1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Hypertech speed calibrator problems

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas' started by dwntwnall4u, Nov 19, 2008.

  1. Nov 19, 2008 at 4:55 AM
    #1
    dwntwnall4u

    dwntwnall4u [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Member:
    #9083
    Messages:
    262
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kevin
    san diego
    Vehicle:
    2013 4x4 Dbl cab Auto
    Powered by ^CBD Cannabidiol
    [​IMG]

    Anyone with a hypertech speed calibrator see this problem with the speedometer jumping every so often while driving a constant speed?
     
  2. Nov 19, 2008 at 6:43 AM
    #2
    Delmarva

    Delmarva Mayor of TW

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Member:
    #10148
    Messages:
    35,644
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Tucson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD OR S/C 4x4
    TRD S/C, Full OME Suspension, LR UCAs, Relentless Front Bumper, Derpwerx Fab HC Rear Bumper, 285/75/16 Revos, XD Hoss Wheels, Safari Snorkel, Infiniti FX-R HID Retrofit, Airbags in rear, Optima Yellow top, Besttop, All-Pro Skid, All-Pro HD Sliders
    strangeness -- I've heard of others having the same issue over at TN -- I have one, but not installed just yet, so can't help ya there.
     
  3. Nov 19, 2008 at 11:22 PM
    #3
    dwntwnall4u

    dwntwnall4u [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Member:
    #9083
    Messages:
    262
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kevin
    san diego
    Vehicle:
    2013 4x4 Dbl cab Auto
    Powered by ^CBD Cannabidiol
    That would suck if it's true. I had a chance to return it to the place I bought it, but decided to keep it. Hypertech said they would do what it takes to get it to work. I guess I'll see what happens.
     
  4. Nov 26, 2008 at 12:04 PM
    #4
    Delmarva

    Delmarva Mayor of TW

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Member:
    #10148
    Messages:
    35,644
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Tucson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD OR S/C 4x4
    TRD S/C, Full OME Suspension, LR UCAs, Relentless Front Bumper, Derpwerx Fab HC Rear Bumper, 285/75/16 Revos, XD Hoss Wheels, Safari Snorkel, Infiniti FX-R HID Retrofit, Airbags in rear, Optima Yellow top, Besttop, All-Pro Skid, All-Pro HD Sliders

    I just installed mine -- I'm definitely NOT having the same issues that you have. It seems to be spot on currently without any needle jumping. I've verified my speed via the OBDII port. I need to throw my GPS in there and see what it looks like.

    Check your connections on the PCB and on the cluster. Maybe try reflashing the little black box.
     
  5. Feb 20, 2009 at 3:23 PM
    #5
    redraider

    redraider Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Member:
    #1212
    Messages:
    1,325
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    San Antonio,TX
    is yours an updated version/new model by hypertech
     
  6. Feb 22, 2009 at 3:25 AM
    #6
    dwntwnall4u

    dwntwnall4u [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Member:
    #9083
    Messages:
    262
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kevin
    san diego
    Vehicle:
    2013 4x4 Dbl cab Auto
    Powered by ^CBD Cannabidiol
    Yes it was, I tried two units but both had poor results so I finally just got a refund. Maybe due to my vehicle they say? 6spd
     
  7. Jul 8, 2009 at 8:32 PM
    #7
    jaxchrisfla

    jaxchrisfla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Member:
    #8422
    Messages:
    949
    flooriduh
    lots
    any update on this?
     
  8. Jul 9, 2009 at 4:14 AM
    #8
    dwntwnall4u

    dwntwnall4u [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Member:
    #9083
    Messages:
    262
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kevin
    san diego
    Vehicle:
    2013 4x4 Dbl cab Auto
    Powered by ^CBD Cannabidiol
    I finally just returned the product for a refund after trying two different units.
     
  9. Jul 9, 2009 at 4:15 AM
    #9
    Delmarva

    Delmarva Mayor of TW

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Member:
    #10148
    Messages:
    35,644
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Tucson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD OR S/C 4x4
    TRD S/C, Full OME Suspension, LR UCAs, Relentless Front Bumper, Derpwerx Fab HC Rear Bumper, 285/75/16 Revos, XD Hoss Wheels, Safari Snorkel, Infiniti FX-R HID Retrofit, Airbags in rear, Optima Yellow top, Besttop, All-Pro Skid, All-Pro HD Sliders
    Mine still works well :thumbsup:

    but I have an AT
     
  10. Jul 9, 2009 at 12:26 PM
    #10
    redraider

    redraider Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Member:
    #1212
    Messages:
    1,325
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    San Antonio,TX
    good to know, i've been monitoring this thread, have an automatic too and been considering purchasing the hypertech calibrator
     
  11. Feb 18, 2010 at 6:59 PM
    #11
    skierpunk

    skierpunk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Member:
    #3885
    Messages:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 DC Off Road.
    TRD mats and seat covers, smoked tail lights, smoked turn signal corners, Revtek lift, Access LE tonnaeu, HIDs, grillcraft mesh grill, TRD CAI, custom bike racks, Alpine system.
    For those of you with larger tires who have installed the hypertech -- did it help bring down your rpms at highway speeds at all?
     
  12. Feb 18, 2010 at 7:09 PM
    #12
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    27,109
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    a speedo calibrator is not going to affect the rpm's or anything w/ the actual engine. all it does is force the computer into spitting out a different reading to the speedo. if u want to bring down rpm's w/ larger tires, ur going to have to regear
     
To Top