1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

How to Drain/Refill Automatic Transmission

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Fortech, Dec 5, 2009.

  1. May 21, 2015 at 2:09 PM
    #501
    Maliciousintent

    Maliciousintent Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Member:
    #103875
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    i got it in temp mode but the thing was flashing. Before I did it went and got a drain pan. Waited a little bit for it to cool but I'm down in Orlando so it didn't cool down enough cause the light was flashing when I put it in temp mode.
     
  2. May 29, 2015 at 9:01 PM
    #502
    Claytor

    Claytor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Member:
    #34164
    Messages:
    137
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jebediah
    TX
    Vehicle:
    2010 4x4 Tiny Tank
    Regeard 4.56 on 35s w/Fox-remote resis. Icon delta UCAs. Relentless Armor-RCI skids-Wilco Tiregate.
    I know the write up says 4-5 quarts. Just wanted to double check that's what others have used as well. It would suck if I realized I didn't have enough after starting this process.

    Thanks fellas
     
  3. Jun 2, 2015 at 10:12 AM
    #503
    Sig45

    Sig45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Member:
    #81045
    Messages:
    15,652
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2011 TRD OFF-ROAD DCSB 4X4
    AVS in-channel window visors Husky Mud Guards Husky Liners X-act Contour Floor Liners Cooper Discoverer AT3 LT- 265/75/16 C Toyota 16" Black TRD Trail Team Edition Wheels Truxedo Lo Pro Tonneau Cover OEM Bed mat OEM Running Boards Marathon custom fit seat covers Front window tint Rear Leaf Spring 4 Pack - TSB Front - 5100's with stock springs set at .85" Rear - OME Sport Nitrochargers
    Is the temperature important for a simple drain & fill? If I parked my truck for a while in the shade and put the new fluid containers under my truck so both existing fluid & new fluid are the same temp, can I do the simple drain & fill & replace what came out with new?
     
  4. Jun 2, 2015 at 10:59 AM
    #504
    stump jumper

    stump jumper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Member:
    #42106
    Messages:
    2,477
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tundra 4x4 CM TSS
    owned many Fords and always dropped the pan, drained fluid, cleaned the pan and replaced filter if they had one every 30 - 40k and never had a tranny problem.
     
  5. Jun 2, 2015 at 12:25 PM
    #505
    Loco38SUP

    Loco38SUP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Member:
    #94622
    Messages:
    953
    Gender:
    Male
    North Seattle, WA
    Vehicle:
    2011 Double Cab SR5 4X4
    Loud as hell URD exhaust!
    You can but its not acurate. Maybe it came under filled from the factory and you will underfill it again. Its best to do the Temp Mode.

    RJM
     
  6. Jun 2, 2015 at 1:06 PM
    #506
    Sig45

    Sig45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Member:
    #81045
    Messages:
    15,652
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2011 TRD OFF-ROAD DCSB 4X4
    AVS in-channel window visors Husky Mud Guards Husky Liners X-act Contour Floor Liners Cooper Discoverer AT3 LT- 265/75/16 C Toyota 16" Black TRD Trail Team Edition Wheels Truxedo Lo Pro Tonneau Cover OEM Bed mat OEM Running Boards Marathon custom fit seat covers Front window tint Rear Leaf Spring 4 Pack - TSB Front - 5100's with stock springs set at .85" Rear - OME Sport Nitrochargers

    Thanks! I was planning on doing the full flush (60K) at the Dealership ($199), but then thought about a simple drain & fill. Then this week, I talked to the lead Toyota tech and my dealership and he said he/they rarely do the full tranny flushes or drain & fills on Tacomas and he's seen many, many over the years with over 200K miles that have never had the tranny fluid touched. Interesting for sure.
     
  7. Jun 6, 2015 at 9:27 AM
    #507
    dieseldude

    dieseldude New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Member:
    #152613
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    tennessee
    Vehicle:
    05 prerunner sr5
    very nice write up i have recently purchased an 05 prerunner 2wd and no nothing of its maintenance . i was going to change the fluid and filter in my tranny . it has 185000 miles on it . i just passed on my 95 t100 to my daughter which has 320000 miles on it
     
  8. Jun 6, 2015 at 10:29 AM
    #508
    Sicyota04

    Sicyota04 Slowly but surely.

