1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

High Beam Indicator not working after LED headlight upgrade

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by JasonLee, Dec 2, 2014.

  1. Dec 2, 2014 at 10:17 PM
    #1
    JasonLee

    JasonLee [OP] Hello? I'm a truck.

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Member:
    #129454
    Messages:
    1,865
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Gold Hill, CO
    Vehicle:
    03 DC TRD 4x4
    OME suspension + Dakar AAL + 265/75R16 BFG KO2 + Snugtop XTR + Tundra brakes
    I just upgraded my headlights with a set from Amazon (New Brights LED Headlight Conversion Kit - 80W 6400LM Cree LED).

    The low and high beams work fine on the headlights themselves, but the high beam indicator on the "combination meter" on the dash does not work anymore.

    I have looked over the FSM wiring manual but can't figure out what is going on that is actually causing the issue.

    I haven't taken a multimeter to the "LG" (light green) Cowl wire (pin #9) to see if it is too low of a voltage or what yet.

    Anyone know what's going on for real? I have read other threads like the "Highbeam dash light not working" but it didn't seem like anyone had an answer other than "ignore it" and "I don't mind not having the blue light on the dash".
     
  2. Dec 2, 2014 at 10:32 PM
    #2
    NightProwler

    NightProwler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Member:
    #116470
    Messages:
    3,362
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Harlan
    Maricopa, Az
    Vehicle:
    '01 Prerunner, '03 cbr600rr, '09 R1
    I had this problem with my retrofit. There is an issue that makes it not work because the harness only plugged into one of the h4 factory plugs and the other was blank. It looks like yours plugs into both right? On mine I had to get a separate little box that plugged into the blank plug to make it work in the dash. So Idk what your issue may be..
     
  3. Dec 2, 2014 at 11:14 PM
    #3
    JasonLee

    JasonLee [OP] Hello? I'm a truck.

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Member:
    #129454
    Messages:
    1,865
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Gold Hill, CO
    Vehicle:
    03 DC TRD 4x4
    OME suspension + Dakar AAL + 265/75R16 BFG KO2 + Snugtop XTR + Tundra brakes
    I have a feeling that the LED Driver unit is not putting enough load on the high beam circuit to cause the light green cowl wire to be the correct voltage to illuminate the blue dash light.

    The LED driver unit does plug into all three spades on the OEM headlight male connector (Otherwise, it wouldn't know when to turn on the second LED for the high beam).

    I just spliced together the wiring diagram specific to my truck (Auto, 5VZ, Cruise, No DRL, 2-4 selector shifter) and removed the cruft for other trucks (DRL, 4cyl, J-stick).
    Here's a small version which you can click on for the HUGE version.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Dec 8, 2014 at 3:39 PM
    #4
    JasonLee

    JasonLee [OP] Hello? I'm a truck.

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Member:
    #129454
    Messages:
    1,865
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Gold Hill, CO
    Vehicle:
    03 DC TRD 4x4
    OME suspension + Dakar AAL + 265/75R16 BFG KO2 + Snugtop XTR + Tundra brakes
    Today, I noticed that the LED headlights also prevent the truck from automatically shutting off the headlights (when left on) when a door opens.

    Now I'm annoyed. I do not want to put load resisters all over the truck to waste power.
     
  5. Dec 9, 2014 at 9:19 AM
    #5
    stikle

    stikle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Member:
    #102916
    Messages:
    1,198
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Seth
    The Sovereign State of Eastern Oregon
    Vehicle:
    1997 LX Xtracab 4x4 V6 3.4L
    Eh, see my Build Thread sig link. Too many mods to list.
    I had to get something like this after I upgraded to HIDs in order to get my high beam indicator to work again. Just plug it in the passenger H4 connector and good to go.
     
