1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

HID relay H3 bulb

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by colinb17, May 20, 2010.

  1. May 20, 2010 at 9:57 AM
    #1
    colinb17

    colinb17 [OP] If at first you don't succeed, don't try skydiving

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Member:
    #4127
    Messages:
    17,492
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colin
    Lusby, MD
    Vehicle:
    '07 TRD Sport 4x4
    Build thread in sig...
    I've installed HIDs before and know how to do all that, but i haven't used an H3 kit before. I have an aftermarket amp-meter in the center console that I run all of my aftermarket stuff through just to keep tabs on it. I'm in the process of drawing up a wireing digram that i can follow when i install HIDs in my off road lights, but i'm missing one piece of info. Do the H3 kits use a relay, or is that just for the high/low finction on the H4s?

    Thanks,
    Colin
     
  2. May 20, 2010 at 11:52 AM
    #2
    colinb17

    colinb17 [OP] If at first you don't succeed, don't try skydiving

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Member:
    #4127
    Messages:
    17,492
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colin
    Lusby, MD
    Vehicle:
    '07 TRD Sport 4x4
    Build thread in sig...
    bump since i'm getting off work :)
     
  3. May 20, 2010 at 1:06 PM
    #3
    flightcancled

    flightcancled Addicted

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Member:
    #30917
    Messages:
    1,470
    Gender:
    Male
    Syracuse NY/ Nantucket MA
    Camper top with racks, Custom fogs behind lower bumper. Interior LED lighting, Rock Lights, Hella 500s with upraged bulbs behind black billet grill, AAL, Front 5100s
    Don't see why they would use a relay excepting of course the one that you used in the initial install for the lights.
     
  4. May 20, 2010 at 1:09 PM
    #4
    02isGTE

    02isGTE New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Member:
    #37499
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    generally H3 HID kits dont use relays. from what i have seen usually they just consist of a ballast and sometimes the HID igniter will be external. usually the relays are for the high/lows. so H3 kits are straight forward PnP. hope this helps.
     
  5. May 20, 2010 at 1:36 PM
    #5
    MC1983

    MC1983 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Member:
    #16728
    Messages:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Indianapolis, IN
    Vehicle:
    2005 DC LB PreRunner Sport
    How much current does the kit draw? Might be a good idea to run a relay just to play it safe.
     
  6. May 20, 2010 at 1:56 PM
    #6
    colinb17

    colinb17 [OP] If at first you don't succeed, don't try skydiving

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Member:
    #4127
    Messages:
    17,492
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colin
    Lusby, MD
    Vehicle:
    '07 TRD Sport 4x4
    Build thread in sig...
    thanks guys!

    from what i've been able to find online, on start up, the amperage can spike pretty high (around 20 amps), but then settles very quickly to about 2.5 to 3 amps. might go test this on my headlights when i get a chance. if i can't find a switch i like with a 20 amp or greater rating, i'll use a relay. i was just wondering if the harnes came prewired with one like the high/lows do. thanks for answering my question! :)
     
  7. May 20, 2010 at 2:06 PM
    #7
    flightcancled

    flightcancled Addicted

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Member:
    #30917
    Messages:
    1,470
    Gender:
    Male
    Syracuse NY/ Nantucket MA
    Camper top with racks, Custom fogs behind lower bumper. Interior LED lighting, Rock Lights, Hella 500s with upraged bulbs behind black billet grill, AAL, Front 5100s
    I always run a fuse in front of everything else just for the peace of mind and convenience. Why nuke a 13$ switch?
     
  8. May 20, 2010 at 2:13 PM
    #8
    colinb17

    colinb17 [OP] If at first you don't succeed, don't try skydiving

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Member:
    #4127
    Messages:
    17,492
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colin
    Lusby, MD
    Vehicle:
    '07 TRD Sport 4x4
    Build thread in sig...
    oh no, i ALWAYS run a fuse...i actually just installed an aftermarket fuse block with 12 extra fuse spots. it's just the relay i'm wondering about. i know how to use relays and all, i was just trying to figure out if the h3 bulbs came with them prewired in the harness
     
  9. Feb 20, 2012 at 11:09 AM
    #9
    possi16

    possi16 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Member:
    #73209
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    I just purcHASED A KIT FROM ********** IT DID NOT COME WITH ANY WIRING RELAY.. i AM GOING TO INSTALL THIS KIT ON SOME kc SLIMLITES , ALONG WITH MY HEADLIGHT THAT i CONVERTED ALREADY , H4 4300K LOW/HIGH BEAM , WHICH WORK GREAT. I REPLACED THE H3 BULBS IN THE KC'S WITH PIAA 4300K AND I CAN SAY VERY GOOD RESULTS.

    ** THIS THE PART WERE I AM HAVING PROBLEMS, PRIOR TO MY HID UPGRADE ON THE HEAD LIGHTS , MY KC/PIAA SLIMLITES ARE INSTALL WITH A RELAY ETC... WHICH ARE WIRED TO TURN WHEN I TURN ON THE HIGH BEAM ALONG WITH SWITCH TO DISABLE IF NEEDED. FOR MY SELF I DO LOTS OF DRIVING IN BAJA, AND USING THIS SETUP ALLOWS ME TO RUN MY LIGHTS AND NOT EFFECT ON COMING TRAFFIC.

    *** AFTER MY HID UPGARDE ON HEAD LIGHTS MY KC/PIAA DON'T WORK ANY MORE. REASON IS ONE OF MY HEADLIGHT FACTORY PLUG IS NOT IN USE. SO MY 12VOLTS GO'S -12V WHEN I HIT MY HIGH BEAM. SINCE I WAS GOING FISHING TO LORETO BAJA THE NEXT DAY , I HAD TO PLACE ONE OF MY OLD H4 BULBS INSIDE BEHIND MY HEADLIGHT TO RECOVER MY KC/PIAA'S****

    FYI LIGHT OUTPUT ON MY HEADLIGHT AND KC/PIAA LIGHTS ARE BALANCED NOW .. NICE

    ANY IDEA'S SO I CAN GET THAT H4 OUT. BOUGHT RESISTOR PLACED ON THE SIDE WHERE THE H4 BULB IS AT NO GOOD.
     
  10. Feb 20, 2012 at 11:10 AM
    #10
    possi16

    possi16 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Member:
    #73209
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    2003 TACOMA CREW CAB 4 X4
     
  11. Feb 20, 2012 at 11:19 AM
    #11
    dexterdog

    dexterdog My pee parts itch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Member:
    #19571
    Messages:
    3,657
    Gender:
    Male
    Oly WA
    Vehicle:
    '07 FJ
    Welcome POSSI. I do not have answer but try not to bastardize other people's threads and avoid using caps unless you are yelling. Your best bet to get your question answered is to start a thread describing your issue.
     
To Top