1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

High idle after cleaning throttle

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by AKTacoma, Jul 28, 2010.

  1. Jul 28, 2010 at 8:03 PM
    #1
    AKTacoma

    AKTacoma [OP] Dedicated Crew Chief

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Member:
    #38279
    Messages:
    374
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Houma, Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma DCLB
    After cleaning the carbon out of my throttle, my idle has been a good bit higher. At first, I started it up and no matter what I did it wouldn't drop below like 1900 rpm even after the engine was at operating temp and driving it around for a while. I shut it off and started it again and drove it, the idle stayed up at like 1500 rpm. Before I cleaned it the idle was steady at like 850 to 950. The throttle cable doesn't look like it has any slack in it and the throttle is completely closed when the cable is relaxed. What should I do??
     
  2. Jul 28, 2010 at 8:04 PM
    #2
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,156
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Did you unplug the battery when you cleaned it?
     
  3. Jul 28, 2010 at 8:33 PM
    #3
    AKTacoma

    AKTacoma [OP] Dedicated Crew Chief

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Member:
    #38279
    Messages:
    374
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Houma, Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma DCLB
    no I didn't, should I have?
     
  4. Jul 28, 2010 at 8:34 PM
    #4
    747

    747 function > form

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Member:
    #4465
    Messages:
    3,000
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    1st Gen.
    x2 on the battery...try unplugging it now (let it sit for a minute or two, then plug it back in).
     
  5. Jul 28, 2010 at 8:36 PM
    #5
    AKTacoma

    AKTacoma [OP] Dedicated Crew Chief

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Member:
    #38279
    Messages:
    374
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Houma, Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma DCLB
    disconnect just the negative or both?
     
  6. Jul 28, 2010 at 8:38 PM
    #6
    747

    747 function > form

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Member:
    #4465
    Messages:
    3,000
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    1st Gen.
    Just negative should do it (you're just breaking the circuit and letting your computer reset).
     
  7. Jul 28, 2010 at 8:42 PM
    #7
    AKTacoma

    AKTacoma [OP] Dedicated Crew Chief

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Member:
    #38279
    Messages:
    374
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Houma, Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma DCLB
    Aha, CRAP I'm retarded.. that's like the first thing you do when you clean the throttle. I should know these kids of things, being an AF aircraft mechanic, kill power before doing stuff like this.
     
  8. Jul 28, 2010 at 9:21 PM
    #8
    AKTacoma

    AKTacoma [OP] Dedicated Crew Chief

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Member:
    #38279
    Messages:
    374
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Houma, Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma DCLB
    Well i disconnected the battery for a few minutes then tried it, but its still idling at 1400rpm...
     
  9. Jul 28, 2010 at 9:42 PM
    #9
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,156
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Make sure you didnt bump a vacuum line, causing it to become disconected. Also re check all connections.
     
  10. Jul 28, 2010 at 9:50 PM
    #10
    AKTacoma

    AKTacoma [OP] Dedicated Crew Chief

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Member:
    #38279
    Messages:
    374
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Houma, Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma DCLB
    rog. could it be caused by a bad gasket for the MAF?
     
  11. Jul 28, 2010 at 10:02 PM
    #11
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,156
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Any air leak could cause it.
     
  12. Jul 28, 2010 at 10:10 PM
    #12
    AKTacoma

    AKTacoma [OP] Dedicated Crew Chief

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Member:
    #38279
    Messages:
    374
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Houma, Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma DCLB
    ohh ok, I'll take a look and see if i missed anything. I was redoing an air duct that they guy who had my truck before me did. He had the duct that ran down the front right fender from the air box, but didn't really have it connected to the air box. So I took it all out, put 3" ducting and hose clamped it all together. I might not have connected something tight enough when I put the air box back in and everything else I took off.
     
