1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

How do all 5 tpms go out?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by 06RedComa, Sep 24, 2020.

  1. Sep 24, 2020 at 2:31 PM
    #1
    06RedComa

    06RedComa [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Member:
    #9715
    Messages:
    805
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 DC Sport
    Kings, Camburg 1.25" UCAs, Dakar leafs, TRD exhaust, Grillcraft grille, All-Pro APEX Bumper, Kenwood DNX6960, Avid Sliders, SnugTop Rebel, 285/75/16 Hankook Dynapro atm
    Took my truck into discount tire since my tpms light was flashing and was told that i needed to replace all 5 sensors for 390. Shouldn't the light start flashing if one goes out and not wait for all 5 to fail? Discount has been more than good to me over the years but this seemed a little fishy. Any explanation or suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thanks
     
    chank and Gunshot-6A like this.
  2. Sep 24, 2020 at 2:34 PM
    #2
    Superhulk LB

    Superhulk LB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2019
    Member:
    #287595
    Messages:
    2,244
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2019 superwhite DCLB off road
    Tonneau cover, Black exhaust tip, blacked out badges and tailgate lettering. Black rhino(glamis)18x9 wheels with +12 offset. LT265/70/18 Toyo Opencountry ATIII. Metaltech 4x4 rock sliders Cali Raised lower grill light bar/mounts TRD Pro Skid, DD Fogs(pro), Ironman 4x4 FC pro lift.
    I have no experience to back any of this up. But I’d get a 2nd opinion. That seems more like a computer issue than all 5 sensors going bad. Whatever the sensors communicate with is more likely the issue.
     
  3. Sep 24, 2020 at 2:39 PM
    #3
    Clearwater Bill

    Clearwater Bill Never answer an anonymous letter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Member:
    #140097
    Messages:
    23,071
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Billy
    Largo Florida
    Vehicle:
    '13 5 lug AC w/convenience package
    A few OE parts from fancy trucks
    As you suspect, didn't happen. (hopefully the main module isn't bad)

    However, when one dies the others won't be far behind. Maybe that's what their proposition was.

    Your truck has 5 sensors, so does the estimate show 5 dismount/mount/balance charges?

    Even if it does, + 5 new sensors, the price seems high to me.
     
  4. Sep 24, 2020 at 2:39 PM
    #4
    StevenP

    StevenP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2019
    Member:
    #297659
    Messages:
    669
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    Alta, Ca
    Vehicle:
    2003 Tacoma DCSB TRD
    Build thread in Signature
    The batteries have a typical life of ~10 years, could be a little more, could be a little less.

    While 5/5 would be something to note, it’s not out of the realm of possibility that that batteries all ran out at roughly the same time.
     
  5. Sep 24, 2020 at 2:42 PM
    #5
    Gunshot-6A

    Gunshot-6A Prime Beef

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Member:
    #28389
    Messages:
    23,339
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Conner
    Everett, WA
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Offroad
    A little upselling, and a little helpful advice mixed together I'd wager.

    I'd guess ones bad, but the others are likely close and you may as well get them all done at the same time. The fact that that suggestion saves you time but nets them 5x the profit doesn't hurt on their side.
     
  6. Sep 24, 2020 at 2:48 PM
    #6
    Clearwater Bill

    Clearwater Bill Never answer an anonymous letter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Member:
    #140097
    Messages:
    23,071
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Billy
    Largo Florida
    Vehicle:
    '13 5 lug AC w/convenience package
    A few OE parts from fancy trucks

    On an '06 can you even tell which unit is bad? Using their registration tool maybe? Thinking if they can't tell, shotgunning will get it done.

