1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

High Idle!?!?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by betz.steven, Dec 29, 2008.

  1. Dec 29, 2008 at 7:03 PM
    #1
    betz.steven

    betz.steven [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Member:
    #10552
    Messages:
    365
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Southern NJ
    Vehicle:
    2011 TE 4Runner
    so my truck is idling at about 1200 rpms, constant. when i put it in drive or reverse it drops to about 750. the truck usually idles at 750. the only thing i can think that may have caused it is i just changed the ground cable from the terminal to the frame to a 4awg wire. (installing amps) when i finished and reconnected everything it idles high.? anyone know what may have caused this? maybe a computer reset or something? i had the batt disconnected for about two hours.
     
  2. Dec 29, 2008 at 7:04 PM
    #2
    Khaos

    Khaos Big Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Member:
    #4570
    Messages:
    6,495
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bryant
    Tallahassee FL
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prerunner TRD Off Road
    265/75/16 BFG A/T, 18" Magnaflow, K&N Intake Filter, Ultra-Gauge, Kobalt Toolbox, Metal Tail Light Guards, Cobra 19 and 4ft fiberglass antenna, Plasti dipped Badges/lower valance/rear bumper/grill/bullbar/ac controls, black DIN kit, JVC KD-X40, Wet Suit Seat Covers
    My trucks the same way.
     
  3. Dec 29, 2008 at 7:05 PM
    #3
    betz.steven

    betz.steven [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Member:
    #10552
    Messages:
    365
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Southern NJ
    Vehicle:
    2011 TE 4Runner
    has it always been that way? mine just started doing it the first start after changing the ground wire
     
  4. Dec 29, 2008 at 7:12 PM
    #4
    jeremy_283

    jeremy_283 Super Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Member:
    #11569
    Messages:
    1,435
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad Access Cab 4x4 Auto 4.0L
    Hella Rallye 4000 Cornering Lights PIAA 510 Fog Lights All Pro Front Bumper All Pro Rear Bumper All Pro Transfer Case Skid All Pro IFS Skid All Pro Rock Sliders All Pro High Clearance Hitch OME Dakar Leaf Springs OME Rear Shocks OME Front Shocks OME 885 Front Coils Wet Okole Seat Covers WeatherTech Floor Liners Sony Head Unit JL XD600/1 Amp 2 JL Audio 10” Subwoofers Custom Subwoofer Enclosure Kenwood Front Speakers Sony Rear Speakers Sound Deadening Mats LED Interior Lighting Pop N’ Lock Tailgate Lock Viper Alarm System Extra D-Rings In Truck Bed Maglite Seat Mount Disable Seatbelt Chime Rear Differential Breather Relocation Hi-Lift Bed Mount Flexible Front Mud Flaps 110v Inverter Always At 400w ABS Kill Switch Locking Center Console Removed Sway Bar
    i think your a liar........lol, j/k.... dont worry, mines that way too... i thought somthing was wrong too... lol... but then i thought about it.... your good
     
  5. Dec 29, 2008 at 7:16 PM
    #5
    betz.steven

    betz.steven [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Member:
    #10552
    Messages:
    365
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Southern NJ
    Vehicle:
    2011 TE 4Runner
    the only reason i have concern is because it just changed, i just want to make sure i didnt fry something in the process of changing the wire, or some how mess something up in the computer.
     
  6. Dec 29, 2008 at 7:33 PM
    #6
    tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Enforcer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '16 Tundra TRD Pro
    getting there....
    i wouldnt worry about it. all tacomas idle high and quick til they get the engine operating temps up to par. helps warm the engine up a lil quicker.
     
  7. Dec 29, 2008 at 9:06 PM
    #7
    br217398

    br217398 Crazy Person.....

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Member:
    #7920
    Messages:
    478
    Gender:
    Male
    Orlando Florida
    Vehicle:
    06 Tundra Crew Cab 4WD
    Hornblasters horns,Strobe lights,Police Undercover Vehicle, Volent Ram air system, pro comp POS AAL, biltein all around, step bars.
    ^^^ beat me to it.... its normal
     
  8. Dec 29, 2008 at 9:57 PM
    #8
    Lentsnh

    Lentsnh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Member:
    #10953
    Messages:
    9,547
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2007 Hummer H3 Tactical Edition
    None yet- Future: HIDs, Tinted tails, LED interior lights,
    Yeah exactly what Tacomaman was saying, my truck does it and its Perfectly normal, when you drop it into gear the computer figures out that you are about to go somewhere so it drops its idle revs
     
To Top