1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

How is the transmission tsb flash actually done?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Orion, May 13, 2010.

  1. May 13, 2010 at 5:25 AM
    #1
    Orion

    Orion [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Member:
    #34768
    Messages:
    110
    Gender:
    Male
    Rhode Island
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma TRD
    I am curious to know what exactly the dealership does when they complete the transmission tsb? what is the "flash" deal??

    I just had it done two days ago and watched a bit. The guy seemed to do it from inside the drivers side door?

    My truck is better but I have had a couple of times when it seems to downshift when I am gliding for no reason??

    Just want to be sure they did it correctly....don't trust them..

    Thanks
     
  2. May 13, 2010 at 5:27 AM
    #2
    Dark Knight

    Dark Knight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Member:
    #8006
    Messages:
    9,595
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    NC/SC
    Vehicle:
    4Runner Trail
    I would imagine its done through the OBDII port.
     
  3. May 13, 2010 at 5:49 AM
    #3
    keithlandrum

    keithlandrum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Member:
    #24178
    Messages:
    100
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Keith
    Saraland Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2010 chevrolet Z71 4x4
    tint, hid headlights,
    subscribed
     
  4. May 13, 2010 at 5:53 AM
    #4
    blackwatertaco

    blackwatertaco If you ain't stuck, You ain't tryin hard enough.

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Member:
    #29134
    Messages:
    1,986
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jay
    Alvin/Pasadena, Tx
    Vehicle:
    08 taco, 4x4 2.7 5spd.
    One fucked up diff. breather mod, 265/75/16 Destiny Dakota M/T Black gulf states rims BHLM Magnaflow 14" muffler with cut off tail pipe. 10" pioneer slim truck sub with JBL 600W amp. PROJECT BLACK OUT
    x2
     
  5. May 13, 2010 at 5:56 AM
    #5
    Lurkin

    Lurkin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    11,100
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    Definitely done through the OBDII port. They connect a diagnostic PC/laptop to the OBDII port and basically download new data to the computer.
     
  6. May 13, 2010 at 6:23 AM
    #6
    BeefTaco

    BeefTaco WESTern Alliance: NORCAL COAST

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6481
    Messages:
    623
    Gender:
    Male
    Santa Cruz County Ca.
    Yes it is done through the OBD port under drivers side dash a Techstream (see image below) is hooked up and a link is made from the truck to Toyota. A health check is done of all on board computers and it will show any problems, codes or updates. If an update is available then the computers program is updated with new software from Toyota and for our shop this is all done wireless. It can take about 5 to 6 minutes for the update to be downloaded and installed on the trucks computer.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. May 13, 2010 at 6:36 AM
    #7
    Orion

    Orion [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Member:
    #34768
    Messages:
    110
    Gender:
    Male
    Rhode Island
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma TRD

    Great information...

    Pretty hard to screw it up then, right?
     
To Top