1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

i need your help with my taco

Discussion in '4 Cylinder' started by natebaur, Jan 21, 2009.

  1. Jan 21, 2009 at 12:15 PM
    #1
    natebaur

    natebaur [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Member:
    #9828
    Messages:
    34
    elkorn
    Vehicle:
    00 toyota tacoma single cab
    hey my 2000 toyota tacoma reg cab dude not come with an rpm guage is there anyway to add a digital one?????
     
  2. Jan 21, 2009 at 12:21 PM
    #2
    Who Dat Popcorn

    Who Dat Popcorn Dafuq

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Member:
    #4992
    Messages:
    1,470
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ricky
    Richmond, VA
    Vehicle:
    Sold :/
    SOLD
  3. Jan 21, 2009 at 7:38 PM
    #3
    natebaur

    natebaur [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Member:
    #9828
    Messages:
    34
    elkorn
    Vehicle:
    00 toyota tacoma single cab
    yea just looked up scan guage is it meant to be used while drving??? and my obd 2 plug in is in the enginebAY is it okay to run the wire through the firewall???
     
  4. Jan 21, 2009 at 7:41 PM
    #4
    tigerfan00

    tigerfan00 BECAUSE INTERNETS!! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Member:
    #5966
    Messages:
    37,158
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    Dunkin Donuts
    Vehicle:
    02 TRD 4x4
    i suspect that if you found a wrecked SR5 of the same generation/year range you could swap out the gauge cluster...but your mileage would be wrong
     
  5. Jan 21, 2009 at 7:42 PM
    #5
    mneuls

    mneuls Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Member:
    #7836
    Messages:
    280
    Gender:
    Male
    Fort St John, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    5100's and dakar leaf 3"lift, Satoshi grill,
    Bilstein 5100's front and back, dakar 3" leaf springs, Westin bull bar, piaa driving lights, piaa replacement bulbs, H/U, 2x10" mtx tt65 subs, 1000w clarion monoblock, Mtx surround speakers. green wire mod. Flowmaster 40, airaid intake. scanguage II.
    y do you need rpm? you have an automatic.
     
  6. Jan 21, 2009 at 7:48 PM
    #6
    dually

    dually Low and slow

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Member:
    #8205
    Messages:
    3,127
    Gender:
    Male
    Interstate underpass
    Vehicle:
    05 Indigo 4wd Longbed
    Not as many as the 98..
    Does it matter? No
     
  7. Jan 21, 2009 at 7:51 PM
    #7
    mneuls

    mneuls Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Member:
    #7836
    Messages:
    280
    Gender:
    Male
    Fort St John, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    5100's and dakar leaf 3"lift, Satoshi grill,
    Bilstein 5100's front and back, dakar 3" leaf springs, Westin bull bar, piaa driving lights, piaa replacement bulbs, H/U, 2x10" mtx tt65 subs, 1000w clarion monoblock, Mtx surround speakers. green wire mod. Flowmaster 40, airaid intake. scanguage II.
    i guess not, I just don't see the point of having a tach in an auto. neither did the engineers at toyota i guess.
     
  8. Jan 22, 2009 at 11:15 AM
    #8
    tacoma-king

    tacoma-king Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Member:
    #10232
    Messages:
    105
    sault ste. marie Michigan
    Vehicle:
    1997 Tacoma
    hitch
    some people like to have them just to have them Just like I dont need a lift and bigger tires but I want them
     
  9. Jan 22, 2009 at 5:36 PM
    #9
    Aldo ct

    Aldo ct Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Member:
    #11695
    Messages:
    49
    Gender:
    Male
    central California
    Vehicle:
    97 Tacoma 2rz
    LC header, prerunner/4x4 front end, hellwig rear sway bar/beefed brackets, instrument cluster w/tachometer, 60/40 bench seat, solid sideview mirrors, slider rear window, rearview mirror w/map lights
    If you want it to look factory, find one at a junk yard or through someone. I am not sure if you can adjust the digital mileage to match yours.

    I did the same thing. I had an instrument cluster with no tach, and found a cluster with tach and swaped them. I took both clusters to a speedo shop and they corrected the mileage on the new cluster. I have a cable driven cluster.
     
  10. Jan 22, 2009 at 7:45 PM
    #10
    natebaur

    natebaur [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Member:
    #9828
    Messages:
    34
    elkorn
    Vehicle:
    00 toyota tacoma single cab
    its nice knowing what my rpm is because when i do test like microvat or anything i need to know where 2500 rpm is at
     
  11. Jan 23, 2009 at 6:07 PM
    #11
    darkturtleninja

    darkturtleninja 9th level dungeon master

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Member:
    #11243
    Messages:
    265
    Gender:
    Male
    Illinois
    Vehicle:
    95 2.7 3rz turd
    cold air intake, body lift, suspension lift.
    Get a Haynes or chiltons book.... its the best 15 bucks you can spend on a vehicle! in the back of the book there are wiring diagrams.... look for instrument panel guages and warning light system under the chassis electrical system diagrams. on my 95 it is the black wire in the wiring harness that plugs into the guages.

    that would be for an aftermarket tach

    and what do you know my Haynes book says 1995 thru 2000 all models.....
     
  12. Jan 29, 2009 at 12:51 AM
    #12
    wawireguy

    wawireguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Member:
    #6686
    Messages:
    189
    Haynes and Chiltons always let me down. Find a Toyota factory manual if you really want to be able to work on it.
     
  13. Jan 29, 2009 at 7:27 AM
    #13
    darkturtleninja

    darkturtleninja 9th level dungeon master

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Member:
    #11243
    Messages:
    265
    Gender:
    Male
    Illinois
    Vehicle:
    95 2.7 3rz turd
    cold air intake, body lift, suspension lift.
    that is not the point....
     
  14. Mar 25, 2009 at 8:16 PM
    #14
    zigzagg321

    zigzagg321 T100

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Member:
    #15115
    Messages:
    116
    Gender:
    Male
    Ohio
    Vehicle:
    96 T100 SR5
    sliding rear window
    not to dig up an old crusty thread or anything, but... Anyone try any of this yet? Id like to add a tach to my 96 2.7L.
     
  15. Mar 25, 2009 at 8:18 PM
    #15
    HerNameIsLucy

    HerNameIsLucy I miss Lucy. :-(

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Member:
    #8256
    Messages:
    3,047
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Equador. Don't know why.
    Vehicle:
    RIP Lucy.
    She's gone but not forgotten.
    Tigerfan is the mileage stored at the gauge cluster or in the ECU?
     
  16. Mar 25, 2009 at 8:31 PM
    #16
    tigerfan00

    tigerfan00 BECAUSE INTERNETS!! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Member:
    #5966
    Messages:
    37,158
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    Dunkin Donuts
    Vehicle:
    02 TRD 4x4
    i think it'll depend on whether or not the odo is digital or analog but im not sure

    never explored this...i just for some reason know that in older trucks sr5 added a tach
     
  17. Mar 26, 2009 at 9:47 AM
    #17
    darkturtleninja

    darkturtleninja 9th level dungeon master

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Member:
    #11243
    Messages:
    265
    Gender:
    Male
    Illinois
    Vehicle:
    95 2.7 3rz turd
    cold air intake, body lift, suspension lift.
    i have an aftermarket tach... like i said... black wire....
     
To Top