1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Hooking KC lites into stock fog light harness

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by jfmiklas, Sep 18, 2011.

  1. Sep 18, 2011 at 7:23 AM
    #1
    jfmiklas

    jfmiklas [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Member:
    #63698
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    New London, Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma
    I have a 2010 Tacoma and want to hook KC lites into my existing factory fog light harness. Is this possible and what else do I need to complete this endeavor.
     
  2. Sep 18, 2011 at 7:25 AM
    #2
    johnw

    johnw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Member:
    #17381
    Messages:
    7,181
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    john
    orlando florida
    Vehicle:
    06 prerunner v-6 4.0L 4 door
    well you asked for specs..... 06 trd sport speedway blue V-6 4.0 camburg lift spindles extended travel icons total chaos lowers allpro 4" leaf pack 17" xd hoss rims 305/65/17 mickey thompson baja atz Allpro hybrid bumper with 3 kragen HID lights color matched headlights grill craft grill AFE stage 3 CAI wicked flow muffler under cover bed cap inside i have..... wet okole real tree camo seat cover blue oznium dome light stealth sub box with 2 10" kicker comp subs kicker 400 watt amp weathertech floor mats
    do you have the stock fog lights?
     
  3. Sep 20, 2011 at 5:43 AM
    #3
    jfmiklas

    jfmiklas [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Member:
    #63698
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    New London, Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma
    I was going to leave the stock fog lights and tap into the wire harness. The KC lites are going to be mounted on a bull guard.
     
  4. Sep 20, 2011 at 6:22 AM
    #4
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,837
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    You shouldn't have the KC's drawing power from the fog lights, that's too much draw for the circuit and you'll probably end up blowing a fuse. Just wire them separately with their own in-line fuse. Also, some states prohibit you from having more than 4 lights on at any given time meaning having them draw from the fog lights would be illegal anyways (depending on the state of course).
     
  5. Sep 20, 2011 at 8:01 AM
    #5
    joes06tacoma

    joes06tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Member:
    #28588
    Messages:
    3,056
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Central Coast, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 Off Road Access Cab v6 6spd
    LEER Shell with dome lights operated with 3 way switches, aux backup lights with relay and 3 position switch, modified wiring to compass/temp display and clock to include switch that disables dimming function (poor man's DRL solution), Scan Gauge 2
    x2

    But there is no reason you can't tap the factory fog harness just to activate a relay for the KCs. That way you don't need a new switch and won't need to run wires into the cab.
     
  6. Dec 11, 2011 at 9:27 AM
    #6
    halfway72

    halfway72 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Member:
    #62230
    Messages:
    288
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Northern Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2011 TRD SPORT LB
    Cosmetic stuff.... best part HomerTaco Raptor Grille. Need to get a lift, armor and lockers.
    But there is no reason you can't tap the factory fog harness just to activate a relay for the KCs. That way you don't need a new switch and won't need to run wires into the cab.[/QUOTE]


    And how would you go about doing that? Just with one of those little clip guys that splices the wires together?
     
  7. Dec 11, 2011 at 9:32 AM
    #7
    joes06tacoma

    joes06tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Member:
    #28588
    Messages:
    3,056
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Central Coast, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 Off Road Access Cab v6 6spd
    LEER Shell with dome lights operated with 3 way switches, aux backup lights with relay and 3 position switch, modified wiring to compass/temp display and clock to include switch that disables dimming function (poor man's DRL solution), Scan Gauge 2

    And how would you go about doing that? Just with one of those little clip guys that splices the wires together?[/QUOTE]

    Yep, just use a "t-tap" for the wire going to the relay's coil. It would be better to find a waterproof connector, but I have used a large amount of 3M electrical tape with good results. I have taken the tape off years later and found the connection in good shape.
     
To Top