1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

HID Relay Question

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by Bradfan04, Mar 17, 2010.

  1. Mar 17, 2010 at 12:13 PM
    #1
    Bradfan04

    Bradfan04 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Member:
    #32657
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brantley
    Dublin, GA.
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD Tacoma Double Cab
    Halo Projector HID Headllights (6000k), HID Fogs (6000K), Dome & Maps LEDs, Looking to do more...
    I have a question about the wiring of a relay harness to my hid kit. I am fimiliar with connecting a relay harness to a single bulb hid kit, however I bought after-market headlight housings and I now have seperate high and low bulbs for both the drivers side and passengers side. I have 2 hid kits. One kit for the highs and another for the lows (4 ballasts all together). I know with a single bulb setup the relay connects into 1 of my factory wiring harnesses and goes to either the high or low beam HIDs (whichever you have the HID kit for) on both sides. But I have 2 ballasts on each side and all the HID relay harnesses I have seen only have 1 ballast connection per side of the vehicle. My question is how would I go about hooking up a relay for this setup?

    I was thinking maybe buy 2 relay harnesses and run one to my high ballasts and the other to my low ballasts and then splice the 2 harnesses into the drivers side Factory Headlight Harness. Does any one know if this will work or am i just wasting money and time? Will this cause my highs and lows to get crossed up or anything since I am splicing the 2 into the factory harness?

    Or if anyone knows a better solution (if there is one) I would greatly appreciate it.

    I have searched all over TC and the rest of the net for the past 2 days and I have not found an answer, so I hope 1 of the many great minds here at TC will be able to help me. THANKS
     
  2. Mar 17, 2010 at 12:23 PM
    #2
    Mellow

    Mellow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Member:
    #4752
    Messages:
    151
    Dallas, TX
    Vehicle:
    08 Ext Cab SR5 4-Cyl Prerunner
    If I understand correctly, you don't need a relay.. the single bulb HIDs that contain a relay use them to trigger the bulb to move so the light is focused for High or Low beams within the reflector.

    If you have 4 total bulbs then does one have a shield inside the housing? That keeps the light out of everyone's eyes. The other set has no shield which is your high beam.

    I probably don't understand your question but maybe you just want to add a relay for the heck of it?
     
  3. Mar 17, 2010 at 12:36 PM
    #3
    Bradfan04

    Bradfan04 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Member:
    #32657
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brantley
    Dublin, GA.
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD Tacoma Double Cab
    Halo Projector HID Headllights (6000k), HID Fogs (6000K), Dome & Maps LEDs, Looking to do more...
    The low beams have projectors which keeps the beam out of other drivers eyes. The highs have no sheild or anything....they are just bright as F***. Only thing is it takes alot of power to ignite these ballast.....so when i switch from highs to low or visa versa it takes several second for the lights to reach full brightness.

    I think this is caused by the initial start up which the factory harness is not meant to handle that much current. I could be wrong but from what i have read this is true. The relay harness allows the ballast to get power directly from the battery and the factory harness is in the circuit to let the ballast know when to draw the power.
     
  4. Mar 17, 2010 at 1:04 PM
    #4
    Mellow

    Mellow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Member:
    #4752
    Messages:
    151
    Dallas, TX
    Vehicle:
    08 Ext Cab SR5 4-Cyl Prerunner
    It will always take a few seconds for the lights to achieve full brightness that's just how it is, no amount of wiring differently will change that.

    It's just a characteristic of the bulb/setup.
     
  5. Mar 17, 2010 at 1:30 PM
    #5
    Bradfan04

    Bradfan04 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Member:
    #32657
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brantley
    Dublin, GA.
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD Tacoma Double Cab
    Halo Projector HID Headllights (6000k), HID Fogs (6000K), Dome & Maps LEDs, Looking to do more...
    But still the factory harness is not made for the amount of initial power needed for the ballast to ignite.....this this is what causes factory harness to burn up and mess up ballasts.
    Alot of people have problems with HID lights flickering and probably 99% of the time it is because they did not install a relay harness. I have a few friends with HID kits on a single bulb set-up and they all have said it helps out with they amount of time it takes the bulbs to reach full brightness. There are numerous forums around the net about the issue of how long it takes for the bulbs to reach full brightness as well if you would like to research it. Relays definitley help with this issue and save you some $$$ so you factory harness doesn't burn up.
    I have yet to find or read anything where it says they relay harness is used "to trigger the bulb to move so the light is focused for High or Low beams within the reflector."

    Is there anyone else that can explain/resolve this issue?
     
