1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

How hard to replace tining belt

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by Mrma, Sep 28, 2010.

1. Sep 28, 2010 at 12:55 AM
    Mrma

Mrma [OP] Member

Member:
    Vehicle:
    03 tacoma
    Hi, new to the board, i have a '03 dbl cab 4x4 with a 3.4l v-6 automatic. Anybody replace the timing belt themselves? Is it difficult??Im not a master mechanic, but I can spin a wrench. Also would it be a good time to go ahead and replace the water pump?? I have 120k on the truck. Any help would be appreciated.

2. Sep 28, 2010 at 1:01 AM
    TacomaDan

TacomaDan Don't go off ninjin

Member:
    First Name:
    Daniel
    Woodland, CA
    Vehicle:
    1996 Toyota Tacoma Fully Not Loaded
    Love, Cobra 29 LTD BT CB w/ A2000 Highgear antenna, FOX/Fabtech Coilovers, Magnaflow
    Ya it is totally feasable for the backyard mechanic. Just make sure you have all the right tools. I did it on my 96. Just followed the haynes manual. When purchasing a timing belt, I got the one from the dealer and it had timing marks on it so you just match those up with the timing marks on the cams and crank and youre good to go!!!

3. Sep 28, 2010 at 1:08 AM
    Mrma

Mrma [OP] Member

Member:
    Vehicle:
    03 tacoma
    Thanks for the info, I think I am going to replace it this week end. I think I will replace the water pump as well.

4. Sep 28, 2010 at 1:21 AM
    TacomaDan

TacomaDan Don't go off ninjin

Member:
    First Name:
    Daniel
    Woodland, CA
    Vehicle:
    1996 Toyota Tacoma Fully Not Loaded
    Love, Cobra 29 LTD BT CB w/ A2000 Highgear antenna, FOX/Fabtech Coilovers, Magnaflow