1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

I need your opinion or advice. (New to this)

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by MrGuitarguy, Jun 13, 2010.

1. Jun 13, 2010 at 9:37 PM
    MrGuitarguy

MrGuitarguy [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    John
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    PreRunner Longbed SR5
    I'm new to this whole modding thing. This is my first truck, and although I've never considered myself a truck guy....damn I'm loving this Taco. That being said I caught the MOD bug. Ive been saving my paychecks for a 3' lift, wheels and tires. I want my truck to look mean! but....I would like your advice and/or opinions to my future purchases.

First off is the wheels and tires. I'm going for a black and red theme, and I think these wheels would look cool (aside from that stupid chrome Nascar text, I think I can get that painted?). Sorry I dont know how to post pics. I provided links.

Wheels (http://www.tirerack.com/wheels/WheelCloseUpServlet?target=runWheelSearch&initialPartNumber=1329065500B&wheelMake=NASCAR&wheelModel=Daytona&wheelFinish=Black+w%2FRed+Stripe&showRear=no&autoMake=Toyota&autoModel=Tacoma+Double+Cab+Without+TPMS&autoYear=2005&autoModClar=2wd+Prerunner&filterSize=All&filterFinish=All&filterSpecial=false&filterBrand=NASCAR&filterNew=All&sort=Brand) I'm thinking 17x9's on these tires

Tires: I was going to get general grabbers AT2's, but apparently they dont make them in 285 65 17. I could use advice on which tires to get. I DONT WANT TO SPEND MORE THAN $200 each, but I do want AT's.

My biggest concern is that the tire combination will rub? Should I not get 285's?