  6. Mar 17, 2010 at 1:42 PM
    #6
    Zombie Runner

    Zombie Runner Are these black helicopters for me?

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Member:
    #5246
    Messages:
    15,036
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Wichita Falls, TX
    Vehicle:
    Tundra, double cab.
    LED interior lights, stubby antenna, Pioneer in dash screen, good driver mod.
    I say try adding a relay and see what it does, It wont hurt anything.
     
  7. Mar 17, 2010 at 1:52 PM
    #7
    Bradfan04

    Bradfan04 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Member:
    #32657
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brantley
    Dublin, GA.
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD Tacoma Double Cab
    Halo Projector HID Headllights (6000k), HID Fogs (6000K), Dome & Maps LEDs, Looking to do more...
    That is what this thread is about...Im not sure how to hook up a relay for 4 different ballasts. I have seperate highs and lows (it is not 1 bulb) and I also have 2 HID kits (1 for the highs and 1 for the lows).

    To my knowledge (I haven't been able to find one) there isn't a relay that is made for this. All the relay kits I have found are for a single bulb set up (either highs or lows or the hi/low bulb). The relay connects directly to the battery for the + and -, It then connects to the both of the ballasts for the single bulb setup, and finally the last connection of the relay goes to the factory OEM headlight harness (this lets the ballast know when to draw power from battery). The other factory OEM headlight harness remain unplugged....
     
  8. Mar 17, 2010 at 1:53 PM
    #8
    Mellow

    Mellow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Member:
    #4752
    Messages:
    151
    Dallas, TX
    Vehicle:
    08 Ext Cab SR5 4-Cyl Prerunner
    +1 It's worth a shot.
     
  9. Mar 17, 2010 at 2:00 PM
    #9
    Bradfan04

    Bradfan04 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Member:
    #32657
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brantley
    Dublin, GA.
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD Tacoma Double Cab
    Halo Projector HID Headllights (6000k), HID Fogs (6000K), Dome & Maps LEDs, Looking to do more...
    The problem is if i add a relay.....it will only be a relay for either the highs or the lows since I can't find a relay that is made for the seperate bulb setup......and I can't use 2 relays because both relays have to connect to the OEM factory harness....and as you know there is only 1 OEM factory harness per headlight.....that is the problem.
    I was asking to see if anyone has ever run into this problem before and if so what did they do to resolve the issue. I just don't want to run these lights without a harness because it costs alot more to fix the whole electrical system when the factory harness gets fried due to the constant surge in power due to switching between highs and lows over time.
     
  10. Mar 17, 2010 at 2:14 PM
    #10
    Zombie Runner

    Zombie Runner Are these black helicopters for me?

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Member:
    #5246
    Messages:
    15,036
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Wichita Falls, TX
    Vehicle:
    Tundra, double cab.
    LED interior lights, stubby antenna, Pioneer in dash screen, good driver mod.
    are you asking or telling us this. It sounds like you have it down man.
    You need two relays, one for your highs and one for the lows. My relay had one (+) from the batt and two (+) going out, one to each bulb.
     
  11. Mar 17, 2010 at 2:23 PM
    #11
    Bradfan04

    Bradfan04 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Member:
    #32657
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brantley
    Dublin, GA.
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD Tacoma Double Cab
    Halo Projector HID Headllights (6000k), HID Fogs (6000K), Dome & Maps LEDs, Looking to do more...
    Yes i know i need 2 relays...but what I am asking is how to connect 2 relays into 1 factory OEM harness.....Im guessing splice them into the factory harness but im not sure if this will mess up the switch that changes between the highs and lows since both are connected into one harness.
    The other factory OEM harness is left unplugged due to it not needing to be in the circuit anywhere....
     
  12. Mar 17, 2010 at 2:48 PM
    #12
    Mellow

    Mellow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Member:
    #4752
    Messages:
    151
    Dallas, TX
    Vehicle:
    08 Ext Cab SR5 4-Cyl Prerunner
    Heck, you could even use 4 relays if you wanted to.

    I would try and find a male connector for the factory headlight connector so you could splice into that and it's an easy plug in connection if you ever want to remove the lights.

    It would be nice to see a pic of how you have everything currently wired.
     
  13. Mar 17, 2010 at 3:52 PM
    #13
    Bradfan04

    Bradfan04 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Member:
    #32657
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brantley
    Dublin, GA.
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD Tacoma Double Cab
    Halo Projector HID Headllights (6000k), HID Fogs (6000K), Dome & Maps LEDs, Looking to do more...
    OK thanks for the help guys. I'll get two relays and try to splice them together.....it seems to be my only option lol.....
     
To Top