1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

HVAC Furnace Help

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussion' started by TACOMA TRD, Oct 18, 2010.

  1. Oct 18, 2010 at 4:38 PM
    #1
    TACOMA TRD

    TACOMA TRD [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Member:
    #34897
    Messages:
    2,207
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tom
    PA
    Vehicle:
    2011 MGM SPORT DC 4x4
    Alpine HU, Apline 6.5 3 way Speakers, Access Cover.
    To all you HVAC guys here..Well, we installed our new 95% furnace last month, my wifes uncle helped me put it in. It runs great. On these new furnace's they really condensates a lot of water.

    My first attempt was to run some pvc out the side, then drain through concrete floor. It did not drain properly. So I went and bought the condensate pump today and have it all hooked up an ran it up through the ceiling 7 ft high, and then about 25 ft shot to back of basement and dumped it into my sump pump. Working great!!!

    There is a alarm on this pump thats supposed to sound and shut the system down if it dont work properly, there are two white wires that run from it. Where would I hook these wires up on the Furnace?

    I know I know...If I have to ask where to put these wires, I shouldnt be doing this, but I am on the home stretch and dont plan on calling a plumber now.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Oct 18, 2010 at 8:10 PM
    #2
    TACOMA TRD

    TACOMA TRD [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Member:
    #34897
    Messages:
    2,207
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tom
    PA
    Vehicle:
    2011 MGM SPORT DC 4x4
    Alpine HU, Apline 6.5 3 way Speakers, Access Cover.
    Thats what Im thinking too....Im going to stop at the the place I bought the furnace, and see if they can guide me. Its not mentioned anywhere in the manual for furnace, or the pump. But I like it hooked up, if i can.

    Thanks for the reply.
     
  3. Oct 18, 2010 at 8:23 PM
    #3
    05tacoSPORT

    05tacoSPORT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Member:
    #29449
    Messages:
    2,151
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Tennessee
    Vehicle:
    TRD SPORT
    Geared and Locked
    ok so you have the pump hooked up correctly and the pump comes on when the water level tells it to. The 2 white wire should break one leg of 24volt system. Your stat wires (break the RED wire) So if the NC alarm goes to NO it shuts the system down. Witch tells you that the pump or line is clogged.
     
  4. Oct 18, 2010 at 8:28 PM
    #4
    05tacoSPORT

    05tacoSPORT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Member:
    #29449
    Messages:
    2,151
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Tennessee
    Vehicle:
    TRD SPORT
    Geared and Locked
    so pull the red 24v wire from the R on the board and connect to the white wire the the other white wire goes the the R on the control board SIMPLE. If there is any problem the unit cant come on:D
     
  5. Oct 18, 2010 at 8:36 PM
    #5
    05tacoSPORT

    05tacoSPORT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Member:
    #29449
    Messages:
    2,151
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Tennessee
    Vehicle:
    TRD SPORT
    Geared and Locked
    or if he has a safety switch on the drain pan (over flow pan) that the units sits in you would tie all in series. still breaking the 24v control. one or two safety switches all hook up the same.
     
  6. Oct 19, 2010 at 6:57 AM
    #6
    TACOMA TRD

    TACOMA TRD [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Member:
    #34897
    Messages:
    2,207
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tom
    PA
    Vehicle:
    2011 MGM SPORT DC 4x4
    Alpine HU, Apline 6.5 3 way Speakers, Access Cover.


    I will try it...

    Thanks.
     
  7. Oct 19, 2010 at 7:07 AM
    #7
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 is gooder 'en chicken Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    49,733
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5 (+250k AND COUNTING), 88 SR5 PU (SOLD), 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours
    What's the model number of the furnace?
     
  8. Oct 19, 2010 at 12:56 PM
    #8
    TACOMA TRD

    TACOMA TRD [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Member:
    #34897
    Messages:
    2,207
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tom
    PA
    Vehicle:
    2011 MGM SPORT DC 4x4
    Alpine HU, Apline 6.5 3 way Speakers, Access Cover.
    Comfortmaker Softsound DLX 95
     
  9. Oct 19, 2010 at 2:36 PM
    #9
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 is gooder 'en chicken Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    49,733
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5 (+250k AND COUNTING), 88 SR5 PU (SOLD), 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours
    On the door panel should be a schematic for the furnace. It might tell yo where the alarm hook up is.
     
