1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Help - Installing an Ipod-Interface Kit on my 2010 Taco

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by 4X42HEL, Jul 30, 2010.

  1. Jul 30, 2010 at 7:43 AM
    #1
    4X42HEL

    4X42HEL [OP] Don't really understand 2WD trucks....

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Member:
    #40716
    Messages:
    353
    Gender:
    Male
    Albuturkey
    Hot Wife
    Hi, When I bought my taco a few weeks ago, the dealer wanted almost $400 to put in the Toyota iPod interface kit (yes, i know, its $299 on the site, but that's only if it ships from Japan.... [so they told me]).

    So I opted not to but that just sucks because my last car (which I call "The Teenager" because the car/brand was designed for teenagers and not grown men like myself) had the iPod interface and I lived and died by it.

    Well, as luck would have it, some guy replaced his 2009 Lexus deck and is selling me his used-but functional iPod Interface (according to toyota parts, its the same exact part #) so I am assuming it will work.

    I called the dealer, and they want $110+ to install it if I bring it to them....

    So what I am asking is, in the name of saving money, does anybody know if putting this thing in myself is too terribly challenging? I don't mind doing some work myself, but I just don't want to bargain for more than I can handle on my brand new truck. Is pulling out the head unit all that tricky and hay wire?

    I have found this thread on this site:
    http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/audio-video/571-stereo-upgrade-basic-how-2nd-gen-5.html

    which is a good starting point. Any help is GREATLY appreciated.
     
  2. Jul 30, 2010 at 7:47 AM
    #2
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,153
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
  3. Jul 30, 2010 at 7:49 AM
    #3
    RMTacoguy30

    RMTacoguy30 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Member:
    #39432
    Messages:
    452
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jay
    Murrells Inlet, SC
    Vehicle:
    10 DC Prerunner Sport TRD
    EGR in channel Vent Visors, Flowmaster American Thunder Dual Exhaust, Thule ToolBox, AFE Pro Dry Drop In Air Filter, Weathertech Floorliners, TC UCA's, Camburg Spindles, AllPro 3" rear.
    Dang it Chris. I was searching for it. haha
     
  4. Jul 30, 2010 at 7:55 AM
    #4
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    14,256
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 GMC Canyon SLT w/ LineX and....
    I know I've asked this before....but I thought the 2010 has an AUX output?
     
  5. Jul 30, 2010 at 7:56 AM
    #5
    4X42HEL

    4X42HEL [OP] Don't really understand 2WD trucks....

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Member:
    #40716
    Messages:
    353
    Gender:
    Male
    Albuturkey
    Hot Wife
    OK, great. Thx.

    I just found that one too a second ago and watched it. Now thats off of a 2007. If you watch the vid, it shows the guy pulling off the side tabs (the left of which I have the 4x4 control). Is this consistent with the 2010?

    I downloaded the instructions PDF from toyota parts, and they aren't that great. But they do not mention to pull off the side tabs to "push" out the A/C controls from behind. Rather, they mention putting in a flat head and prying or pulling it out from front. Does that matter or can I still do the tab pulling way?

    Hopefully somebody with a 2009 or 2010 can speak from experience b/c these cheap instructions from this PDF show 2009 + so maybe something changed....
     
  6. Jul 30, 2010 at 7:58 AM
    #6
    4X42HEL

    4X42HEL [OP] Don't really understand 2WD trucks....

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Member:
    #40716
    Messages:
    353
    Gender:
    Male
    Albuturkey
    Hot Wife

    I have been using AUX for 3 weeks I've owned the truck now and it sucks if you have ever used iPod interface. Its a world of difference. Using the steering wheel controls and the head unit with music text on display is much nicer than having to thumb through an ipod while driving (using a phone while driving in my state is illegal).

    Not to mention, the sound difference between the two are worlds apart.

    If it was a raw $299 I would have paid the price.
     
  7. Jul 30, 2010 at 8:04 AM
    #7
    fjm0008

    fjm0008 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Member:
    #28255
    Messages:
    248
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jack
    Annapolis
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 LB White
    Sirius Starmate and ipod integration w/Pay15 Toy USA Spec, Hardwired Radar Detector and GPS, DRL Mod,Tailgate Anti Theft mod, Hi Lift Jack, CB Radio, Back up sensors, Front 30% tint, Leer 100R Cap, Weathertech, Under hood light and 12V outlet, D Rings, N-FAB Step Bars, Bed Mat, Yakima Bike Rack, OEM Roof Rack
    You need to remove the A/C controls first and then you will have access to the 10MM bolts for the stereo. It is very simple. I would not recommend using a screwdriver though, it can scratch the dash. You need a pry tool, preferable made of plastic. I have used a thin metal (no sharp edges) tool that I have and covered it with blue tape before but I prefer the plastic ones. Also, you need something to put the stereo on when you pull it out. If you let it hang down it will scratch the lower portion of the dash below the a/c controls. I recommend having a towel covering that section of the dash and find a small box to rest the stereo on in front of your shifter. If you search USA Spec there are specific instructions on how to pull the stereo.
     
  8. Jul 30, 2010 at 8:09 AM
    #8
    4X42HEL

    4X42HEL [OP] Don't really understand 2WD trucks....

