1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

I need some help!!!

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by 05RedTaco, Apr 8, 2011.

  1. Apr 8, 2011 at 6:11 PM
    #1
    05RedTaco

    05RedTaco [OP] Nom Nom Nom

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Member:
    #43521
    Messages:
    1,672
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Scottsdale
    Vehicle:
    2000 Tacoma XtraCab 2.7L 4x4
    I need some help from fellow Taco owners! Pop your hood at tell me how many amps is the relay for the OEM power inverter!

    Your help will be greatly appreciated and I will send you an e-cookie...
     
  2. Apr 8, 2011 at 6:42 PM
    #2
    bluescoops

    bluescoops Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Member:
    #4159
    Messages:
    30
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 sport Blue
    [​IMG] this is from another thread. it looks like there are three fuses but the main one for the ac socket is 100A. not sure if this is the exact wire diagram for your truck though
     
  3. Apr 8, 2011 at 6:44 PM
    #3
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 is gooder 'en chicken Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    49,780
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5 (+250k AND COUNTING), 88 SR5 PU (SOLD), 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours
  4. Apr 8, 2011 at 6:46 PM
    #4
    antatich

    antatich Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Member:
    #48415
    Messages:
    94
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Bremen, Indiana
    Vehicle:
    2011 DC Silver Tacoma
    Ready lift SST w/ 2 inch blocks, 33x12.50R17 Dick Cepek Mud Country Tires, 1.25" Billet Spacers, Tinted Windows, DDM tuning HID Headlights and Foglights, N-Fab Side Bars, N-Fab Light Bar, 4 Hella 500FF, JL Amp, 12" shallow Mount Sub
  5. Apr 8, 2011 at 6:47 PM
    #5
    05RedTaco

    05RedTaco [OP] Nom Nom Nom

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Member:
    #43521
    Messages:
    1,672
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Scottsdale
    Vehicle:
    2000 Tacoma XtraCab 2.7L 4x4
    I am wondering about the AC SKT Relay not the fuses... I have that diagram, there is no indication how many amps the AC SKT relay is.
     
  6. Apr 8, 2011 at 6:56 PM
    #6
    bluescoops

    bluescoops Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Member:
    #4159
    Messages:
    30
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 sport Blue
    relays don't have and amp rating. the only thing you can do is ohm it across terminals 1 & 2 and see if the coil is still good
     
  7. Apr 8, 2011 at 7:05 PM
    #7
    bluescoops

    bluescoops Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Member:
    #4159
    Messages:
    30
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 sport Blue
    i'm kinda curious as to what you are doing. are you testing the relay or trying to replace it?
     
  8. Apr 8, 2011 at 7:07 PM
    #8
    Jerry Bear

    Jerry Bear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Member:
    #51743
    Messages:
    146
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jerry
    Mesquite, Texas
    Vehicle:
    2010 Access Cab
    tint, topper, receiver hitch, trailer wiring, topper lighting, cruise control, intermittent wipers, backup camera, auto-dim mirror
    A relay has a current rating for the contacts, even if it isn't printed on the relay.

    I don't have that relay, so I can't go look, but maybe this will help.

    The relay contacts are fused at 100 Amps, so there's no reason for the relay to be rated for more than that.

    The maximum output of the inverter is 400 Watts. If the inverter is perfect, which it isn't, it will pull 400 Watts divided by 12 Volts = 33 Amps.

    So, the relay contacts are rated between 33 and 100 Amps.
     
  9. Apr 8, 2011 at 7:27 PM
    #9
    joes06tacoma

    joes06tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Member:
    #28588
    Messages:
    3,056
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Central Coast, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 Off Road Access Cab v6 6spd
    LEER Shell with dome lights operated with 3 way switches, aux backup lights with relay and 3 position switch, modified wiring to compass/temp display and clock to include switch that disables dimming function (poor man's DRL solution), Scan Gauge 2
    No amp rating stamped on mine. But I will say that the main contacts are larger than normal. Probably 3/8 inch wide. The coil contacts are 1/4 inch. Kinda looks like the bosch type relays I have seen that were rated at 70 amps.

    I take it you are installing the inverter after the fact? If you are going make it all factory looking, just go down to the dealer or a junkyard if they have a late model Taco and get the proper relay. Otherwise, go down to NAPA and tell them you need a continuous duty 100Amp solenoid. Looks like a Ford starter solenoid, but rated for constant use. We used one on my buddies Jeep for his dual batteries. I think it cost him 30 bucks.
     
  10. Apr 8, 2011 at 9:19 PM
    #10
    05RedTaco

    05RedTaco [OP] Nom Nom Nom

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Member:
    #43521
    Messages:
    1,672
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Scottsdale
    Vehicle:
    2000 Tacoma XtraCab 2.7L 4x4
    I am installing the OEM inverter on 5lug Taco. Main line from battery will be fused. Most likely 100Amp fuse. I looked briefly on relays at Radioshack and the biggest one was 30amps so that's where I was coming from... Wondering if 30amp relay will be enough or if I need to go bigger...
     
To Top