1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Help, is there a NAV option that even a noobie can install?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by ChaseUA, Mar 17, 2010.

  1. Mar 17, 2010 at 9:04 PM
    #1
    ChaseUA

    ChaseUA [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Member:
    #33172
    Messages:
    403
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chase
    Bama
    Vehicle:
    2010 MGM TRD Sport Access Cab 4x4
    Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT HU (upgraded to Z120BT firmware), Weathertech visors & mats, OEM Bed Mat, TRD Line-X'd Skid Plate, N-Fab step bars, UWS black low profile tool box, Polk SR6500 components pushed by Alpine amp. Grillcraft Uppers and Lowers installed. Wish-List: TRD CAI and TRD exhaust, TRD Supercharger In 2012 when truck is paid off: 3" lift and new tires (possibly wheels as well)
    I've installed several head units in the past but I have yet to attempt to install an in-dash navigation system. How much more difficult is it? Also, is there any brands that are particularly easier to deal with? I'm currently looking at the Eclipse AVN726E, Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT, AVIC-X920BT, and the Clarion NX700 but am open to other suggestions if any are easier to deal with.

    I don't really care for bypassing it but if that is easy enough to do I may knock it out while installing, but I do want the backup camera to work on the headunit.

    Is this something a novice like myself can handle, or should I take it to a professional and get it done? Any idea what the going rate is for such an install if I were to do that option? I've only checked one place and they wanted nearly $600 for an install if I didn't buy the headunit from them, thus the reason I am turning to you guys for info! I live in a semi-rural area so there aren't a ton of options.

    I want one with decent NAV functions that will work well with an iPhone with BT capabilities.

    Any info/insight is greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Mar 18, 2010 at 12:44 PM
    #2
    adhumston

    adhumston Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Member:
    #29873
    Messages:
    59
    Gender:
    Male
    Installing a nav unit is really no more difficult than installing a standard h/u. For example, on my Alpine W505 the only extra thing I had to do was run the GPS antenna out from the h/u. I ended up just putting it up front towards my grill, and it works fine and is not noticable.
     
  3. Mar 18, 2010 at 12:53 PM
    #3
    phd12volt

    phd12volt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Member:
    #33457
    Messages:
    60
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    So-Cal
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma Manual 2wd Access Cab 5-Lugger
    Homelink Mirror Autopage Alarm/Remote Start/C3 Tracking Alpine w505 w/P1 Nav
    in the tacoma, you can mount the GPS antenna under the top of the dash directly in the middle, behind the radio. It will work through plastic. then you dont have to worry about the antenna being seen outside.
     
  4. Mar 18, 2010 at 1:41 PM
    #4
    ChaseUA

    ChaseUA [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Member:
    #33172
    Messages:
    403
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chase
    Bama
    Vehicle:
    2010 MGM TRD Sport Access Cab 4x4
    Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT HU (upgraded to Z120BT firmware), Weathertech visors & mats, OEM Bed Mat, TRD Line-X'd Skid Plate, N-Fab step bars, UWS black low profile tool box, Polk SR6500 components pushed by Alpine amp. Grillcraft Uppers and Lowers installed. Wish-List: TRD CAI and TRD exhaust, TRD Supercharger In 2012 when truck is paid off: 3" lift and new tires (possibly wheels as well)
    Thanks to both of you for the feedback. I went from doubting my ability to do it to being confident I can. I still can't believe the local audio shop wanted $600 for the install.
     
  5. Mar 18, 2010 at 2:02 PM
    #5
    docbrown

    docbrown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Member:
    #31326
    Messages:
    641
    Gender:
    Male
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    05 Tacoma SR5 4X4
    Doug Thorley Long Tube Headers, Eclipse 6620 AVN GPS/DVD, K&N Drop-in Air Filter, Hose clamp mod, Redline Quick Lift Elites, Bilstein 5100's at .85, Firestone Ride Rite Air Bags, Weather Techs front and back, Bug Guard, and Factory Bull Bar, Wet Okole's up front, Bed Mat, LED interior lights, Fumoto Oil Valve
    Some of the Eclipse units connect directly to the Toyota wiring - no adapters/cutting necessary thus making install pretty easy from that standpoint. I don't know much about the backup camera. Thought there was a post in the "How To's" on it but i can't find it. IIRC some of the wiring or the camera is there already if you don't have the factory camera already.

