1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Hooking up ipod classic

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Djg21, Jul 31, 2014.

  1. Jul 31, 2014 at 7:36 PM
    #1
    Djg21

    Djg21 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Member:
    #130521
    Messages:
    45
    Gender:
    Male
    I just brought home a new Taco last evening, and I'm still working my way through the manuals. Hope someone can help me with some simple (I hope) iPod connection questions.

    I have the entune head unit with Nav & JBL.

    I want to hook up my old 160gb IPod Classic (6th gen I think). I have the cable/adapter I used to hook up the iPod with in my old BMW. It has the iPod adapter on one end, and both an Aux plug and USB plug on the other.

    I had thought this plug/adapter would work. When it is installed, I can play the Pod through the Aux port and, it charges via USB. But i can't control it with the head unit, and the head unit doesn't display track info.

    First, was I right to assume I'd be able to control the iPod through the head unit and display track info?

    Second, what cable is necessary. At this point, i assume i should be using just a USB cable? Is there a particular one that works well, or will the generic Apple cable work?

    Anyone come up with any ideas about stashing the ipod away? In my old car, it stashed in the center console. In my wife's audi, the plugs for the iPod are in the glovebox. I am sort of OCD about having wires all over the cab of my vehicle.

    Are there any ways to do more of a hidden install?
     
  2. Jul 31, 2014 at 7:41 PM
    #2
    TurdTaco13

    TurdTaco13 cuz my life is dope and I do dope shit

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Member:
    #122415
    Messages:
    296
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Abq
    Vehicle:
    '13 TRD Sport 4x4
    6" BDS Lift, 18x9 XD Addicts, 35x12.5 Trail Grapplers, Aero Turbine 2525 muffler with turndown after the axle, AFE Stage 2 CAI
    Dude, just plug the iPod into the USB port. That's what it's there for. That gives you full iPod control through the head unit itself. The standard white USB cable that came with your iPod works just fine.

    As for where to stash it, mine is sitting in the weird little pocket thingee to the right of the steering wheel.
     
  3. Jul 31, 2014 at 7:43 PM
    #3
    shaneckc

    shaneckc Fyntünd Designs

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Member:
    #39362
    Messages:
    960
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Shane
    Thousand Oaks, CA
    Vehicle:
    2014 SR Package DCLB 4x4
    this.

    why would you not use the factory usb location with a standard apple dock cable?
     
  4. Jul 31, 2014 at 7:58 PM
    #4
    Djg21

    Djg21 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Member:
    #130521
    Messages:
    45
    Gender:
    Male
    The current cable i have, pilfered from my old BMW, wont allow the iPod to play unless through the Aux port. Wasn't sure if it was just a problem with the BMW cable, and I don't think I even have the oem white cable to try. I'll drop by the apple store tomorrow and buy a cable.
     
  5. Jul 31, 2014 at 8:51 PM
    #5
    North222

    North222 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Member:
    #122307
    Messages:
    130
    Gender:
    Male
    Is your Ipod bluetooth compatible? If so, you can connect that way as well.
     
  6. Aug 1, 2014 at 3:46 AM
    #6
    Djg21

    Djg21 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Member:
    #130521
    Messages:
    45
    Gender:
    Male
    Not BT
     
  7. Aug 1, 2014 at 8:02 AM
    #7
    Djg21

    Djg21 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Member:
    #130521
    Messages:
    45
    Gender:
    Male
    It works with the Apple OEM cord. I do wish there was a USB port in the center console or glove box. I hate wires hanging from my dash. That's my issue though, and I'll have to get over it.

    Thanks.
     
  8. Aug 1, 2014 at 11:21 AM
    #8
    whiting1977

    whiting1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2014
    Member:
    #127682
    Messages:
    88
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Sacramento CA
    Vehicle:
    2014 SR5 PreRunner
    Not your issue alone. I hate it too! If anyone comes up with a solution I would sure love to hear it.
     
  9. Aug 1, 2014 at 2:58 PM
    #9
    Djg21

    Djg21 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Member:
    #130521
    Messages:
    45
    Gender:
    Male
    My audio installer just told I can purchase a USB port from Radio Shack and he can install it in the glovebox or next to the steering wheel (next to the little storage bin) pretty easily. It might render the one on the dash unusable however.
     
  10. Aug 19, 2014 at 11:30 AM
    #10
    BBHTT

    BBHTT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Member:
    #136277
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    So Fla
    Vehicle:
    2014 AC PreRunner V6
    New Guy on the Forum here...

    I just traded in my 15 year old 2000 Tacoma PreRunner in for a new 2014 Tacoma PreRunner AC. Boy, is it bigger ! I figure the 2nd Gen Tacomas are about as large as the 1st Gen Tundras. Anyway, I love the improvements in electronics tech, but It doesn't recognize my old iPod Photo thru the USB port. It plays it thru the headset adapter to the aux port just fine, but obviously I'd like the control associated with the USB port.

    Any ideas?
     
  11. Aug 19, 2014 at 1:22 PM
    #11
    adrenalnjunky

    adrenalnjunky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Member:
    #135728
    Messages:
    689
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    West Monroe, Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    07 PreRunner SR5 DCSB
    billie 5100's front @ .85"
    sounds kinda like the OP's issue - are you using the real apple USB cord, or an aftermarket cord? That's what fixed his problem.

    also - might try plugging your ipod into a computer via usb and make sure it is recognized - never know when there might be a problem with the device itself.
     
  12. Aug 19, 2014 at 1:58 PM
    #12
    Aw9d

    Aw9d That one guy

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Member:
    #66635
    Messages:
    12,310
    Gender:
    Male
    Also update the software on your iPod. I've seen some iPods that are not updated and they do not play well with just about anything.
     
  13. Aug 20, 2014 at 4:28 AM
    #13
    Djg21

    Djg21 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Member:
    #130521
    Messages:
    45
    Gender:
    Male
    If you have Entune, check the version number. You may need an update. Mine did when I brought my truck home. Other than that, i just plugged my iPod classic into the usb port. I get an occasional error, but it works pretty well for the most part .
     
To Top