1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

How to Drain/Refill Automatic Transmission

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Fortech, Dec 5, 2009.

  1. Sep 26, 2015 at 10:07 PM
    #521
    peppinoss

    peppinoss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Member:
    #163380
    Messages:
    574
    Gender:
    Male
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD OR 4x4
    ToyTec Boss 2.0 lift TRD Pro Wheels 265/70/R17 KO2s Mobtown Offroad Sliders
    I am having trouble getting into temp check mode in my 2006 Tacoma TRD off-road pre runner v6. Once the AT temp light comes on it just blinks. It never comes on for 2 seconds and then goes off. After it comes on and just blinks I put it into park and it continues to blink. I let it idle for 20 min and it just kept blinking. I tried multiple times, and let the truck sit 2 hours or me between tries. Any ideas here?
     
  2. Oct 16, 2015 at 5:43 PM
    #522
    Pabloeeto

    Pabloeeto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    Member:
    #131724
    Messages:
    923
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Paul
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    06 DCSB TRD Sport 4x4
    K&N filter, 3.5 Aux input mod, Cooper Discoverer AT3s
    Just did a drain and fill on mine, I went to Harbor Freight and picked up this bad boy. It made quick work filling 3qts. Not a drop spilled either!!!
    It comes with 2 long tubes 1 In and 1 Out. I connected one to the filler and the other to the 4 qt bottle and pumped it, it took less than 3 minutes for 3 quarts..
    I highly recommend this! normally 15 bucks but HF had a sale and I got it for 5.

    HF Pump.jpg
     
  3. Oct 19, 2015 at 11:50 AM
    #523
    amati5

    amati5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Member:
    #24610
    Messages:
    200
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prerunner TRD
    I just wanted to check/add fluid if needed because It leaked when I pulled the slip yoke twice plus I read that it was low from fatory. I followed the instruction (Thx OP) and yes, I had to shift a lot faster than shown in the video. In my case, the AT Temp light came up and stayed lit without going off after 2 sec. After shifting back to P, it still stayed lit. I was confused and shut off the engine and waited. Tried again and the same thing happened. I decided to continue with the check/add thinking the temp was correct due to warm weather (75-80). From what I observed, it was filled probably about 1/4 to 1/3 quart low from factory.

    For Prerunner TRD Sport with towing, the AT Temp light will not light up with the key turn on but it's there, on the low right hand corner. Use a flash light pointed at an angle and you'll see it.
     
  4. Oct 28, 2015 at 11:56 AM
    #524
    AAAdirt

    AAAdirt New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Member:
    #167958
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Vehicle:
    2015 4 Runner V6 4x4 - 2014 Tacoma 2.7 4x4 - 1999 Tacoma 2.7 4x4 - 2011 Yaris 3 Door
    Mr. Fortech, thanks, excellent posting. Used this method on my wifes 2008 4 Runner 4x4 which was traded on a 2015 4 Runner 4x4 with now 15k miles. Lots of heavy mountain towing. Anyone know if this the same procedure on the 2015? I see the 4/13 jumper still a socket under the dash like the old one. UTF was fluid black and dirty at 30K. May shorten the service interval, $100 in UTF worth the try, high service = low failures. Toyota dealer trans service only drains the sump only like 2 something qts only 1/4 replaced for around $150, lesson learned. Figured it out at the parts counter, as they sell only a couple qts to the service side of the dealership. AAAdirt
     
  5. Nov 2, 2015 at 5:04 AM
    #525
    billybob50

    billybob50 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Member:
    #166570
    Messages:
    736
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bob
    Vehicle:
    05 Basic Gold Tacoma Automatic
    Dog friendly, with dog snot on inside windows, with of course a/c! Mag 16 inch wheels from a Mazda.
    Watch this guy do a drain and fill. Personally I would have found which line dumps & which line fills. After finding that. Drain what I could at the drain plug, drop & clean pan install new filter. Replace pan and fill with 5 quarts, then run engine to pump out the rest of the old fluid. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WngXE_7vg-Q
     
  6. Nov 23, 2015 at 6:34 AM
    #526
    ejl923

    ejl923 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Member:
    #140378
    Messages:
    939
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    Western Mass
    Vehicle:
    15 DCSB TRD Off Road
    I asked this over in the Ultragauge forum but didnt receive any responses so i thought i would try here. My ultragauge can read transmission temps, but i wasnt sure if there were multiple temp sensors on the transmission. So in essence, is the temp reading on the ultragauge/scangauge/ torque app the same that the temp check mode would monitor?
     
  7. Nov 23, 2015 at 6:43 AM
    #527
    Lurkin

    Lurkin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    21,944
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    If it's the pan temp, it should be. The newer one's also have a sensor for the TC fluid temp, which is not the one you want.
     
  8. Nov 23, 2015 at 7:19 AM
    #528
    ejl923

    ejl923 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Member:
    #140378
    Messages:
    939
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    Western Mass
    Vehicle:
    15 DCSB TRD Off Road
    well thats my question, which temp is the UG reading? pan or TC?
     
  9. Nov 23, 2015 at 7:25 AM
    #529
    Lurkin

    Lurkin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    21,944
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    Can't help then, I have an SG, and I have an 09 which is pan temp only.

    Only thought I have is if it's the TC temp, if you put it in D, hold the brake and give it about 2k rpms, the TC temp should go up quite quickly, pan temp would go up, but much slower.
     