    I have an AVN 6620 and it works pretty well. I do not use the camera or BT functionality on it, but the GPS works pretty well and it sounds decent even with the factory speakers.

    This might help

    http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/audio-video/571-stereo-upgrade-basic-how-2nd-gen.html
     
  6. Mar 18, 2010 at 2:28 PM
    #6
    ChaseUA

    ChaseUA [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Member:
    #33172
    Messages:
    403
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chase
    Bama
    Vehicle:
    2010 MGM TRD Sport Access Cab 4x4
    Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT HU (upgraded to Z120BT firmware), Weathertech visors & mats, OEM Bed Mat, TRD Line-X'd Skid Plate, N-Fab step bars, UWS black low profile tool box, Polk SR6500 components pushed by Alpine amp. Grillcraft Uppers and Lowers installed. Wish-List: TRD CAI and TRD exhaust, TRD Supercharger In 2012 when truck is paid off: 3" lift and new tires (possibly wheels as well)
    Thanks. I read a post earlier talking about the backup camera as well but can't seem to find it right now either. I know they said you can splice into the existing wires (the truck I am getting has a backup camera installed).

    I have another question, if you have an aftermarket stereo can you plug & play other speakers to replace the factory speakers or do you need to run new speaker wire (or purchase adapters?)? I've read some posts that seem to indicate that you can't replace stock speakers while using the existing factory head unit, so it got me to thinking if it was something to do with an internal Toyota amp or something on the factory speakers?
     
  7. Mar 18, 2010 at 7:22 PM
    #7
    docbrown

    docbrown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Member:
    #31326
    Messages:
    641
    Gender:
    Male
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    05 Tacoma SR5 4X4
    Doug Thorley Long Tube Headers, Eclipse 6620 AVN GPS/DVD, K&N Drop-in Air Filter, Hose clamp mod, Redline Quick Lift Elites, Bilstein 5100's at .85, Firestone Ride Rite Air Bags, Weather Techs front and back, Bug Guard, and Factory Bull Bar, Wet Okole's up front, Bed Mat, LED interior lights, Fumoto Oil Valve
  8. Mar 18, 2010 at 8:31 PM
    #8
    ChaseUA

    ChaseUA [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Member:
    #33172
    Messages:
    403
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chase
    Bama
    Vehicle:
    2010 MGM TRD Sport Access Cab 4x4
    Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT HU (upgraded to Z120BT firmware), Weathertech visors & mats, OEM Bed Mat, TRD Line-X'd Skid Plate, N-Fab step bars, UWS black low profile tool box, Polk SR6500 components pushed by Alpine amp. Grillcraft Uppers and Lowers installed. Wish-List: TRD CAI and TRD exhaust, TRD Supercharger In 2012 when truck is paid off: 3" lift and new tires (possibly wheels as well)

    Thanks DOC, as you can tell I am still getting a feel for everything around here. It is a lot to take in and I feel like I am learning in leaps and bounds yet still fill like I've only scratched the surface!
     
  9. Mar 19, 2010 at 8:36 AM
    #9
    Gingrbredman

    Gingrbredman Love the Tick!

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Member:
    #19469
    Messages:
    321
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    G
    Chicagoland
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab Sport 4WD
    I'm not sure anyone mentioned it here not, but the Eclipse unit you are looking at is not plug and play. The AVN6620 docbrown has is an older unit, and is plug and play, but the newer AVN726 is not. You would still need the wiring harness to install the unit. The advantage to the 726 would be if you had steering wheel controls, you would not need the SWI PAC adapter. The 726 and the steering wheel controls can be spliced together without an adapter.
     
To Top