1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

*Help* Powered Sub in Protection Mode

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by A_Gault, Jul 6, 2020.

  1. Jul 6, 2020 at 11:51 AM
    #1
    A_Gault

    A_Gault [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2020
    Member:
    #333573
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Drew
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tacoma TRD Off Road
    So my truck has a 4 channel amp (Pioneer GM-D8604) (Amp #1 in the diagram) installed by a local shop that works just fine. When I bought the truck the guy gave me a Pyle (PLBASS8) powered sub and I thought I'd try to install it.

    I ran power from the battery with an inline fuse 12" from the battery, a ground to the body on the passenger side after removing some of the paint to get a good ground. The remote wire I ran from the amp #1. RCAs from Amp#1 as well.

    When I put the truck in Acc the sub works, but when I start the truck it goes into protection mode.

    I measured the voltage of the Power wires at 12.5, but noticed a spike when the truck starts to 13.25 or so, could this be the problem?

    I'm wondering if anyone who actually knows what they're doing, because I clearly don't, might be able to help me troubleshoot this.

    Thanks!

    2020-07-06_12-14-13.jpg
     
  2. Jul 6, 2020 at 1:06 PM
    #2
    Philrab

    Philrab Curator of useless knowledge

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2019
    Member:
    #289392
    Messages:
    814
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Phil
    New Orleans, Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2015 Pyrite Mica Quad Cab Prerunner
    Bunch of Basic Taco mods.
    13 volts should be well within range for input voltage, 12 volt alternators charge at over 12 volts all the time.

    1. Do you have a multimeter? You may not have sufficient amperage on the remote wire to turn on both amps. You can test by disconnecting your remote from the four channel and running only to the powered woofer.

    2. Are you 110% sure your RCA’s are hooked to the 4 channel’s output and not an input?

    3. Will the subwoofer play with the key in the ACC position? Or On without starting the truck?
     
  3. Jul 6, 2020 at 1:07 PM
    #3
    Philrab

    Philrab Curator of useless knowledge

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2019
    Member:
    #289392
    Messages:
    814
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Phil
    New Orleans, Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2015 Pyrite Mica Quad Cab Prerunner
    Bunch of Basic Taco mods.
    What gauge power wire? And how did you ground the powered woofer?
     
  4. Jul 6, 2020 at 1:27 PM
    #4
    A_Gault

    A_Gault [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2020
    Member:
    #333573
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Drew
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tacoma TRD Off Road
    Thanks for your help!

    1.) I do. When the truck is off the volts are 0 on the remote wire, when on 12.5.

    2.) 110% sure. There are 3 sets. One for Ch. A, one for Ch.B, and an output.

    3.) Sorry, with the key turned to on without starting the truck the woofer works.

    4.) 8 GA

    5.) Sanded the paint off a spot under the trim beside the seat and used a self taping screw.
    Essentially the same as the shop did for the 4 channel amp on the other side.
     
  5. Jul 6, 2020 at 6:45 PM
    #5
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    3,054
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    So just to clarify, it all works fine with the key in ACC, but the sub goes into protect when you crank it?
    What about when the key goes to IGN but not actual crank
     
  6. Jul 6, 2020 at 7:00 PM
    #6
    A_Gault

    A_Gault [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2020
    Member:
    #333573
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Drew
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tacoma TRD Off Road
    When the key is turned to the Acc or On position the woofer works, but when you crank it and the stereo cuts out for a second while the truck starts the woofer goes into protection.
     
  7. Jul 6, 2020 at 7:04 PM
    #7
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    3,054
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    It’s Pyle so there are a million things that could be happening.

    step 1, disconnect the RCA’s going to it and see if it still goes into protect.

    Next, put your meter’s black lead on your actual grounding spot and the red on the battery input. This voltage should read very similar to what you get just touching the + and - on the battery.
     
  8. Jul 6, 2020 at 7:21 PM
    #8
    A_Gault

    A_Gault [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2020
    Member:
    #333573
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Drew
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tacoma TRD Off Road
    Haha I haven't read many promising Pyle reviews, but free is free...

    With disconnected RCA's I'm almost positive it doesn't go into protection.

    I'll go try what you suggest in the morning and confirm the RCA's.
     