    OP, if you will be needing new tires in the next few months, just ignore the light, monitor your pressures and wait till they have them apart for the new mounts.
     
    doublethebass and 06RedComa[OP] like this.
  7. Sep 24, 2020 at 2:51 PM
    #7
    Daria

    Daria Can I pet your dog? Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Member:
    #168578
    Messages:
    28,880
    Dodging tumbleweeds
    Vehicle:
    381 HP dog mover
    Was in discount tire (in Phoenix) last week getting tires mounted and heard the dude quote someone $300 for five new sensors($60 each). That seems a little excessive.
     
    06RedComa[OP] likes this.
  8. Sep 24, 2020 at 2:59 PM
    #8
    06RedComa

    06RedComa [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Member:
    #9715
    Messages:
    805
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 DC Sport
    Kings, Camburg 1.25" UCAs, Dakar leafs, TRD exhaust, Grillcraft grille, All-Pro APEX Bumper, Kenwood DNX6960, Avid Sliders, SnugTop Rebel, 285/75/16 Hankook Dynapro atm
    Thank you everyone, it does make sense that if it's a battery all the rest are shortly behind. Anyone find better pricing at different tire shops?
     
  9. Sep 24, 2020 at 3:07 PM
    #9
    Marshall R

    Marshall R Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Member:
    #156224
    Messages:
    4,398
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marshall
    Vehicle:
    07 White TRD double cab
    none
    Order on Amazon, around $20-$30 each.

    https://www.amazon.com/MOBILETRON-M...37------------&vehicleName=2006+Toyota+Tacoma

    Most tire stores will install for $10-$15 per tire. If you're close to needing new tires just live without them until then. Tire stores will install them at no extra cost when mounting new tires.

    You get better pricing buying 4 at a time, but since you need 5 on this model truck you may need to go this route.

    https://www.amazon.com/X-tra-17-430...37------------&vehicleName=2006+Toyota+Tacoma
     
    06RedComa[OP] and Gunshot-6A like this.
  10. Sep 24, 2020 at 3:12 PM
    #10
    aficianado

    aficianado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Member:
    #25015
    Messages:
    8,149
    Gender:
    Male
    bay area, california
    Vehicle:
    2006 access cab. 4x4, TRD-OR + 2023 TRD off-road.
    back to bone stock.
    i got all five of mine changed at Costco for $40 each, installed.
     
    06RedComa[OP] and Gunshot-6A like this.
  11. Sep 24, 2020 at 3:14 PM
    #11
    Gunshot-6A

    Gunshot-6A Prime Beef

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Member:
    #28389
    Messages:
    23,339
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Conner
    Everett, WA
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Offroad
    This
     
  12. Sep 24, 2020 at 3:27 PM
    #12
    Greenedmc

    Greenedmc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019
    Member:
    #310466
    Messages:
    553
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Daniel
    Elizabethton TN
    Vehicle:
    2014 Silver Tacoma Trd Off Road Access cab
    Also keep in mind if you order off Amazon or eBay you’ll still have to pay a tire store to install and program them.. and if they don’t work that’ll be on you to figure out and possibly have to pay them to do it all over again.. where if you get them thru a tire store it’ll be on them if there’s an issue.
     
    This site contains affiliate links for which the site may be compensated.
    #12
    b_r_o and 06RedComa[OP] like this.
  13. Sep 24, 2020 at 3:30 PM
    #13
    Lester Lugnut

    Lester Lugnut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Member:
    #32477
    Messages:
    2,822
    Gender:
    Male
    N of Mex-S of Canada-E of LA-W of NC
    Vehicle:
    '15 Tacoma PreRunner V6 SR5 Auto
    In my limited TPMS replacement experience, I've found tire shops and Indy garages get a pretty penny for TPMS. An in-law got a set installed at Costco for way less.
    I suppose the question is, how does the quality of the TPMS differ from the more costly places vs. Costco.
     
