Plus it's a sony...
     
  3. Jan 31, 2012 at 9:10 PM
    #3
    txtuffluck

    txtuffluck [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Member:
    #55543
    Messages:
    128
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Johnny
    Central Texas
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD OR, V6 4X4
    "That's ultra fuct"...lol...FML
     
  4. Jan 31, 2012 at 9:10 PM
    #4
    1998tacomaowner

    1998tacomaowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Member:
    #63366
    Messages:
    102
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    chris
    clarkston WA
    Vehicle:
    98 toyota tacoma
    3in lift,33s
    get something pioneer FTW
     
  5. Jan 31, 2012 at 9:19 PM
    #5
    txtuffluck

    txtuffluck [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Member:
    #55543
    Messages:
    128
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Johnny
    Central Texas
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD OR, V6 4X4
    If I have to replace my HU, I def won't go back to Sony. I really like the TomTom Nav, but everything else is very unimpressive...especially the iPod navi and touch screen.
     
  6. Feb 1, 2012 at 6:42 AM
    #6
    ItalynStylion

    ItalynStylion Sounds Gooooood

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18467
    Messages:
    4,866
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    DFW, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    I'm not wanting to put the cart before the horse but I think the Pioneer units use Tom Tom. I helped a buddy install a 930BT last night.

    I would, with the car off, remove the RCA's from the amplifier. Then, use a 3mm (headphone) to RCA cable that you'd use for your ipod to your home stereo and plug it into the amp. Run your iPod through it in place of your headunit RCA's so you KNOW you have a clean source (the iPod). If the noise goes away the problem is your headunit.

    Since you said the problem is time dependent I would recommend running it like this throughout the day. That way you know that even over time if the symptom doesn't return it's without a doubt the headunit.
     
  7. Feb 1, 2012 at 7:48 AM
    #7
    txtuffluck

    txtuffluck [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Member:
    #55543
    Messages:
    128
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Johnny
    Central Texas
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD OR, V6 4X4
    Good idea with the iPod! If I get the chance I'm pulling the HU today to check all the wiring, maybe a wire has rubbed and something has cut into the insulation? I'm just hoping it's a wire/cable issue and not an exspensive component issue.
     
  8. Feb 1, 2012 at 7:55 AM
    #8
    4wd Boss

    4wd Boss Shake and Bake

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Member:
    #70978
    Messages:
    340
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jefferson
    Big D
    Vehicle:
    07 4dr 4x4 V6
    Fog Light Mod
    def something came loose. check all wires and grounds. i get this on my home stereo when a wire is not plugged in all the way. good luck!
     
  9. Feb 1, 2012 at 10:54 AM
    #9
    txtuffluck

    txtuffluck [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Member:
    #55543
    Messages:
    128
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Johnny
    Central Texas
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD OR, V6 4X4
    If it ain't one thing!!! Just disconnected my battery's neg and I still have power to the truck!!!! Not enough juice to start, but horns, dash/interior lights, etc. still work. I think it's the backup battery for my alarm...FML!!!! What's next?
     
  10. Feb 1, 2012 at 10:59 AM
    #10
    ItalynStylion

    ItalynStylion Sounds Gooooood

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18467
    Messages:
    4,866
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    DFW, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    .....interesting, I've never encountered that but then again I've never done a serious alarm in any of my cars.
     
  11. Feb 1, 2012 at 11:00 AM
    #11
    ItalynStylion

    ItalynStylion Sounds Gooooood

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18467
    Messages:
    4,866
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    DFW, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    And why are you disconnecting the battery?

    Doing the test I mentioned with the RCA's doesn't require disconnecting it. Just make sure the car and stereo are off when you unplug the RCA's and plug in the new temp cable and you'll be fine.
     
  12. Feb 1, 2012 at 11:21 AM
    #12
    mattg43

    mattg43 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Member:
    #51640
    Messages:
    846
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    08 Prerunner SR5 DC
    SwingCase, driver side. PVC Bike rack. Aftermarket stereo.
    And turn the volume on the ipod down first!

    I was going to suggest the same thing, so you can rule out everything but the deck/RCA interconnects before pulling the HU...
     
  13. Feb 1, 2012 at 11:29 AM
    #13
    Ronn

    Ronn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Member:
    #44253
    Messages:
    208
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ron
    Northern Ontario
    Vehicle:
    2007 DCLB 4x4 SR5
    Westin bullbar, KC slimlites, Mini D2S headlight retrofit, 5100 front @ 1.75 and 5100 rear, Wheelers HD leaf pack
    What about a problem with the RCA cables? There are some sharp edges behind the dash depending on how he ran the cables.
     
  14. Feb 1, 2012 at 12:40 PM
    #14
    txtuffluck

    txtuffluck [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Member:
    #55543
    Messages:
    128
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Johnny
    Central Texas
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD OR, V6 4X4
    I was going to take the HU out and trim some length off of the wires...my trim panel isn't fitting flush because of all of the wire back there. That was planned before the audio issues. After that was going to come additional trouble shooting w/iPod if the issue wasn't found while the HU was out.
     
To Top