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015
    Member:
    #145940
    Messages:
    3,068
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Morgan
    California
    Vehicle:
    04 DC 4x4
    Too bad I have a 3.4 V6. Not a 4.0. I am pretty sure I have a 5 speed transmission. It is an automatic 4 wheel drive I have a dipstick though. What would be the difference? Does the tranny I have, have a filter to change also? It is a 2004 Double cab.
     
  9. Jun 11, 2015 at 9:38 PM
    #509
    Krohsis

    Krohsis Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Member:
    #136620
    Messages:
    29
    Gender:
    Male
    So I'm guessing a person could use their Scan Gauge 2 for the temp on the level check and just make sure it reads in the 115-130 range rather than the jumper wire procedure?
     
  10. Jun 11, 2015 at 9:53 PM
    #510
    Sandman614

    Sandman614 Snarky TWSS elf, Travis #hotsavannahdotcom, LRGRNR

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Member:
    #45273
    Messages:
    34,195
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Garner, NC/Boone, NC
    Vehicle:
    '06 SR5 Off Road
    ARB Front Bumper, Projector Headlights w/Slimcubby 4300K HID's, Oznium LED's, LED taillights, DIY Washable Cabin Moose Filter, Sockmonkey SR5 Off Road, Aux Audio plug, OME 886x, OME Nitrochargers, Wheelers 3 Leaf Progressive AAL, ImMrYo Rear-View Mirror Lift Bracket, Dodge D-Rings
    I used my elm327 adapter (same idea).
     
  11. Jun 12, 2015 at 6:21 AM
    #511
    Krohsis

    Krohsis Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Member:
    #136620
    Messages:
    29
    Gender:
    Male
    Cool, seemed logical....thx
     
  12. Jun 20, 2015 at 6:28 AM
    #512
    Bw1605

    Bw1605 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Member:
    #136770
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    CB, Truxedo cover, CCM off-road 2inch level kit
    ok so I have 75k on my 2012 Tacoma, double-cab, 4x4. I have read the thread about doing the flush with the 14 or so qts. and I have read this thread about draining the pan and doing the temp thing. anyways my questions is wouldn't the flush be better since you are replacing all the fluid? or is it to do this drain and refill more often with a few qts and always keep fresh fluid running in the tranny? I do light towing, I am getting ready to haul about 3500 lbs on a 1000 mile round trip (about 500 out and then 500 back). curious to know what everyone thinks
     
  13. Jun 20, 2015 at 9:52 AM
    #513
    Lester Lugnut

    Lester Lugnut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Member:
    #32477
    Messages:
    2,823
    Gender:
    Male
    N of Mex-S of Canada-E of LA-W of NC
    Vehicle:
    '15 Tacoma PreRunner V6 SR5 Auto
    Countless opinions about doing a "flush". My gut feeling is if they are done starting early in the life of the transmission - like every 20K-30K - change/clean filter screen as well - a flush might be OK. My other gut feeling is they bring doom when a person does one for the first time at 100K or >.

    Who knows? I once knew a skilled independent repair shop owner who swore them off after killing a few customers transmissions. He had to eat the cost of replacement.

    Again - there are countless opinions. I do what I do - rotation drain/refill every 25K - has never let me down. Will likely do the same for my Tacoma and the wifes 4 Runner when it comes time to do them.

    Then there are people who have gone over 200K w/o ever doing anything to their 2nd Gen Tacoma transmissions.

    Pick a card.
     
  14. Jun 27, 2015 at 12:40 PM
    #514
    KenLyns

    KenLyns 8.75" Third Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Member:
    #37674
    Messages:
    29,373
    Gender:
    Male
    Belly of the Beast
    Vehicle:
    4x4 TRD Off-Road Full-Auto
    LED Headlights, Volant CAI, 32" Duratracs
    I used the Torque Pro app connected to a Bluetooth OBD2 dongle to read transmission temperature. For later year trucks, the FSM says to check the fluid level at 36-46 C. I checked mine at 40 C. Been driving for a week with no problems and no nuisance warning lights.