  9. Jul 6, 2020 at 8:39 PM
    #9
    Philrab

    Philrab Curator of useless knowledge

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2019
    Member:
    #289392
    Messages:
    814
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Phil
    New Orleans, Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2015 Pyrite Mica Quad Cab Prerunner
    Bunch of Basic Taco mods.
    Here’s something since we’re spitballing. Just bump the starter, not actually hold it long enough to start, and see if it goes into protect. I’m almost wondering if something about the act of running the starter is causing the issue, like the battery voltage dips low enough for just a second to put the amp in protect.

    1. Check voltage while starting.
    2. May also look at something like this. PAC TR-4 Remote Turn-on Module https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0002J22BE/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_32-aFb1GAX1TN

    It’ll delay the amp from turning on a second or two until the truck is started and voltage stabilizes. May be a bandaid, might be the problem.
     
  10. Jul 7, 2020 at 11:54 AM
    #10
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    3,054
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    Yeah my next suggestion would be to disconnect the REM turn-on from the sub, crank the truck, then connect the REM back and see what happens. If it turns on and plays normally, then it’s something with the voltage during starting, and a basic delay device like posted above will solve your issue
     
    Philrab likes this.
  11. Jul 7, 2020 at 12:19 PM
    #11
    A_Gault

    A_Gault [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2020
    Member:
    #333573
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Drew
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tacoma TRD Off Road
    Ok, so when the RCA’s are unplugged and the truck started it doesn’t go into protection.


    If I remove the REM wire, start the truck, then touch the REM wire to the terminal it is fine for a second then goes into protection.
     
  12. Jul 7, 2020 at 12:40 PM
    #12
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    3,054
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    So we’ve potentially narrowed it down to the RCA’s, correct?
     
    Philrab likes this.
  13. Jul 7, 2020 at 12:45 PM
    #13
    A_Gault

    A_Gault [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2020
    Member:
    #333573
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Drew
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tacoma TRD Off Road
    It looks that way.
    I tested it with a second set I have laying around and they are the same.
     
  14. Jul 7, 2020 at 3:00 PM
    #14
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    3,054
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    Do you happen to have an RCA-3.5mm adapter? I would test plugging your phone into the sub via that adapter if you happen to have one.
     
  15. Jul 7, 2020 at 3:55 PM
    #15
    A_Gault

    A_Gault [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2020
    Member:
    #333573
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Drew
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tacoma TRD Off Road
    I might, I'll take a look and see what difference that makes.
     
  16. Jul 7, 2020 at 5:36 PM
    #16
    Philrab

    Philrab Curator of useless knowledge

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2019
    Member:
    #289392
    Messages:
    814
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Phil
    New Orleans, Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2015 Pyrite Mica Quad Cab Prerunner
    Bunch of Basic Taco mods.
    If a second set of RCA’s sent the amp into protect as well, I’d suspect the pre amp output from the four channel may be part of the issue.

    Destin’s advice regarding an RCA to 3.5mm adapter is worth pursuing.
     
  17. Jul 7, 2020 at 5:43 PM
    #17
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    3,054
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    Exactly my thought.
    Then, if it goes into protect with the phone hooked up, we know it is the sub itself. Just be sure to start with the phone volume all the way down, and the gain on the sub all the way down. Then slowly turn the phone volume up, and only once the phone is maxed out should you start upping the gain. Make sure it’s set to low-level input
     
    Philrab likes this.
  18. Jul 8, 2020 at 11:33 AM
    #18
    Deacon Blues

    Deacon Blues Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2017
    Member:
    #229363
    Messages:
    1,018
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2017 SR5
    Pyle is flea market/swap meet garbage.

    I wouldn't waste anymore time or energy trying to diagnose it, even if it does start to work it will sound like shit and/or be dead in a month anyway.
     
  19. Jul 8, 2020 at 11:37 AM
    #19
    A_Gault

    A_Gault [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2020
    Member:
    #333573
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Drew
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tacoma TRD Off Road
    Tried the 3.5mm - RCA and it didn't go into protection.

    Its sounding like it may be the 4ch amps output then?
     
    Philrab likes this.
  20. Jul 8, 2020 at 12:22 PM
    #20
    A_Gault

    A_Gault [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2020
    Member:
    #333573
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Drew
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tacoma TRD Off Road
    Thanks for your help.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top