1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

How will it do towing a 28' travel trailer?

Discussion in 'Towing' started by Jmbwso76, Jul 9, 2017.

1. Jul 9, 2017 at 9:06 AM
    Jmbwso76

Jmbwso76 [OP] New Member

Member:
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tacoma Limited (3.5 liter V6) with Tow Package
    Tow package
    Hey everyone! I'm new to Tacoma, new to pickup ownership and soon new to towing (purchasing an RV this month).

I am leasing a 2017 Tacoma Ltd with Tow Package (rated to 6,400 I believe) and also am in the process of purchasing a 28' travel trailer that weighs 5382 lbs.

I keep hearing concern from friends about my Tacoma's ability to handle this trailer however I have been told by both the Toyota and RV dealership that I will do fine (I do understand the easy assumptions here that dealers want to sell you stuff - I was talked down from many other RV's at higher costs because The RV dealer didn't feel comfortable selling me something too heavy that might make me feel unsafe).

Bottom line, I've seen many threads so far with mixed reviews. Is what I'm planning either unsafe or dumb? Or if I take it slow, have both trailer brake and sway control, and don't overload the trailer will I be ok?

Thank you for your time!

2. Jul 9, 2017 at 9:11 AM
    JJ Customs

JJ Customs Supreme Leader!

Member:
    First Name:
    Jay
    NV
    Vehicle:
    Silverado Crew Cab Z71, 5.3 made from real Tornado's!
    A few additions to make me feel cool.