1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Help! Timing Belt Questions

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by jj28west, Nov 28, 2010.

1. Nov 28, 2010 at 2:29 PM
    jj28west

jj28west [OP] Member

Member:
    First Name:
    John
    Newbie here,

I have a 2001 Tacoma 2.7L V4 cylinder truck that just hit 100,000 miles.

My question is what items are up for changeover?

1) Timing belt?

2) Water Pump?

3) Tensioner?

4) Other?

Also I am in central connecticut. Any clue to what an approx cost would be to changeover timing belt & water pump & tensioner?

I have tried to do some research which is conflicting that those three items should be changed all at once.

I can not find an online a manual that would tell me all this so sorry for all the questions. :)

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

john

2. Nov 28, 2010 at 2:35 PM
    devilsalmostfree

devilsalmostfree Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Carl
    Loudon, Tn
    Vehicle:
    99 Tacoma 4X4, 5 spd, 2.7 ltr
    Deck plate mod, intake silencer removed, AFE Pro Dry S Air Filter, debadged, Goodyear Duratracs 265/75R16. Flowmaster knock-off muffler!
    ur 2.7 has a timing chain. the same as mine, i have 209k almost on my taco & have replaced anything like that yet, thinking i will be changing the belt tensioner soon!

3. Nov 28, 2010 at 2:37 PM
    Cb2589

Cb2589 Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Corey
    VA
    Vehicle:
    97 Tacoma, 5spd 2.7L
    Wheelers Offroad black steel wheels, 12 disc changer, spray in bedliner, Black UWS toolbox, Kelly Safari TSR's, Dynomax Super Turbo