1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

i need help!! fuse keeps blowing!

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by jayhud11, Feb 4, 2012.

  1. Feb 4, 2012 at 4:50 PM
    #1
    jayhud11

    jayhud11 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Member:
    #44870
    Messages:
    46
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    jason
    valdosta, ga.
    Vehicle:
    08 4x4 double cab
    okay, so i have two rockford fosgate t1 15 inch subs and a 2000 watt hifonics amp. and my fuse keeps blowing/burning up on my wiring kit. i had a 6 gauge wire and it kept burning up so i got a 4 gauge wire and the fuse burnt up again, can anyone help me on why it keeps burning up? thanks.
     
  2. Feb 4, 2012 at 5:30 PM
    #2
    Norton

    Norton Senior TW Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Member:
    #52729
    Messages:
    2,012
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Monument, CO
    Vehicle:
    04 V6 5-Spd SR5 TRD 4x4
    TRD Supercharger; URD 7th Injector; Injen CAI w/Airaid SynthaMax Filter; Magnaflow Cat-back; Light Racing UCAs, Wheelers 5-Leafs; OME 881s; Bilstein 5100s; Goodridge SS Brake Lines; Goodyear Wrangler Duratracs on 4Runner Ltd 5-Spokes; MetalMiller TRD Skid; B.A.M.F BPV Bracket; Grey Wire, Fog Light, Power Outlet, Door Chime & DRL Mods; FUBAR Moto Bits LED Headlights; Interior, Under-hood, & Reverse LEDs; Kenwood KDC-X895 HU & KFC-C6893PS Spkrs, Sound Ordnance B-8PT Sub & Dynamat; Husky Floor Liners; UltraGauge EM; External Thermometer; Redline Tuning QuickLIFT Elite; Rhino Bed Liner; Toyota Bed Extender; SnugTop Super Sport; SolarGard Tint; CravenSpeed Stubby Antenna; Alarm w/Keyless Entry; Amsoil Lubricants; Adam's Detailing Supplies
    It sounds like you've got a short. Have you double checked the routing and insulation of ALL wires and sheathing of ALL connection points?
     
  3. Feb 4, 2012 at 5:32 PM
    #3
    battlescars

    battlescars Professionull

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Member:
    #12256
    Messages:
    2,434
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    Escondido, CA
    Vehicle:
    03' 5-lug DD Prerunner
    Ground it.
     
  4. Feb 4, 2012 at 5:32 PM
    #4
    mattg43

    mattg43 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Member:
    #51640
    Messages:
    847
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    08 Prerunner SR5 DC
    SwingCase, driver side. PVC Bike rack. Aftermarket stereo.
    is it going through the firewall/metal? Check for a rub through the jacket?

    Also, is it immediately blowing, or lasting any amount of time, on any of the fuses?
     
  5. Feb 4, 2012 at 6:11 PM
    #5
    jayhud11

    jayhud11 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Member:
    #44870
    Messages:
    46
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    jason
    valdosta, ga.
    Vehicle:
    08 4x4 double cab
    i put the new wiring kit in last night around 7:00 and today at 5:00 my fuse was blown. only had it on for a combined of 30 minutes. ans yeah its going through a firewall and its grounded.
     
  6. Feb 5, 2012 at 6:24 AM
    #6
    06SR5canada

    06SR5canada Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Member:
    #60338
    Messages:
    648
    Gender:
    Male
    Saskatchewan
    Vehicle:
    06 dblcab SR5
    2ndary air filter removed, flowmaster 40
    how many amps is it rated for and how many amps is your system pulling is the question.

    but a 2000 watt amp on 6 gauge? my 1500 watt rms amp just got some new 2/0 :D
     
  7. Feb 5, 2012 at 7:27 AM
    #7
    mattg43

    mattg43 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Member:
    #51640
    Messages:
    847
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    08 Prerunner SR5 DC
    SwingCase, driver side. PVC Bike rack. Aftermarket stereo.
    Check for rub through on the wire jacket. It it is lasting for a period of time, its probably shorting.

