1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

I fixed overhead console compas/thermo, second time, need help

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by jeeper2269, Oct 30, 2010.

  1. Oct 30, 2010 at 8:45 PM
    #1
    jeeper2269

    jeeper2269 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Member:
    #1019
    Messages:
    44
    I fixed the compas overhead console temp last week, and my dome light, and lights on the console its self wont work now. I checked all the fuses twice, and nothing is blown.

    I fixed the compas/temp gage before with no problem. all is same


    any ideas?
     
  2. Oct 30, 2010 at 9:36 PM
    #2
    memario1214

    memario1214 Vivid Illumination Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23628
    Messages:
    13,772
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colton
    Gillette, WY
    Vehicle:
    05 Dub Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Yeah, I gots boost
    Mine just went out again too! WTF!? Bump for you, I can check into it tomorrow when I tear into mine
     
  3. Oct 30, 2010 at 10:47 PM
    #3
    jeeper2269

    jeeper2269 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Member:
    #1019
    Messages:
    44
    so. I put all the wires back in place, and the same results. the dome light dont work, and the clock under the head unit cd player stays at 0100 to start every time. wtf? did i do?
     
  4. Oct 31, 2010 at 3:08 PM
    #4
    jeeper2269

    jeeper2269 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Member:
    #1019
    Messages:
    44
  5. Nov 1, 2010 at 5:59 AM
    #5
    Wattapunk

    Wattapunk Stay lifted my friends !

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Member:
    #30098
    Messages:
    1,449
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Uncle K
    TX
    Vehicle:
    2005 Dbl Cab LB 4x4 TRD
    Toytec CO's, IRONMAN rear leaf pack, All pro front bumper, Body Armor rear bumper, BA steps MB TKO's w/285/75/16 Terra Grapplers, Bakflip tonneau cover, autopage remote start alarm, Ultragauge
    Check the voltage at the dome light to see if it's no power vs. bad bulb. Sounds like there is no constant 12 volts going to your radio clock and dome light. Check the voltage at the fuse block instead of visual inspection. Your radio needs constant 12v for it to keep the clock and radio stations. Right now it resets everytime you turn off/on the ignition. My guess is no 12v at fuse block at the dome light location. Double check the fuse and check voltage with it plug in.
     
  6. Nov 2, 2010 at 9:19 PM
    #6
    jeeper2269

    jeeper2269 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Member:
    #1019
    Messages:
    44
    But why in the heck would fixing the overhead compas affect the dome light and clock?
     
  7. Nov 3, 2010 at 3:45 AM
    #7
    Wattapunk

    Wattapunk Stay lifted my friends !

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Member:
    #30098
    Messages:
    1,449
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Uncle K
    TX
    Vehicle:
    2005 Dbl Cab LB 4x4 TRD
    Toytec CO's, IRONMAN rear leaf pack, All pro front bumper, Body Armor rear bumper, BA steps MB TKO's w/285/75/16 Terra Grapplers, Bakflip tonneau cover, autopage remote start alarm, Ultragauge
    Unless you d/c the battery during repair, my guess is a wire got accidently grounded and shorted the dome power supply. The compass/dome are supplied with 12v. Just a guess..
     
To Top