  10. Oct 19, 2010 at 2:42 PM
    #10
    brow

    brow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Member:
    #34580
    Messages:
    376
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Andy
    Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    '10 silver access 4x4, that'll never be done
    switched rear-view camera, custom access cab bench, tonneau cover, custom bike rack in bed, extra d-rings, de-badged, mag lite mount, weathertechs, bed lights with 3-way switches, rear spring TSB, ultra gauge, after market hitch, cab/hitch mounted canoe rack
    05tacosport has it correct, you just need to break the line going to your t-stat. Depending on if your central AC draining into this pump also makes a difference on what wire you break your pump into. If you do have the AC draining into this, make sure that you are splicing into the wire that will kill the system whether you are in heat or cool mode
     
  11. Oct 19, 2010 at 2:46 PM
    #11
    05tacoSPORT

    05tacoSPORT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Member:
    #29449
    Messages:
    2,151
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Tennessee
    Vehicle:
    TRD SPORT
    Geared and Locked
    If you put in a sump pump it probably wont be in the wire diagram. Unless it came with the unit. ------{…}------- just wire the white wire in line with the 24v RED wire
     
  12. Oct 21, 2010 at 2:23 AM
    #12
    TACOMA TRD

    TACOMA TRD [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Member:
    #34897
    Messages:
    2,207
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tom
    PA
    Vehicle:
    2011 MGM SPORT DC 4x4
    Alpine HU, Apline 6.5 3 way Speakers, Access Cover.
    Thanks guys for the replys. I was sick all day today and didnt get around to this, but tomorrow I plan on hooking the white wires to the red 24v. I agree that it just completes the circuit. I did see the schematic on the panel, but it didnt mention about a condensate pump anywhere.

    I also have to run a electrical box close to my furnace now to plug the cord to the pump in. Right now I just have a extension to it which is fine, but its not right.
    I am going to throw a junction box in on the line to my swimming pool that cuts right pass the furnace.

    So in the summer that line will be dedicated to the pool, and the winter, the condensate pump will use it.
     
  13. Oct 21, 2010 at 2:49 AM
    #13
    WNYTACOMA

    WNYTACOMA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Member:
    #10961
    Messages:
    1,333
    Gender:
    Male
    Clarence, New York
    Vehicle:
    09 Metalic Grey TRD OFF ROAD
    Toyota Nerf steps Bugflector 2 Tool box Weathertech floor liners Wet Okole F/R - Bk/Char
    I'm surprised they suggested the pump inside the cabinet. They typically are located outside.
     
  14. Oct 21, 2010 at 5:30 AM
    #14
    TACOMA TRD

    TACOMA TRD [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Member:
    #34897
    Messages:
    2,207
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tom
    PA
    Vehicle:
    2011 MGM SPORT DC 4x4
    Alpine HU, Apline 6.5 3 way Speakers, Access Cover.

    Dam....Ummmm they didnt...they gave no recomondations as to where to put it. I tried outside first but I knew if I went outside of the furnace, my kid might rip it out trying to get his bike in/out of the basement.

    I ran the heater and the upper portion is closed off from the bottom and no heat is down there, so I didnt think there would be a problem. Plus it looks cleaner.

    But yea...I thought long and hard about putting it inside. ( thats whats she said) :D
     
  15. Oct 21, 2010 at 1:33 PM
    #15
    WNYTACOMA

    WNYTACOMA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Member:
    #10961
    Messages:
    1,333
    Gender:
    Male
    Clarence, New York
    Vehicle:
    09 Metalic Grey TRD OFF ROAD
    Toyota Nerf steps Bugflector 2 Tool box Weathertech floor liners Wet Okole F/R - Bk/Char
    Yeah, i knew they didn't. I inspect homes for a living. I was just busting your chops...
     
  16. Nov 7, 2010 at 12:08 PM
    #16
    BradleyScottETC

    BradleyScottETC Class IV Category 8 Elite VIP Member (Only)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Member:
    #20521
    Messages:
    1,754
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bradley
    Lake County, FL
    Vehicle:
    10 4.0 AC 4x4
    Those white wires are supposed to go break 24v to the UNIT control voltage supply to keep the furnace from running if the pump is clogged.

    You didn't need the pump- it looks like your problem is because of airflow, you could have saved some cash by piping a P-Trap to keep the blower from holding the condensate in the pan.
     
To Top