1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Help kenwood ddx814 wiring install

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Kaddy08, Aug 20, 2009.

  1. Aug 20, 2009 at 5:35 AM
    #1
    Kaddy08

    Kaddy08 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Member:
    #10262
    Messages:
    27
    Burbank IL
    Vehicle:
    08 double cab 2wd Prerunner SR5 OffRoad
    I am looking to install this radio and had a couple questions. On the harness I have it only has an orange wire and the wiring on the kenwood only has orange/white. Both are for illumination. Do I still connect these? Also no brown wire on the harness. What do I need to do with it if anything? Thanks for Amy info or links. Never installed before and don't want to fuck it up.
     
  2. Aug 20, 2009 at 9:26 AM
    #2
    stang88

    stang88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Member:
    #14001
    Messages:
    233
    Gender:
    Male
    you will be just fine hooking the orange/white to the orange.
     
  3. Aug 20, 2009 at 9:27 AM
    #3
    nad

    nad mmmm tacos!

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Member:
    #17388
    Messages:
    3,075
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordan
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2014 Sierra All Terrain
    x2
     
  4. Aug 20, 2009 at 11:47 AM
    #4
    Kaddy08

    Kaddy08 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Member:
    #10262
    Messages:
    27
    Burbank IL
    Vehicle:
    08 double cab 2wd Prerunner SR5 OffRoad
    Thanks for the replys. Another ? Can I just ground the green parking brake wire so I can view DVD in motion?
     
  5. Aug 20, 2009 at 11:54 AM
    #5
    Banchi94

    Banchi94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Member:
    #6599
    Messages:
    471
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ron
    Parker, CO
    Vehicle:
    2008 Indigo Blue TRD Sport DCSB 4x4
    ToyTec 3" basic lift
    Yes you can. For some reason, I was thinking that wire was purple. But, yes, the parking brake wire can be grounded to remove the "safety" feature allowing you to view DVDs while driving. Be careful, though!
     
  6. Aug 20, 2009 at 11:54 AM
    #6
    nad

    nad mmmm tacos!

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Member:
    #17388
    Messages:
    3,075
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordan
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2014 Sierra All Terrain
    thats what I did, but some companies make there head units smarter than the one I have, I used to have a pioneer that I had to wire a switch that connected the parking brake wire to the ground because it knew if it was a constant connection to ground, you would have to flip the switch on and off to make it work. my new jvc on the other hand isnt like that its just grounded constant :D
     
  7. Aug 20, 2009 at 11:55 AM
    #7
    nad

    nad mmmm tacos!

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Member:
    #17388
    Messages:
    3,075
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordan
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2014 Sierra All Terrain
    purple I believe is the one that goes to your speedometer wire or your reverse wire i cant remember
     
  8. Aug 20, 2009 at 12:01 PM
    #8
    Kaddy08

    Kaddy08 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Member:
    #10262
    Messages:
    27
    Burbank IL
    Vehicle:
    08 double cab 2wd Prerunner SR5 OffRoad
    Ok one more guys. Thanks so much. I have some wires that say connect to relay box. What is it? Do I need to do this? And if so how? Sorry for all the questions. But I never done a install myself and my taco is precious to me and don't want to screw up anything
     
  9. Aug 20, 2009 at 12:03 PM
    #9
    nad

    nad mmmm tacos!

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Member:
    #17388
    Messages:
    3,075
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordan
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2014 Sierra All Terrain
    what color is it?
     
  10. Aug 20, 2009 at 12:05 PM
    #10
    Kaddy08

    Kaddy08 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Member:
    #10262
    Messages:
    27
    Burbank IL
    Vehicle:
    08 double cab 2wd Prerunner SR5 OffRoad
    Blue/white I think. Can't remember off hand at the moment.
     
  11. Aug 20, 2009 at 12:06 PM
    #11
    nad

    nad mmmm tacos!