  6. Dec 9, 2014 at 11:01 AM
    #6
    NightProwler

    NightProwler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Member:
    #116470
    Messages:
    3,362
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Harlan
    Maricopa, Az
    Vehicle:
    '01 Prerunner, '03 cbr600rr, '09 R1
    Yeah that's what I got! But he's got the led kit, which plugs into both connectors. Probly an amperage/voltage issue or some bullshit. OP I would suggest posting your question in this thread and see if anyone else has had the same problem..
    http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/lighting/304598-lifetime-led-headlights-29.html
     
  7. Nov 29, 2015 at 2:15 PM
    #7
    zoblo

    zoblo Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Member:
    #126850
    Messages:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    03 extra cab trd v6
    Did you ever get any resolution on this issue? I just installed the Philips H412953BWX2 LEDs in my 2003 tacoma. They work great but the high beam indicator light doesn't work now nor do the lights auto shut off anymore when you get out of the truck. I put the original halogen light back in the passenger side and the high beam indicator light works. So must be a resistance thing.
     
  8. Nov 29, 2015 at 5:50 PM
    #8
    JasonLee

    JasonLee [OP] Hello? I'm a truck.

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Member:
    #129454
    Messages:
    1,865
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Gold Hill, CO
    Vehicle:
    03 DC TRD 4x4
    OME suspension + Dakar AAL + 265/75R16 BFG KO2 + Snugtop XTR + Tundra brakes
    No, I returned the lights. In my opinion, they were unsafe and hazerderus to use on or off-road. People were flashing me thinking my brights were on, but in my perception the width of the thrown beam was so narrow I could barely see anything that wasn't straight in front of me. Hopefully your Philips are better - it has been a year, so I wouldn't be surprised if aftermarket LED headlights are decent now.
     
  9. Nov 30, 2015 at 7:26 AM
    #9
    zoblo

    zoblo Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Member:
    #126850
    Messages:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    03 extra cab trd v6
    HI Jason: thanks for the reply. Will continue to search out a fix. Will try some resistors. But these new philips led lights are nice. have the same pattern as the Piaa xtreme white halogens that I had in before with nice cutoff. Either they put out more light or its a much whiter light (6000K) and can see better especially off to the side. Got flashed a couple of times but them I realized I had them on high beam. No problem with low beams. Will post when I get a fix for the high beam indicator light.
     
  10. Nov 30, 2015 at 9:49 AM
    #10
    pofarm

    pofarm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Member:
    #167117
    Messages:
    271
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Greg
    SW MO
    Vehicle:
    1996 Taco
    The high beam indicator gets power through the headlight. The LED lights won't complete the circuit. You would have to add a small light bulb or resistor between the red/white and red/green left headlight wires or red/blue and red/green right headlight wires. I have no idea what size resistor you would have to use. I did the wiring upgrade with relays on mine. The indicator light gets it's power through the relay coil instead of the headlights now. It works, but is dimmer than it was. I didn't run into this problem when I upgraded the wiring on my old Dodge truck because the headlights weren't needed to complete the circuit.
     
  11. Dec 1, 2015 at 1:41 AM
    #11
    ThunderOne

    ThunderOne Average Contributor

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Member:
    #17473
    Messages:
    7,760
    First Name:
    Mitchell
    Nashville
    Vehicle:
    1ST GEN OR GTFO
    PlastiDERP
    Get the module mentioned above your post.
     
  12. Dec 8, 2015 at 11:59 AM
    #12
    zoblo

    zoblo Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Member:
    #126850
    Messages:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    03 extra cab trd v6
    Well, I finally got back to this on my 2003 tacoma. I bought one H4 Led load resistor from superbrightleds and installed it inline on the passenger side headlight. Seemed to do the trick. The high beam indicator works again along with the lights automatically turning off if you take the key out or close the door with the lights on.

    [​IMG]
     
    Coma Rookie likes this.
  13. Jan 15, 2016 at 10:05 AM
    #13
    frizzman

    frizzman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Member:
    #113212
    Messages:
    4,001
    Gender:
    Male
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Vehicle:
    04 XCab 4x4 TRD/OR
    OME 3", Tundra 17's, Cooper S/T Maxx 255/75-17, hitch w/ 7-pin, Leer cap, JVC head unit w/BT, LED lights
    LEDs use both plugs so that module wouldn't work as it's not "in-line" (unless you see one that I don't from that link)

    @zoblo did you just use one of these or had to get the pair? I see you said "one" but want to make sure. and also how it's holding up? ;)
     
  14. Jan 16, 2016 at 6:13 AM
    #14
    Sicyota04

    Sicyota04 Slowly but surely.