    06RedComa[QUOTED][OP] likes this.
  14. Sep 24, 2020 at 3:59 PM
    #14
    Edubreuil

    Edubreuil Back in a Jeep

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2019
    Member:
    #296282
    Messages:
    171
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ed
    Cornville, Iowa
    Vehicle:
    2021 Jeep Gladiator Mojave
  15. Sep 24, 2020 at 4:40 PM
    #15
    Lester Lugnut

    Lester Lugnut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Member:
    #32477
    Messages:
    2,822
    Gender:
    Male
    N of Mex-S of Canada-E of LA-W of NC
    Vehicle:
    '15 Tacoma PreRunner V6 SR5 Auto
    Amen to that. Tagged along recently with my step-son during a visit to Discount Tire for new tires. Here he is dropping some pretty decent $$$ for 4 new tires and they wanted to hammer him for 4 new TPMS. During the transaction, it was one up-sell item after another.
    I would never buy anything from these people.
     
  16. Sep 24, 2020 at 4:55 PM
    #16
    M37r1c

    M37r1c Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2020
    Member:
    #327554
    Messages:
    396
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    Vehicle:
    2008 Toyota Tacoma RC 4x4
    I would say check with a tire shop if they can read the codes on the sensors and confirm that the batteries on them have gone bad. If they are bad ebay carries lots of options that could help out. I just bought 4 sensors for 35 bucks as the one in my spare was still good. The local shop here installed and programmed all the sensors for 50 bucks. Usually, shops can tell if it's the sensors that have gone out or the ECU module is bad.
     
    This site contains affiliate links for which the site may be compensated.
    #16
  17. Sep 24, 2020 at 5:13 PM
    #17
    Sxottie

    Sxottie Wrenching is therapy, right??

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Member:
    #319670
    Messages:
    149
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Scott
    Mystic, CT
    Vehicle:
    2021 TRD Sport Double Cab
    Tonneau hard cover, mud guards, yellow fog light tint, redline hood lift kit, remote tailgate lock, bed lights, window tint, invisible bra, TRD wheel cap decals, tailgate letters, blackout badge kit, LED cab lighting kit, bed hooks, red caliper paint.
    Pick up the ATEQ VT36 from Amazon. It will read your sensors and tell you which one or ones are bad.
     
  18. Sep 24, 2020 at 5:24 PM
    #18
    ejl923

    ejl923 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Member:
    #140378
    Messages:
    1,239
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    Western Mass
    Vehicle:
    15 DCSB TRD Off Road
    I had problems in the past at non Toyota dealers reading and diagnosing tpms issues. That’s not to say they can’t. For many years I used the same places without issue. In rare instances , maybe Toyota equipment is necessary. They will charge many tokens for sensors though. Try a new non Toyota shop first
     
  19. Sep 24, 2020 at 5:34 PM
    #19
    IvanhoeTaco

    IvanhoeTaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2019
    Member:
    #301199
    Messages:
    2,364
    Gender:
    Male
    Eastern NC
    Vehicle:
    2005 Supercharged Converted Prerunner
    Total Chaos 3.5 LT, King Coilovers, 35x11.5r17 on Falcon T2, ADV 4 inch fiberglass, 4.88 gears, FJ cruiser transfer case, 4 runner front diff, Cab mount relocate, archive hangers, shackles, king 2.5x14 rear shocks, icon rxt leaf springs, king hydro bumps
    I personally have worked on a 2010 tundra with same issue. Light on, not a single sensor would read with scan tool, replaced all 4 and fixed it. Get a second opinion for sure but dont be surprised if you get the same answer.
     
  20. Sep 25, 2020 at 1:06 AM
    #20
    SliMbo4.0

    SliMbo4.0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Member:
    #172322
    Messages:
    1,422
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    Colorado Front Range
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma DCSB TRD offroad
    BP51, BAMF hangers, BruteForce HC, SCS, Vagabond Drifter
    I would check to make sure your main unit for reading the sensors isn't bad. I had Discount Tire replace 2 of my sensors to only have the dealership tell me the main unit was bad, so it was just a waste of money replacing the sensors. Needless to say my TPMS light is on all the time now. Screw the sensors, use an air gauge.
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2020
To Top