1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

hole in firewall

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by hamsterhater, Jan 11, 2012.

  1. Jan 11, 2012 at 3:23 PM
    #1
    hamsterhater

    hamsterhater [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Member:
    #68105
    Messages:
    181
    Gender:
    Male
    long island
    Vehicle:
    11' dc mag grey taco
    level kit- exhaust -cai n-fab light bar-4 piaa 6"new hood w/scoop
    bought piaa lights and havent looked yet but does anybody know a good place to come through firewall to hook up switches :eek:
     
  2. Jan 11, 2012 at 3:30 PM
    #2
    t4daddy

    t4daddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Member:
    #39041
    Messages:
    5,978
    Gender:
    Male
    North Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2008 PreRunner Double Cab
    There is a wire grommet beside the steering column, easy peasy. I assume your switches are going on the left of the wheel?
     
  3. Jan 11, 2012 at 5:06 PM
    #3
    hamsterhater

    hamsterhater [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Member:
    #68105
    Messages:
    181
    Gender:
    Male
    long island
    Vehicle:
    11' dc mag grey taco
    level kit- exhaust -cai n-fab light bar-4 piaa 6"new hood w/scoop
    yes they are .thanks , i just never really looked so i figured i'd ask. thanks:D
     
  4. Jan 11, 2012 at 5:11 PM
    #4
    t4daddy

    t4daddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Member:
    #39041
    Messages:
    5,978
    Gender:
    Male
    North Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2008 PreRunner Double Cab
    I just tape the wire to a coat hanger (straightened out of course) and thread it through, the fuse panel is right there as well.
     
  5. Mar 12, 2012 at 11:01 PM
    #5
    ETAV8R

    ETAV8R 4th MAW

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Member:
    #4832
    Messages:
    1,568
    Gender:
    Male
    Republik of Kalifornia
    Vehicle:
    MGM 09 AC 4WD V6 TRD-OR w/ 2013 FWC Finch
    Grillcraft, Demello Sliders, Bilstein front and rear with OME coils and springs, Wheelers Bumpstops front and rear
    Not trying to hijack but rather get some help...

    I got some KC's and am having the worst trouble trying to get the wires through the firewall. On another thread there is mention of the little nipple on the bottom of the big rubber grommet. Getting the hanger through there is no problem...but the hook ups for the internal switch just pull right off the hanger. I have tried this about six times taped in various ways. No joy. What is the trick?

    Having gone through the small tube below the grommet makes me think going through the main loom section or hood release are impossible.
     
  6. Mar 12, 2012 at 11:11 PM
    #6
    Toy Yoda

    Toy Yoda gotta make sure Youtube comes down to tape this

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Member:
    #54800
    Messages:
    1,876
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Garrett
    Vehicle:
    06 DCLB
    OME, ARB, Warn, Snugtop XV
    try using a fish tape
     
To Top