1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Help!! Interior lights wont work!

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by AlexForbesR6, Aug 20, 2009.

  1. Aug 20, 2009 at 8:21 PM
    #1
    AlexForbesR6

    AlexForbesR6 [OP] My R6 Eats Me

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Member:
    #21488
    Messages:
    612
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    07 4x4 6-Spd
    Hi!

    im new to register to this forum but i have followed if for a while!
    I have a question though real quick. i got in my truck today and my dome light and map lights do not work and my clock had reset itself..im guessing it is a fuse but
    A) if so which fuse and why would the clock reset
    and
    B) if that isnt it what is it?

    Any help would be mucho apreciated!

    Gracias fellow Taco Lovers!!!


    And im am sooo glad to finally own a tacoma...i only got it a month ago
    :D
     
  2. Aug 20, 2009 at 9:30 PM
    #2
    AlexForbesR6

    AlexForbesR6 [OP] My R6 Eats Me

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Member:
    #21488
    Messages:
    612
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    07 4x4 6-Spd
    anyone had this happen to them?
    it really sucks trying to do anything in my truck at night...like get in it :(
     
  3. Aug 20, 2009 at 9:31 PM
    #3
    thekidcatcher

    thekidcatcher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Member:
    #15573
    Messages:
    2,800
    Gender:
    Male
    San antonio, tx
    Vehicle:
    05 TRD offroad SR5
    Toy-tec lift, Helo rims, BFG KM2 285/75/R16, Warn M8000 w/ Warn wirless remote, CB, PA, 12in sub with alpine amp, All-Pro offroad front/rear/rocksliders, highlift jack, JBA headers, midpipe, exhaust, Safari Snorkel, Siren, Bilstein 5100 in front with OME 886, UWS toolbox, Dual Battery, Warn Air compressor, Total Chaos UCA's, 5150's bilstein in the rear, URD MAF sensor, u bolt flip kit, diff armor, touchscreen cd player hooked up to front and rear cameras, dvd anytime mod, in dash inverter, Cobra CB
    have you checked the owners manual for all the fuses?
     
  4. Aug 20, 2009 at 9:55 PM
    #4
    AlexForbesR6

    AlexForbesR6 [OP] My R6 Eats Me

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Member:
    #21488
    Messages:
    612
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    07 4x4 6-Spd
    not yet...its at my house and im at the gf's right now...but good idea...i hadn't thought of that...
     
  5. Aug 20, 2009 at 10:09 PM
    #5
    rotnjohnny

    rotnjohnny Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Member:
    #21494
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Gritty side of Jersey
    Vehicle:
    Bad Bitch
    same thing happened to me. picked up brand new 09 dual cab, when i got home the same lights didn't work. i took it back to the dealer and it was the fuse. srv magr could not explain why it happened. sorry, i didn't see which one he took out. take it back to the dealer if he's close by, he got paid so he's your biiitch....

    good luck man, it's like being in the same baby ward in the hospital....
     
  6. Aug 21, 2009 at 12:23 AM
    #6
    borderbrat

    borderbrat Watching Chris4x4 o.O

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Member:
    #3480
    Messages:
    2,486
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeremy
    Victoria BC, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2008, Black sand pearl, SR5, 4X4
    PIAA fogs, led "puddle" lights, bed lights, in cab 115V, Toyota Devil emblem, Randy Ellis light bar with Hella Black Magics, OME 885 and Dakar leaf springs OME shock all round, 2.5 Gal OBA system with air horns, iPod adapter, scangauge on blend mount, magnaflow catback, bike fork mounts, tinted 2009 tails.
    its a fuse in the main fuse box under the hood i had it blow a couple times when i was experimenting with leds in the dome no biggie its a $0.10 fuse. it should be labeled.
    no idea why the clock only half works when this fuse blow i'm guessing it has two power souces one to keep the time when the truck is off obviously tied to the dome and another under the dash on an ignition circuit so it lights up when the truck is turned on.
     
  7. Aug 21, 2009 at 4:33 AM
    #7
    Kelson

    Kelson My Truck is Cuter than Yours

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Member:
    #6597
    Messages:
    4,505
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kelson
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    08 5-Lug Reg. Cab SR5
    SR5 Exterior/Interior (Color matched Front Bumper, Chrome Grille Surround and Chrome Rear Bumper/Silver Scoshe Dash Kit, A/C Bezel, A/C Vent Surround) LED license plate and white interior lights, Wet Okole Seat Covers, iPad in-Dash, JL CL-RLC, JL 13TW5 sub, JL 500/1 Slash V1 amp, JL XR 6.5 Components, Rockford Fosgate 6X9s in Boxes Front XRunner Coils, DJM Control Arms and Rear 4X4 Leafs, Custom 2" Angled Streetacos.com Blocks Front XR Bilstien Struts and Rear XR Bilstien Shocks, CravenSpeen Antennae, RX-8 Rims w/ Fronts:235/40-R18 Sumitomo HTR Rears:245/40-R18 Goodyear Eagle GT, 35% Tint front windows, OEM Sliding Privacy Glass w/ 5% Ceramic Tint, Flowmaster Super 44 dumped before the axle, URD Short Throw Shifter, Door Sill Protectors, Door Edge Guards, OEM Sport Pedals,The Retrofit Source Morimoto Mini D2S Stage III 35W 5K HID Headlights, OEM Fog Lights w/ piss yellow bulbs, OEM Cruise Control, Porsche 944 Bucket Seats, BeefedTaco Skid Plate, Whale
    yeah check the main fuse box otherwise just in case if you still can't find a blown fuse look in the second fuse inside the cab (driver's side pull down box thing right below the switches for your fogs and whatever)
     
  8. Aug 21, 2009 at 7:43 AM
    #8
    97Blk_one

    97Blk_one Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Member:
    #5970
    Messages:
    731
    Gender:
    Male
    Memfrica
    Vehicle:
    not so low
    A whole lot,But not satify
    You said you just got it a month ago, take it back to where you got it from,let them deal with it. Unless you bought from a friend, then you have to deal with it yourself.
     
  9. Aug 21, 2009 at 8:18 AM
    #9
    EnolaGaia

    EnolaGaia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Member:
    #9
    Messages:
    1,129
    Gender:
    Male
    Midwest USA
    Vehicle:
    '01 & '04 S-Runners
    01 SR: Double Cab conversion, S/C, lowered.
    The reason the clock reset is that main power to the clock is drawn off the same fuse as the interior dome light.
     
  10. Aug 21, 2009 at 5:33 PM
    #10
    AlexForbesR6

    AlexForbesR6 [OP] My R6 Eats Me

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Member:
    #21488
    Messages:
    612
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    07 4x4 6-Spd
    Thank you sooo much!!!
     
  11. Aug 21, 2009 at 6:19 PM
    #11
    brian

    brian Another Traitor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Member:
    #16011
    Messages:
    7,557
    Gender:
    Male
    Elizabeth City, NC
    Vehicle:
    2008 F-350 Powerstroke
    Fuses blow, sometimes for no reason. As long as it doesn't come back, theres nothing to worry about. Fuse was probably defective.
     
To Top