1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Help! Need a "hot wire"

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by danteisme, Oct 12, 2013.

  1. Oct 12, 2013 at 6:22 PM
    #1
    danteisme

    danteisme [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Member:
    #4248
    Messages:
    1,207
    Gender:
    Male
    pittsburgh
    Vehicle:
    05 base 4x4
    i have everything hooked up for my bed lights except for the switch. i dont want to have it so i have to have my marker lights on for the bed lights to work. can anyone point me in the direction for something that is hot without the truck being on or without the marker lights being on so i can finishing hooking up my otrattw switch?

    i dont want to run another lead from the battery just for this switch. its powered via relay from my aux. fuse box.
     
  2. Oct 12, 2013 at 6:25 PM
    #2
    nfs257

    nfs257 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Member:
    #58691
    Messages:
    5,884
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    09 DCLB PreRunner MGM SR5 Debadged
    Trac Performance built Prerunner
    Most of the fuses under the dash work in the ignition...
     
  3. Oct 12, 2013 at 6:28 PM
    #3
    anders99

    anders99 The Sailing Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2013
    Member:
    #105101
    Messages:
    1,775
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matthew
    Niceville, Florida
    Vehicle:
    07 Base 4cyl 4x4
    Halo Led Headlights Led Taillights 3'' toytech spacer lift on front end Toytec AAL on rear AFE cold air intake Pioneer Appradio 2
    What I did for some extra lighting was run a wire to the battery with an inline fuse to a switch. So if the truck is off I can still turn them on
     
  4. Oct 13, 2013 at 5:47 AM
    #4
    danteisme

    danteisme [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Member:
    #4248
    Messages:
    1,207
    Gender:
    Male
    pittsburgh
    Vehicle:
    05 base 4x4
    are any of them hot without the ignition on? my old chevy truck had cab lights that were switch activated. did not need the lights to be on or the truck to be on, key in, or anything. trying to duplicate that setup.
     
  5. Oct 13, 2013 at 5:48 AM
    #5
    danteisme

    danteisme [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Member:
    #4248
    Messages:
    1,207
    Gender:
    Male
    pittsburgh
    Vehicle:
    05 base 4x4
    if i had not run a relay and if i ran a simple 2 prong switch, that would work
     
  6. Oct 13, 2013 at 5:53 AM
    #6
    Gaunt596

    Gaunt596 Resident Otaku

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Member:
    #106627
    Messages:
    2,359
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matthew
    Central Maryland
    Vehicle:
    07 Double Cab Long Bed V6 SR5
    Rain visors, Fog Light Anytime, Uniden 505xl CB Radio and 5 foot Firestick antenna, RTMR Fuse box, Mobtown Offroad Recovery Bar with 2" Receiver Tube
    im pretty sure the fuse box has some hot fuses, or if you poke around im sure theirs a wire or two you could tap, BUT IMO its cleaner and safer to keep all your wiring separate from the factory, this also makes it easier to fix if something in the factory wiring fails.
     
  7. Oct 13, 2013 at 12:59 PM
    #7
    joes06tacoma

    joes06tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Member:
    #28588
    Messages:
    3,066
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Central Coast, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 Off Road Access Cab v6 6spd
    LEER Shell with dome lights operated with 3 way switches, aux backup lights with relay and 3 position switch, modified wiring to compass/temp display and clock to include switch that disables dimming function (poor man's DRL solution), Scan Gauge 2
    Exactly what do you have installed already?

    Where is the relay located?

    Where is your switch located?

    Depending on where everything is located, it may be easier to switch the ground on the relay, which won't require another hot wire.

    The fuse in the interior block which powers the cigarette lighter and aux power outlet is hot all the time, even though those outlets are not. I have an ATM type add-a-circuit in that slot for my camper shell lights.
     
  8. Oct 13, 2013 at 1:18 PM
    #8
    robssol

    robssol @$%#TW!

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Member:
    #105622
    Messages:
    2,190
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    S. Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    06 Tacoma, TRD Sport, SR5, 4X4, ACLB
    Fog lights mod, Seatbelt reminder delete, Secondary air filter delete, LED bed lights, Running boards, Plasti-dip rims, Devil Horns by Andres, Ultra gauge, Cup holder/consol/glove compartment lights, Interior LED conversion, Blue Sea aux. fuse panel, fuse panel mounting plate by Yotamac, ProEFX heated towing mirrors, LED hood lights by tacodane, Rampage 22" LED light bar, Redline Quicklift Elite hood struts, Wet Okole Heated Seat Covers, Pop and Lock tailgate theft deterrent mod.
    There are spade terminals in the main fuse box that are always live. I used one of those for my bed lights. I used LEDs so no relay required. Fishing wires through the firewall is no fun, but may be necessary.
     
  9. Oct 13, 2013 at 4:03 PM
    #9
    oldguy128

    oldguy128 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Member:
    #113935
    Messages:
    36
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    GARY
    Southbury CT
    Vehicle:
    1996 Toyota Tacoma
    How many amps does your lights draw, if its over 2 amps which i assume it is, use a #10 wire to a fuse with more then rating of the lights, example if the lights draw 20 amps, use a 30 amps fuse, then have it go to to the wiper of a heavy duty relay, use this one its cheap and it should do it.

    http://www.autozone.com/autozone/ac...ory-relay/_/N-2659?itemIdentifier=203873_0_0_

    then wire one side of the coil to truck ground, the other side to any small switch which is wired to any point that is always hot in the cab fuse block run your lights one side to ground and the other to the open contact on the relay total cost $10.00 good luck do you need me to draw you a diagram? just ask

    Gary
     
  10. Oct 13, 2013 at 6:56 PM
    #10
    danteisme

    danteisme [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Member:
    #4248
    Messages:
    1,207
    Gender:
    Male
    pittsburgh
    Vehicle:
    05 base 4x4
    thanks everyone, got it.
     
  11. Oct 13, 2013 at 6:57 PM
    #11
    dan33900

    dan33900 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Member:
    #86844
    Messages:
    132
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    Maumelle, Arkansas
    Vehicle:
    2009 DCSB 4X4 MGM
    You can always go to the battery wire in your trailer hitch plug.
     
To Top