  10. Nov 23, 2015 at 7:37 AM
    #530
    billybob50

    billybob50 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Member:
    #166570
    Messages:
    736
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bob
    Vehicle:
    05 Basic Gold Tacoma Automatic
    Dog friendly, with dog snot on inside windows, with of course a/c! Mag 16 inch wheels from a Mazda.
    Depending on your year, model, and what options. You're going to have go to the dealer and ask someone who works on transmissions. Use to be the cooling line would go to the radiator and ether warm up or cool down along with the engine temperature. In which depending on what the engine thermostat is set for. I wouldn't worry about being precise about this, a ball park + or - 10% should be good enough when using ultragauge/scangauge/ torque app. I have a Subaru Crosstrek and had the Dealership do a transmission fluid flush even though I didn't really need it. The book said about 109 degrees to check fluid level. As the mechanic who was flushing the fluid out of the transmission I asked him about this. His reply was there isn't any type of check just fill it to the bottom of the fill hole. I assume all the cars that come into the shop are already up to temperature, in addition you're pouring in cold fluid in so does it really matter? Then maybe the mechanic was a jerk, but for some reason I believe him. Getting it in the ballpark should be close enough.
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2015
  11. Nov 30, 2015 at 5:26 PM
    #531
    chadlogan112

    chadlogan112 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Member:
    #128187
    Messages:
    203
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chad
    Florida
    Bilstein 5100 Front and Rear, Maxtrac Spindles, Icon AAL, 285/60/18, 18x10, 5% Tint, K&N Intake
    If you're not replacing the fluid, can I just top off the fluid until it drips out slightly? My rear seal had leaked for years, so now I think it's low.
     
  12. Nov 30, 2015 at 5:51 PM
    #532
    billybob50

    billybob50 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Member:
    #166570
    Messages:
    736
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bob
    Vehicle:
    05 Basic Gold Tacoma Automatic
    Dog friendly, with dog snot on inside windows, with of course a/c! Mag 16 inch wheels from a Mazda.
    You should look at your owners manual, if you can find it.
     
  13. Dec 3, 2015 at 9:16 AM
    #533
    the4cecop

    the4cecop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Member:
    #65914
    Messages:
    53
    Gender:
    Male
    Vegas
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner Sport
    Thanks for the DIY. I own a 2012 PreRunner 2WD. Yes, it does have the AT Temp Light and I managed to get it to illuminate during the process. Took me a little while when doing the shift sequence, but managed to get it to come on after going through the N-D-4 sequence fairly fast. Tested with the overflow after that and the instructions helped immensely. My dealer provided the Toyota ATF WS at $7.99 each. Much cheaper than Amazon or anywhere else online. Thanks again.
     
  14. Dec 13, 2015 at 9:04 PM
    #534
    TonyDobbs

    TonyDobbs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Member:
    #166485
    Messages:
    658
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Cotati, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 LT TRD OR + 2007 TRD Sport
    Thanks for the DIY! I just picked up my first taco recently, and have been holding off on the transmission fluid until I get my scangauge back. But over the weekend I started experiencing hard shifts occasionally, and decided not to risk waiting on that. I did a single drain and fill this afternoon and when I went for my test drive afterwards it shifted smooth as butter! The ATF that came out was black as the night sky. What's a little concerning though was when I opened the check bolt I noticed metal shavings coming out :/ I'm going to drop the pan in a couple days, and clean the magnets. Hopefully I caught this early enough that the damage isn't too severe.
     
  15. Dec 13, 2015 at 9:28 PM
    #535
    Revelations

    Revelations Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Member:
    #127895
    Messages:
    530
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2014 MGM DCSB
    So instead of putting the truck into temp check mode, you just read the sensor temp? That sounds much easier.
     
  16. Dec 13, 2015 at 9:30 PM
    #536
    TonyDobbs

    TonyDobbs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Member:
    #166485
    Messages:
    658
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Cotati, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 LT TRD OR + 2007 TRD Sport
    Temp check mode is pretty easy too, once you get the hang of it. I honestly don't think it would have saved me more than a few seconds to use the scangauge.
     
  17. Dec 13, 2015 at 9:43 PM
    #537
    Revelations

    Revelations Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Member:
    #127895
    Messages:
    530
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2014 MGM DCSB
    I just went ahead and purchased the obd II reader. It can be used for other things and was only $19.
     
  18. Dec 13, 2015 at 10:02 PM
    #538
    KenLyns

    KenLyns 8.75" Third Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Member:
    #37674
    Messages:
    29,369
    Gender:
    Male
    Belly of the Beast
    Vehicle:
    4x4 TRD Off-Road Full-Auto
    LED Headlights, Volant CAI, 32" Duratracs
    Yep. I didn't want to jab a jumper wire into the OBDII port.
     
    Revelations likes this.
  19. Dec 22, 2015 at 6:54 PM
    #539
    F4injected

    F4injected Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Member:
    #172911
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Had question. Did my drain and fill but my problem was when I was putting the drain bolt back. I put on a new washer and tried to torque it down to 20ft-lbs... yet my torque wrench wouldn't get up to that torque. It felt like the bolt was just kept spinning. I felt the washer crush and everything so I'm not sure what happened..

    Everything else torqued fine. Overfill at 15ftlb and fill plug at 29ftlb.
     
  20. Dec 22, 2015 at 6:57 PM
    #540
    Revelations

    Revelations Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Member:
    #127895
    Messages:
    530
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2014 MGM DCSB
    Hopefully you haven't put any fluid back in yet. Remove the plug and make sure you didn't cross thread the drain plug.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top