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Member:
    #40716
    Messages:
    353
    Gender:
    Male
    Albuturkey
    Hot Wife
    Will a butter knife work? I want to try and tackle it this weekend, but can't think of anything plastic I may have to pry out the A/C controls. Scratching or breaking a plastic is my #1 concern.
     
  9. Jul 30, 2010 at 8:09 AM
    #9
    fubar718

    fubar718 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Member:
    #38458
    Messages:
    182
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jose
    NJ
    Vehicle:
    2010 double cab, TRD offroad
    Its easy to install. You should have no problem. I had mine in the car and working in under 30 mns.
     
  10. Jul 30, 2010 at 8:16 AM
    #10
    jdtemple

    jdtemple Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Member:
    #35623
    Messages:
    517
    Gender:
    Male
    Bay Area CA
    Vehicle:
    08 DBLCAB LB TRD Sport
    Lift & Tires, in cab power outlets, Locking Bed Boxes, K&N
    put electrical tape over a flat head screwdriver tip and use that to pop out your climate controls. Start at the bottom left corner, then the bottom right corner, it should just pop out. Once that is done removing the radio is easy with a 10mm socket. It looks way more complicated than it actually is.
     
  11. Jul 30, 2010 at 8:19 AM
    #11
    4X42HEL

    4X42HEL [OP] Don't really understand 2WD trucks....

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Member:
    #40716
    Messages:
    353
    Gender:
    Male
    Albuturkey
    Hot Wife
    Do I have to remove the glove box? Where is the best place to route the wire? The bogus instructions say to remove the glove box and drill a hole for the wire...

    I found another post where they just ran the wire around glove box without having to drill. In the Teenager, there was an actual plug nice and solid right next to the AUX plug. In my Taco, there are blank black spots, I kind of wish I could mount it there, but I dont see what I would use as my mounting plate since the final product is just a loose dongle.

    Where is everybody else's mounted?
     
  12. Jul 30, 2010 at 8:20 AM
    #12
    Tom's Turf

    Tom's Turf Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Member:
    #35388
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    Maryville, TN
    Vehicle:
    TRD Sport 4X4
    K&N drop in filter, Westin sidebars
    Two cheap putty knifes and painters tape ........took me about 45 min....after I watched the video three times

    :D
     
  13. Jul 30, 2010 at 8:34 AM
    #13
    fjm0008

    fjm0008 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Member:
    #28255
    Messages:
    248
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jack
    Annapolis
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 LB White
    Sirius Starmate and ipod integration w/Pay15 Toy USA Spec, Hardwired Radar Detector and GPS, DRL Mod,Tailgate Anti Theft mod, Hi Lift Jack, CB Radio, Back up sensors, Front 30% tint, Leer 100R Cap, Weathertech, Under hood light and 12V outlet, D Rings, N-FAB Step Bars, Bed Mat, Yakima Bike Rack, OEM Roof Rack
    X2, a putty knife covered with tape works fine. You can run it to the glove box without drilling any holes. Just run the IPOD wire up and over the back left side of the glove box door. Some people ran it to the center console. Here is a link about taking the stereo out:
    http://aaronlinsdau.com/gear/articles/ipod2car.html
    If you need any help send me a note.

    Good luck
     
  14. Jul 30, 2010 at 8:40 AM
    #14
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,153
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    You can get a set of Trim Removal tools from Harbor frieght for about $5.00. OR, You can use our Drivers License to remove the trim. Dont use anything steel, or too hard. The plastic is soft.

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=200404287324&rvr_id=117525559567&crlp=1_263602_263622&UA=%3F*I7&GUID=adb63fc01290a02674e6a0e6ffcf5e92&itemid=200404287324&ff4=263602_263622

    http://www.harborfreight.com/5-piece-auto-trim-and-molding-tool-set-67021.html



    Harbor Freight also has a 9 peice for about 6 bucks.
     
  15. Jul 30, 2010 at 9:29 AM
    #15
    4X42HEL

    4X42HEL [OP] Don't really understand 2WD trucks....

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Member:
    #40716
    Messages:
    353
    Gender:
    Male
    Albuturkey
    Hot Wife
    OK,

    Thanks for all of the help thus far, the links are great!

    Not trying to over-complicate this, but I am reading through the instructions online from toyota parts, and I am a bit baffled on one step, maybe somebody can help me understand what the hell they mean? Here is the literature from step 4:

    "NOTE: If the 12 pin connector is already prewired
    to the head unit, proceed to step (b). If the
    12 pin connector is not pre-wired to the head unit,
    proceed to step (c).
    (b) If the 12 pin connector is already pre-wired to
    the head unit.
    (1) Remove the pre-wired 12 pin connector
    from the head unit.
    (2) If applicable, plug the pre-wired 12 pin
    connector into the connector of the AVCLAN
    cable. (Fig. 4-2 & 4-3)
    (3) Wrap the connectors with adhesive
    protective foam to secure. (Fig. 4-4)
    (4) Reconnect the factory harness and antenna
    cable.
    (c) If the 12 pin connector is not pre-wired to the
    head unit.
    (1) Wrap the unused connector of the AVCLAN
    cable in adhesive protective foam. (Fig.
    4-5)
    (2) Reconnect the factory harness and antenna
    cable."

    link here:
    http://www.toyotapart.com/2008-2010...45-00082_REV._B_T-AI-0316-D_--PT545-00082.pdf

    What 12 pin connector, and why would it be pre-wired? Isn't the connector part of the interface kit I am getting?
     
To Top