1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

How good is the JBL amp

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by sdheda, Jul 25, 2010.

  1. Jul 25, 2010 at 12:49 PM
    #1
    sdheda

    sdheda [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Member:
    #36798
    Messages:
    216
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sherj
    HB, Ca
    Vehicle:
    '10 TRD OR 4x4 DC
    In progress :/
    I recently purchased a new headunit, and thought that I could just install it and use the stock speakers until I am ready to replace the rest of my system.

    Well, it turns out that since my truck comes with the JBL sound system, I would need to buy a $70 wiring harness (e.g. Metra TYTP-01).

    The problem with this harness is that it will still use the stock JBL amp.

    So, how good is the JBL amp?
     
  2. Jul 25, 2010 at 1:07 PM
    #2
    memario1214

    memario1214 Vivid Illumination Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23628
    Messages:
    13,776
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colton
    Gillette, WY
    Vehicle:
    05 Dub Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Yeah, I gots boost
    So that harness is the only one that would use the jbl amp? I have the jbl system and just ordered a new head unit... I need this then?
     
  3. Jul 25, 2010 at 1:22 PM
    #3
    sdheda

    sdheda [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Member:
    #36798
    Messages:
    216
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sherj
    HB, Ca
    Vehicle:
    '10 TRD OR 4x4 DC
    In progress :/
    There are a few manufacturers that make these. Scosche, Metra, and PAC are a few.
     
  4. Jul 25, 2010 at 2:21 PM
    #4
    ItalynStylion

    ItalynStylion Sounds Gooooood

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18467
    Messages:
    4,866
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    DFW, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Why not measure the stock amp with a DMM? Then you could quantify "how good"
     
  5. Jul 25, 2010 at 4:28 PM
    #5
    sdheda

    sdheda [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Member:
    #36798
    Messages:
    216
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sherj
    HB, Ca
    Vehicle:
    '10 TRD OR 4x4 DC
    In progress :/
    I am guessing you are poking fun at my question since what sounds good to one person, may not be the same for another.

    My initial plan was to use the headunit's amp as a stopgap until I can buy a dedicated amp and upgrade the speakers. I thought that the $7 wiring harness would work and be an expensive solution until I can do that.

    However, now that I would require a $70 wiring harness, I wonder if it would be better if I saved that money and instead put it towards an amp.
     
  6. Jul 25, 2010 at 7:40 PM
    #6
    ItalynStylion

    ItalynStylion Sounds Gooooood

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18467
    Messages:
    4,866
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    DFW, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Not at all. You asked how good it was and I interpreted it as 'how much power?'. I think you could measure the output of the amp with a DMM (digital multi meter).

    However, if you're looking to install a new headunit I would just use it to power everything and bypass the stock amp entirely. It would even be a better move to install the new speakers with the new headunit and THEN decide if they want to spring for a separate amp.

    People always ask me if it's kosher to run aftermarket speakers off an aftermarket headunit or whether they NEED an amp. My answer is always that if they aren't sure they should absolutely run them off the headunit power initially. Worst case scenario they deem the need for the separate amp and they go get one. Best case scenario (and most often) they find they are very happy with the speakers running off headunit power and they save themselves a lot of money, hassle, and storage space. :D
     
  7. Jul 25, 2010 at 8:08 PM
    #7
    sdheda

    sdheda [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Member:
    #36798
    Messages:
    216
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sherj
    HB, Ca
    Vehicle:
    '10 TRD OR 4x4 DC
    In progress :/

    I guess it is something I can try. I was planning on getting the Image Dynamics CTX65CS components for the front and CTX65 for the rears. Do you think that Pioneer AVIC-X920BT will be able to handle this? It is only rated at 14W rms, and 50W peak.
     
  8. Jul 25, 2010 at 8:12 PM
    #8
    ItalynStylion

    ItalynStylion Sounds Gooooood

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18467
    Messages:
    4,866
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    DFW, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    It's not whether the Pioneer amp can handle the speakers but rather do you listen at a level that can't be reached safely on the internal amp. Bottom line is that no matter what speaker you run, when you turn the volume all the way up on the headunit you'll eventually start clipping the crap out of it. If it's "loud enough" before you get to that point then it will be "good enough" for you and you wont need to get an aftermarket amp.

    But IMO it will likely be fine. A sub added into the mix will make things even better. That way you can set the crossover on the main speakers and send all the bass to the sub.
     
To Top