    That, and what amps are you running, on what wire?

    Watts do not determine wire gauge...
     
  8. Feb 5, 2012 at 7:35 AM
    #8
    06SR5canada

    06SR5canada Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Member:
    #60338
    Messages:
    648
    Gender:
    Male
    Saskatchewan
    Vehicle:
    06 dblcab SR5
    2ndary air filter removed, flowmaster 40
    oh come on, more watts=more amperage pull
     
  9. Feb 5, 2012 at 10:37 AM
    #9
    Norton

    Norton Senior TW Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Member:
    #52729
    Messages:
    2,012
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Monument, CO
    Vehicle:
    04 V6 5-Spd SR5 TRD 4x4
    TRD Supercharger; URD 7th Injector; Injen CAI w/Airaid SynthaMax Filter; Magnaflow Cat-back; Light Racing UCAs, Wheelers 5-Leafs; OME 881s; Bilstein 5100s; Goodridge SS Brake Lines; Goodyear Wrangler Duratracs on 4Runner Ltd 5-Spokes; MetalMiller TRD Skid; B.A.M.F BPV Bracket; Grey Wire, Fog Light, Power Outlet, Door Chime & DRL Mods; FUBAR Moto Bits LED Headlights; Interior, Under-hood, & Reverse LEDs; Kenwood KDC-X895 HU & KFC-C6893PS Spkrs, Sound Ordnance B-8PT Sub & Dynamat; Husky Floor Liners; UltraGauge EM; External Thermometer; Redline Tuning QuickLIFT Elite; Rhino Bed Liner; Toyota Bed Extender; SnugTop Super Sport; SolarGard Tint; CravenSpeed Stubby Antenna; Alarm w/Keyless Entry; Amsoil Lubricants; Adam's Detailing Supplies
    :facepalm:

    This ^^. Voltage, Current, Power, and Resistance are all related. Given that voltage should be a relatively constant 12V-13V in this application, increasing the Power output from the amp requires increasing the Current flowing though it. Larger diameter/gauge wire (i.e., lower Resistance) is required for the higher Current flow.
     
  10. Feb 5, 2012 at 1:29 PM
    #10
    mattg43

    mattg43 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Member:
    #51640
    Messages:
    847
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    08 Prerunner SR5 DC
    SwingCase, driver side. PVC Bike rack. Aftermarket stereo.
    You guys do know that the amplifier efficiency and amperage draw directly affect the wattage ouput, but output does not determine the other two, right?

    If you are comparing 2 amps, of the same topology, with different outputs, you can generalize like "more watts=bigger wire", but if giving advise, I generally find accurate information more helpful than generalizations.


    http://bcae1.com/

    Check #16 on the right side.
     
  11. Feb 5, 2012 at 3:11 PM
    #11
    jayhud11

    jayhud11 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Member:
    #44870
    Messages:
    46
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    jason
    valdosta, ga.
    Vehicle:
    08 4x4 double cab
    2000 watt hifonics amp
     
  12. Feb 5, 2012 at 8:41 PM
    #12
    pinktaco808

    pinktaco808 Hot Steppa

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Member:
    #40651
    Messages:
    2,829
    Gender:
    Male
    run atleast 1/0 gauge wire and add another battery.
     
  13. Feb 7, 2012 at 12:44 PM
    #13
    06SR5canada

    06SR5canada Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Member:
    #60338
    Messages:
    648
    Gender:
    Male
    Saskatchewan
    Vehicle:
    06 dblcab SR5
    2ndary air filter removed, flowmaster 40
    Or add up the fuses on your amps and buy the proper size?
     
  14. Feb 7, 2012 at 12:50 PM
    #14
    Aw9d

    Aw9d That one guy

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Member:
    #66635
    Messages:
    12,336
    Gender:
    Male
    what wire kit are you using? For a 2000 watt amp, i'd be in the 0g wire to play it safe.
     
To Top