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Member:
    #17388
    Messages:
    3,075
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordan
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2014 Sierra All Terrain
    does it say that its a remote wire? or power antenna?
     
  12. Aug 20, 2009 at 12:09 PM
    #12
    nad

    nad mmmm tacos!

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Member:
    #17388
    Messages:
    3,075
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordan
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2014 Sierra All Terrain
    solid blue is a power antenna and blue and white will be the remote wire to turn the amp on, if you have the jbl system then you need to hook that to the remote wire on the harness you bought
     
  13. Aug 20, 2009 at 12:22 PM
    #13
    Kaddy08

    Kaddy08 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Member:
    #10262
    Messages:
    27
    Burbank IL
    Vehicle:
    08 double cab 2wd Prerunner SR5 OffRoad
    It's non jbl. And these wires are seperate from the main wires i connect to the harness. Looking at the manual the slot I plug into the radio says accessory 2 and those run to the relay box labeled relay 1 relay 2. I'm not putting any accessories. It's doesn't say what accessory 2 is either. So I'm thinking I don't need to connect these.
     
  14. Aug 20, 2009 at 12:31 PM
    #14
    Kaddy08

    Kaddy08 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Member:
    #10262
    Messages:
    27
    Burbank IL
    Vehicle:
    08 double cab 2wd Prerunner SR5 OffRoad
    Ok accessery 2 is the actual wires going to the relay box. Still not sure what or why I would need to connect it. I think if I was adding some accessory that would utilize the relay? I'm lost on what is purpose even is
     
  15. Aug 20, 2009 at 12:31 PM
    #15
    nad

    nad mmmm tacos!

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Member:
    #17388
    Messages:
    3,075
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordan
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2014 Sierra All Terrain
    most likely not then doesnt sound necessary to me, so is there another blue and white wire in the harness coming out of the deck then?
     
  16. Aug 20, 2009 at 12:39 PM
    #16
    Kaddy08

    Kaddy08 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Member:
    #10262
    Messages:
    27
    Burbank IL
    Vehicle:
    08 double cab 2wd Prerunner SR5 OffRoad
    Yeah one for remote on steering wheel. Which I don't have and the other is for power ant which I don't have. I think I'm all set to install. Except fir the brown mute wire. But I'm under the impression since Bluetooth is built in and the harness doesn't have brown I don't need to connect this. The manual isn't helpful either
     
  17. Aug 20, 2009 at 12:42 PM
    #17
    nad

    nad mmmm tacos!

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Member:
    #17388
    Messages:
    3,075
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordan
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2014 Sierra All Terrain
    well try it without and c what happens cant hurt anything, its most likely just a remote wire to enable the relay, thats what blue and white means on most stereos
     
  18. Aug 20, 2009 at 12:45 PM
    #18
    nad

    nad mmmm tacos!

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Member:
    #17388
    Messages:
    3,075
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordan
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2014 Sierra All Terrain
    nope you wont need mute in taco
     
  19. Aug 20, 2009 at 5:46 PM
    #19
    Kaddy08

    Kaddy08 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Member:
    #10262
    Messages:
    27
    Burbank IL
    Vehicle:
    08 double cab 2wd Prerunner SR5 OffRoad
    Guys thanks for everything. I installed it. So far so good. Just one problem. The insert from the scosche kit won't fit in the spot it's supposed too. The radio pushes the bottom out. Is there a trick to this?
     
  20. Aug 20, 2009 at 7:04 PM
    #20
    Kaddy08

    Kaddy08 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Member:
    #10262
    Messages:
    27
    Burbank IL
    Vehicle:
    08 double cab 2wd Prerunner SR5 OffRoad
    I used the brackets from my factory radio and used them on the kenwood instead of the plastic ones that came with the kit. I also slipped the face on after I had the stereo mounted. Could this be the problem of why the insert doesn't fit all the way in? I'm at a loss as to why it doesn't just slide in and it doesn't snap in either. I'm thinking maybe get the metes kit.
     
To Top