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015
    Member:
    #145940
    Messages:
    2,747
    Gender:
    Male
    NorCal
    Vehicle:
    04 Tacoma DCSB TRD 4x4 V6
    Icon 2.5 Ext. travel coil overs, Camburg UCA's, rear Icon smooth body 0-3" VS 2.0's and a 2" AAL. Custom color matched retrofit HID 4.0 d2s projectors, dual switchback halos w/ RGB Demon eyes. Deck plate mod. Flow master 40 series. 4D optic 22" light bar & 4D optic Pods. 16x8 Method double standards w/ machined lip, wrapped w/ BFG KO2's. Steel grill insert by DB Customz. TG Front & Rear bumpers and sliders. Tundra Brake Upgrade. Complete Interior LED Swap.
    I have retrofits that don't show the high beam indicator light when my high beams are but it's pretty easy to tell. If the headlight switch is flipped forward your high beams are on if it is in the original spot they're not. Plus oncoming driver's will let you know!
     
  15. Jan 16, 2016 at 7:30 AM
    #15
    zoblo

    zoblo Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Member:
    #126850
    Messages:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    03 extra cab trd v6
    Frizzman: I just needed one and put in on the passenger side. when you go to superbrightleds webpage look under motorcycles for the h4 led load resistor then only a quantity of one shows up. When you look for the h4 led load resistor under vehicles it comes up with a quantity of 2. It's working great so far.
     
  16. Jan 16, 2016 at 1:24 PM
    #16
    frizzman

    frizzman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Member:
    #113212
    Messages:
    4,001
    Gender:
    Male
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Vehicle:
    04 XCab 4x4 TRD/OR
    OME 3", Tundra 17's, Cooper S/T Maxx 255/75-17, hitch w/ 7-pin, Leer cap, JVC head unit w/BT, LED lights
    werd! I'm ordering bulbs anyway so just going to tack this on :)
     
  17. Jan 16, 2016 at 2:24 PM
    #17
    MindFork

    MindFork Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Member:
    #164432
    Messages:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    PNW
    Vehicle:
    99 Xcab V6 4x4 TRD
  18. Jan 16, 2016 at 4:17 PM
    #18
    frizzman

    frizzman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Member:
    #113212
    Messages:
    4,001
    Gender:
    Male
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Vehicle:
    04 XCab 4x4 TRD/OR
    OME 3", Tundra 17's, Cooper S/T Maxx 255/75-17, hitch w/ 7-pin, Leer cap, JVC head unit w/BT, LED lights
    it should. believe it was mentioned in another thread as well. since the HID uses just the driver side something needs to fill the passenger side to tell the ECM that it's working.
     
    MindFork likes this.
  19. Jan 16, 2016 at 4:43 PM
    #19
    Snowman

    Snowman I have a problem for your solutionÂ…

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Member:
    #42917
    Messages:
    3,124
    First Name:
    Craig
    Somewhere in Canada
    Vehicle:
    Check out my build
    @MindFork @frizzman
    I have that module and my high beam indicator still doesn't work with my HID retrofit. I tried everything. Homemade resistors in the passenger side plug, ebay module, even replaced the high beam indicator bulb in the cluster. I've given up.
    Wierdest part is when I first did the retro the indicator worked but now it doesn't work at all.
     
    MindFork likes this.
  20. Jan 16, 2016 at 7:11 PM
    #20
    MindFork

    MindFork Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Member:
    #164432
    Messages:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    PNW
    Vehicle:
    99 Xcab V6 4x4 TRD
    @Snowman Well darn. I guess I'll have to live without the indicator.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top