1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

I have a base Prerunner and am looking to get fog lights installed.

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by pivey14, Jun 22, 2013.

  1. Jun 22, 2013 at 12:39 PM
    #1
    pivey14

    pivey14 [OP] I'm A Grinder

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Member:
    #92632
    Messages:
    335
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Patrick
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Vehicle:
    '11 DC Base PreRunner
    See Build Thread
    As you know, base Prerunner's don't have fog lights and I was wondering how hard and how much is it to install fog lights in the precut holes that my front bumper already has.
     
  2. Jun 22, 2013 at 2:21 PM
    #2
    slinkey11

    slinkey11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Member:
    #89095
    Messages:
    68
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gabe
    NC
    Its really not to hard and this site is full of write ups on this. Below are links i referenced when installing my fogs.

    I just noticed these up for sale today.
    http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/2nd-gen-tacoma-marketplace/283367-factory-fog-lights-pair.html

    Then read through these posts and you should have a pretty good idea of what you are doing.

    http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/technical-chat/6525-diy-wiring-after-market-lights.html

    http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/2nd-gen-tacomas/3990-non-oem-fog-light-install-anytime.html

    I Personally hooked my fogs to a switch i bought from OTRATTW. Here are some posts i used fogs that were useful to me when installing my switch.

    http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/2n...-contura-v-carling-stock-switch-location.html

    http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/lighting/238167-another-wiring-question-cab-switch.html

    http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/technical-chat/148509-add-fuse-circuit.html
     
  3. Jun 22, 2013 at 3:56 PM
    #3
    pivey14

    pivey14 [OP] I'm A Grinder

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Member:
    #92632
    Messages:
    335
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Patrick
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Vehicle:
    '11 DC Base PreRunner
    See Build Thread
    Wow, big help. Thanks man!
     
  4. Jun 23, 2013 at 9:52 PM
    #4
    ABA180

    ABA180 It burns when I pee....

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Member:
    #88520
    Messages:
    6,756
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    East Bridgewater MA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma Regular Cab Slider
    Kenwood CD, MTX/Jensen amps, Rockford/Polk speakers.
    Painless, about an hour..I bought a kit on Ebay for about $90 and it even had a decent switch very similar to OEM.
     
  5. Jun 30, 2013 at 2:28 PM
    #5
    JW Gooding

    JW Gooding New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Member:
    #107322
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    JW
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma
    Glass Shell, Backup Camera
    Great Information and pictures!!
    The links from slinkey11 [​IMG] really did the trick!
    Ready to work this as soon as it cools down a little. 112 F right now.
     
To Top