1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Help with Alpine KTP 445U power pack

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by the4cecop, May 25, 2012.

  1. May 25, 2012 at 10:36 AM
    #1
    the4cecop

    the4cecop [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Member:
    #65914
    Messages:
    53
    Gender:
    Male
    Vegas
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner Sport
    Anyone had success with installing this power pack? Attempted wiring without the RCA's (instructions suggest you cut them off dependent upon HU). Attempted to hookup with Stock stereo in my 2012 Tacoma to no avail. Then, once I changed out my HU to an aftermarket Pioneer AVH 3400BH, I attempted again. No luck. Followed directions, tapped into truck and HU harness based on instructions/youtube, etc. Can't get the dang thing to amp my system. Either I get excessive heat on the back of my HU, or all I get is clicking over my speakers, can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. Any suggestions if you've had luck with this thing?
     
  2. May 26, 2012 at 11:48 PM
    #2
    hemitruk

    hemitruk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Member:
    #24461
    Messages:
    676
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kurt
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2010 Dbl Cab Sport,
    tundra racing lowering kit with tsb springs ,Qa1shocks , VII performance rear sway bars. 4runner limited replica rims 20x8.5 +25 rims, 265 x50 x20 nexans . 2012 up front end conversion with xrunner lower grill and spoilers
    Getting ready to install mine tomorow.Did you set switch on bottom of amp to speaker .Its set at rca from factory.Pop off rubber plug and you will see it .Check out switch setting of instructions.Trying to decide where to mount mine.
     
  3. May 27, 2012 at 10:51 PM
    #3
    hemitruk

    hemitruk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Member:
    #24461
    Messages:
    676
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kurt
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2010 Dbl Cab Sport,
    tundra racing lowering kit with tsb springs ,Qa1shocks , VII performance rear sway bars. 4runner limited replica rims 20x8.5 +25 rims, 265 x50 x20 nexans . 2012 up front end conversion with xrunner lower grill and spoilers
    Hooked mine up today no problems.Alpine recomends that for speaker input to amp set gain only at 9 oclock position from min.Tried gain almost half way it puts out some power for a small profile amp.happy with it
     
  4. May 28, 2012 at 9:43 AM
    #4
    the4cecop

    the4cecop [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Member:
    #65914
    Messages:
    53
    Gender:
    Male
    Vegas
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner Sport
    Glad to see you had success with it. I tried the switch thing to no avail (RCA vs. Speakers). Gave up and bought an Alpine MRP F300. Hooked up first time round.

    Did you ground the 445 to harness or separate ground and did you run power directly to battery? I tried both separate and harness, with no luck.
     
  5. May 28, 2012 at 12:12 PM
    #5
    hemitruk

    hemitruk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Member:
    #24461
    Messages:
    676
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kurt
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2010 Dbl Cab Sport,
    tundra racing lowering kit with tsb springs ,Qa1shocks , VII performance rear sway bars. 4runner limited replica rims 20x8.5 +25 rims, 265 x50 x20 nexans . 2012 up front end conversion with xrunner lower grill and spoilers
    Because radio fuse is only 10 amps alpine says to hook direct to battery so I did.The ground i grounded to ground by shifter which is where I mounted the amp.You didnt mix up the input by any chance eh.The long wire harness is the one that goes to speakers and short one is the input from headunit.I almost did.The instructions are pretty shitty.
     
  6. May 29, 2012 at 7:02 AM
    #6
    the4cecop

    the4cecop [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Member:
    #65914
    Messages:
    53
    Gender:
    Male
    Vegas
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner Sport
    Na, input/output side was pretty clear on instructions. Maybe I just had a bad amp. Happy with what I have now though. 445U woulda been nice due to size and concealment, but, new one I bought was basically plug and play regardless of my HU. Thanks for your help.
     
To Top