  13. Jul 28, 2010 at 11:05 PM
    #13
    Digiratus

    Digiratus Adventurer

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Member:
    #34006
    Messages:
    13,734
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Roaming the PNW
    Vehicle:
    The RedHead
    2002 XtraCab TRD 4x4 Auto Trans With Lots of Mods King Extended Travel COs Camburg Uniball UCAs Alcan Custom 8-Leaf Rear Spring Packs Fox 2.0 Resi Rear Shocks FrankenFab Rear Shock Relocate All-Pro U-bolt Flip w/Timbren bumps Toytec 1" Extended Shackle 4.88 Nitro Gears ARB Front Locker ARB Twin Compressor 15x8 D Window Steelies 33" BFG KM2s Limited Edition Relentless Front Bumper Smittybilt X2O 10K Winch Rugged Ridge 3" LED Pods w/Amber covers Mini D2S Projectors XB35 Ballasts + 4500K Bulbs Badland Sliders FrankenFab Tire Carrier Swingout bumper w/kitchen BudBuilt Front & Bellypan Skids BAMF Rear Diff Skid Whynter 65 qt. Fridge/Freezer CVT Mt Bachelor RTT Badland Custom Bed Rack GM 140 amp alternator Dual Northstar 24F AGM batteries BlueSea 7622 ML-ACR Battery controller Peak DBI Dual Battery Voltage Monitor Magnaflow 18" Muffler Braided Steel Brake Lines AFE Pro Dry S air filter ScanGauge II OBDII Scanner Kenwood TM-71A Dual Band Ham Radio Larson 70CM/2M Antenna Uniden 520xl CB radio 3' Firestik Adjustable tip antenna Pioneer DEH-P9400BH HU Alpine Amps & Type R components (F) and coaxials (R) Wet Okole Seat Covers Weathertech Digital Liners Deck Plate Mod 1" Diff Drop Carrier Bearing Drop
    Back in the day, on my first Tacoma (it was a '98) I recall that to reset the computer I had to remove power for something like 15-20 minutes. A brief disconnect/reconnect wasn't enough to do more than loose the presets on the radio.

    It is very possible to I am incorrectly remembering. I have not tested this on my '02.
     
  14. Jul 28, 2010 at 11:07 PM
    #14
    AKTacoma

    AKTacoma [OP] Dedicated Crew Chief

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Member:
    #38279
    Messages:
    374
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Houma, Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma DCLB
    I thought that could be a possibility too, so I'm just leaving it disconnected tonight and giving it a shot along with double checking all my lines and connections in the morning.
     
  15. Jul 29, 2010 at 4:46 PM
    #15
    AKTacoma

    AKTacoma [OP] Dedicated Crew Chief

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Member:
    #38279
    Messages:
    374
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Houma, Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma DCLB
    well I gave it all a shot, couldn't find any lines loose or anything, had the battery disconnected all night, and its still idling higher at 1250rpm, but when the A/C is on, it drops down to just a little over 1000rpm.. I'm at a loss as to what to do. Could it be from connecting the air duct in the fender to the air box? I've had that hole to the side in the air box plugged for about as long as I've owned the truck, and it hadn't idled like this before.
     
  16. Jul 29, 2010 at 5:00 PM
    #16
    747

    747 function > form

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Member:
    #4465
    Messages:
    3,000
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    1st Gen.
    When you cleaned your throttle body, did you break/remove the gasket between the throttle body housing and the engine block?
     
  17. Jul 29, 2010 at 5:02 PM
    #17
    AKTacoma

    AKTacoma [OP] Dedicated Crew Chief

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Member:
    #38279
    Messages:
    374
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Houma, Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma DCLB
    not that I know of, all I did was take off the intake duct then sprayed the cleaner in it and scrubbed it with a toothbrush, then wiped it our with a towel. I didn't take off anything other than that.
     
  18. Jul 29, 2010 at 5:18 PM
    #18
    TanSR5x4

    TanSR5x4 Hold my beer and watch this

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Member:
    #40669
    Messages:
    996
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    William
    Houston TX
    Vehicle:
    00 Tacoma SR5 4x4
    Deckplate mod, black KC slimlight fogs, hurculined bed, NRA sticker mod, painted rear chrome bumper black, black fender flares and front grill surround, HIDs, All-pro rear leafs and UCAs, Eibach coilovers, billys all around, flat black pro comps, 31x10.5x15 BFG KM2s
    i did this like last week and the same thing happened to me and damn i was nervous. it was idling super high and the check engine light was on. i just kept running on it and after i put some miles on it and turned it on and off like 3 or 4 times it just went away
     
  19. Jul 29, 2010 at 6:54 PM
    #19
    SunDevilTacoma

    SunDevilTacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Member:
    #27588
    Messages:
    387
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Doug
    Gilbert, AZ
    Vehicle:
    04 Wht Double Cab PreRunner
    Turn signal relocation, built in fog light conversion, 4" deck plate
    Mine ran higher back in April when I cleaned the throttle, but it settled down after a few days. I figured it was Seafoam residue that just needed to go away.
     
  20. Jul 29, 2010 at 7:00 PM
    #20
    03coma

    03coma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Member:
    #203
    Messages:
    617
    Gender:
    Male
    New Jersey
    Vehicle:
    2015 DCSB TRD, SR5
    Toyota TRD Pro Grille, Skid Plate, ARE Series II Lid,
    After cleaning the throttle body, you need to rev up the rmp's and then drive it for aprox 1 to 2 miles try to give it gas, the computer has to reset itself.
     
To Top