    Another note: the Toyota WS fluid now comes in a wide-mouth bottle. Older hand pumps won't fit. I ended up using a half-quart Lumax suction gun.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  15. Jun 27, 2015 at 1:59 PM
    #515
    Lester Lugnut

    Lester Lugnut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Member:
    #32477
    Messages:
    2,823
    Gender:
    Male
    N of Mex-S of Canada-E of LA-W of NC
    Vehicle:
    '15 Tacoma PreRunner V6 SR5 Auto
    Forget the pump. Run a length of clear tubing that fits inside the transmission fill hole up to the top of the engine. Connect a funnel. Pour slowly. Been doing this for years. Works like a charm.
    [​IMG] [​IMG][/QUOTE]
     
    Caddmannq likes this.
  16. Aug 16, 2015 at 12:30 PM
    #516
    justchillen

    justchillen New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    Member:
    #161773
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2011 Silver Tacoma TRD
    Thank you for this post. Being a new Tacoma owner had no idea how to check the fluid level. Bought mine wrecked and had lost trans. fluid so this was very helpful, had to shift mine a few time extra to get light to show but it came on just like you posted . Thank you
     
  17. Aug 30, 2015 at 2:01 PM
    #517
    KJaikaran

    KJaikaran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Member:
    #90599
    Messages:
    207
    Gender:
    Male
    Orlando FL
    Vehicle:
    2011 Tacoma DCSB TRD Sport
    URD intake/maf calibrator, Icon extended travel coilovers, Icon UCA, OME Dakar leaf packs, Bilstein extended rear shocks, 3 degree axle shims, Carrier bearing drop bracket, DS2 retro, 5k HID bulds top and bottom
    Need some advice. Left the truck over night in my garage without driving it and when I went to put it check mode everything goes fine, but after I put it back into park the light comes on goes off and within a few seconds it comes right back on. Tried it multiple times and the same thing keeps happened. The last attemp I just left it to see how long it will take before the light started flashing and it did after about 5-10min of idling.

    I live in Orlando, FL and while I was doing it I noticed the temperature display on the roof panel said 82 degrees, but I don't get how ambient temp would make the transmission oil temp ready to check almost instantly.

    UPDATE: Gave it a few more tries, and the light kept coming on almost instantly after putting it back in drive. Started looking for an alternative route of checking the temp with gauges, and found post's about getting the ultra gauge which I already have upgraded so I can enter the transmission codes to read the temp, same goes for the scan gauge, but you can enter the codes in through the x-gauge function already in the scan gauge. Got a scan gauge from a friend for, entered the code to monitor the TFT and on a morning start after sitting all night it took about 20 min to reach 115 degrees Fahrenheit.
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2015
  18. Sep 2, 2015 at 10:05 PM
    #518
    Lester Lugnut

    Lester Lugnut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Member:
    #32477
    Messages:
    2,823
    Gender:
    Male
    N of Mex-S of Canada-E of LA-W of NC
    Vehicle:
    '15 Tacoma PreRunner V6 SR5 Auto
    Did you remove the jumper wire?
     
  19. Sep 21, 2015 at 8:39 AM
    #519
    ssanders2211

    ssanders2211 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Member:
    #121976
    Messages:
    263
    Gender:
    Male
    Midwest
    Vehicle:
    '14 DCLB 4x4
    behind the rear seat hi-lift mount bracket, easy-out crossbed toolbox brackets, sliders, ATO plate rear bumper, hood/bed lighting, always-on 12v outlets, dashcam, Viper 5806V w/ GPS
    Does anybody know the part number for the overflow plug? I spent a few minutes searching but all I can find is washers, gaskets, and various transmission service how-to guides. I set the torque wrench for 15 lb-ft but I must not have got the bit in all the way or held it perfectly straight because it stripped the top of the plug a bit. The metal on the top of the plug is very soft, which is probably a good thing. I was able to get it to seat firmly but I'd like to have a new plug on hand to replace it with the next time I need to do this.
     
  20. Sep 21, 2015 at 10:28 AM
    #520
    KaPantsKey

    KaPantsKey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Member:
    #103943
    Messages:
    170
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kyle
    SC
    Vehicle:
    13 MGM DCSB TRD-OR
    Poke around here:
    http://www.customtacos.com/tech.old/files/05FSM/repair.html
     
    ssanders2211 likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top