1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

help with lift/tires/wheels...

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by MaxPower, Oct 5, 2010.

1. Oct 5, 2010 at 2:27 PM
    MaxPower

MaxPower [OP] Truck Noob

Member:
    First Name:
    Cezar
    Connecticut
    Vehicle:
    09 DCLB Taco TRD Sport
    seeing as i am a complete noob when it comes to this kinda stuff, i was hoping for some insight.

also, i apologize in advance if this topic has been beaten to death, but i tried searching for answers, but i just have no clue what i was reading.

ok, for my questions:

i'd like to eventually lift my truck, an '09 DCLB, and i have no clue how high i should lift it, (though i am thinking 2.5"-3" though), nor do i know what brand/company to go with. what i do know is i don't want to make it a rock climber, haha, as i am going for aesthetics, and not functionality. and, when i lift it, what about the shocks and what not? (if lift come with new ones, i'm sorry...i told you i was new to this).

now, once lifted, what size wheels should i look into getting? 16", 17", 18"...bigger?

and once i decide on a wheel size, what size/style tire should i consider? i will most likely not be offroading at all, besides driving through the occasional deep puddle, hehe. i would like to get a good all-season tire that won't wear too quick, nor drive too badly. so that i don't have to have two sets of rims, for winter/rest of the year tires. i live in CT, and frequent VT/NH/ME and Canadia in the winter time, and am not afraid to drive through epic blizzards to get my snowboarding fix on.