1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Help! Horn is not working!!

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by mr.g, Oct 3, 2009.

  1. Oct 3, 2009 at 11:21 AM
    #1
    mr.g

    mr.g [OP] gRenade Taco

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Member:
    #15580
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal- I.E.
    Vehicle:
    05 Reg Cab Taco
    BHLM, Readylift Kit, Smoked TailLights, 31" M/T R
    So I am relocating my horn behind the battery because I am planning on attempting the Satoshi grill. 1st off I notice I only have One horn.:eek: Don't ask why, I have no Idea. I guess it was like that when I bought it used and didnt notice it. Anyways, so i unplug the wire harness and relocate horn and reconnect wire harness. My horn was working fine before this. When I hit the horn all i hear is a clicking sound coming from it. I checked the connections and wires and everything looks good.
    Can anybody help me and tell me what it could be?


    Thanks
     
  2. Oct 3, 2009 at 11:31 AM
    #2
    mr.g

    mr.g [OP] gRenade Taco

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Member:
    #15580
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal- I.E.
    Vehicle:
    05 Reg Cab Taco
    BHLM, Readylift Kit, Smoked TailLights, 31" M/T R
    Bump.

    I checked out the fuse box and the Relay for the horn is where the clicking is coming from. Is it possible i need a new relay.
     
  3. Oct 3, 2009 at 11:52 AM
    #3
    mr.g

    mr.g [OP] gRenade Taco

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Member:
    #15580
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal- I.E.
    Vehicle:
    05 Reg Cab Taco
    BHLM, Readylift Kit, Smoked TailLights, 31" M/T R
    Bump
     
  4. Oct 3, 2009 at 11:54 AM
    #4
    AK27

    AK27 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Member:
    #11005
    Messages:
    39,511
    have you checked the wires to make sure you didnt damage them at all when you relocated them? :)o not sure if this is helpful :eek:)
     
  5. Oct 3, 2009 at 12:02 PM
    #5
    mr.g

    mr.g [OP] gRenade Taco

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Member:
    #15580
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal- I.E.
    Vehicle:
    05 Reg Cab Taco
    BHLM, Readylift Kit, Smoked TailLights, 31" M/T R
    Yah. all the wires look fine. I was very careful when moving the wires.
    Im lost. The fuse for the horn is good too. :confused:

     
  6. Oct 3, 2009 at 12:03 PM
    #6
    AK27

    AK27 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Member:
    #11005
    Messages:
    39,511
    well thats about as useful as i can be :)



    bump!
     
  7. Oct 3, 2009 at 12:05 PM
    #7
    Asgard

    Asgard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Member:
    #6078
    Messages:
    1,093
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner DC SR5 w/LSD
    How did you check them ? Best way is to use a multimeter. When things like that happen it's usually a broken wire, loose connection or bad connector.
     
  8. Oct 3, 2009 at 12:06 PM
    #8
    AK27

    AK27 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Member:
    #11005
    Messages:
    39,511
    this may be a dumb question but is the connector for the horn only go in one way or could it be in wrong?
     
  9. Oct 3, 2009 at 12:12 PM
    #9
    gupster88

    gupster88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Member:
    #16692
    Messages:
    3,791
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brett
    Almost Heaven
    Vehicle:
    '17 Inferno DCSB O/R
    STOCK 4 NOW
    screw the horn...just use your finger
     
  10. Oct 3, 2009 at 12:19 PM
    #10
    DDD

    DDD Shine bright like a hymen

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Member:
    #14416
    Messages:
    2,254
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Derek
    Santa Clarita, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 DC 4x4 TRD Off-Road
    The wire going to the horn is just a 12v power wire. It can only be connected 1 way.

    First, check and make sure your horn is grounded. The metal tab where the horn is bolted to the truck must be connected to a solid ground.

    Second, connect a multi-meter (or simply a test light) to the wire and make sure you are getting power ( + 12 v) when you press the horn.

    If all that fails you need a new horn. PM me and I will sell you both of mine...
     
  11. Oct 3, 2009 at 12:25 PM
    #11
    mr.g

    mr.g [OP] gRenade Taco

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Member:
    #15580
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal- I.E.
    Vehicle:
    05 Reg Cab Taco
    BHLM, Readylift Kit, Smoked TailLights, 31" M/T R
    Thanks guys!

    hahaha, the second I bolted back in (solid ground) it worked just fine.
    I was testing it before i bolted it behind the battery.

    lol. Thanks again for all your input.:D
     
To Top