1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Ignition Power under dash?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Y2kbaja, Jan 26, 2020.

  1. Jan 26, 2020 at 4:46 PM
    #1
    Y2kbaja

    Y2kbaja [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Member:
    #106028
    Messages:
    890
    Gender:
    Male
    Sacramento
    Vehicle:
    05 Total Chaos Tacoma
    Total Chaos
    I'm wiring a switch box and need ignition power to power it up. Under the dash, where’s a good source? I can go under hood too. Thanks in advance
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2020
  2. Jan 26, 2020 at 4:52 PM
    #2
    rnish

    rnish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Member:
    #129450
    Messages:
    6,340
    Gender:
    Male
    Maryland USA
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma 2nd gen
    Pro Suspension (Bilstein), OME Dakar (med), armor
    The fuse box, left and under the steering wheel.
     
  3. Jan 26, 2020 at 4:54 PM
    #3
    TuRDLYFE

    TuRDLYFE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2019
    Member:
    #310230
    Messages:
    1,292
    An over-taxed town, county, and state
    Vehicle:
    2020 AG TRD Pro 6MT
    Behind the ignition is a good place too. You running a splice or doing an add a fuse? I should also ask which switch box you're installing.
     
  4. Jan 26, 2020 at 5:07 PM
    #4
    Muddinfun

    Muddinfun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Member:
    #216500
    Messages:
    7,507
    Since your Taco started life as a Double cab prerunner, the 4WD fuse isn’t used. (Unless your prerunner is a TRD OR) If that fuse location is prewired, that would be a great place to put in an add a fuse.
     
    TnShooter likes this.
  5. Jan 27, 2020 at 6:43 AM
    #5
    Y2kbaja

    Y2kbaja [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Member:
    #106028
    Messages:
    890
    Gender:
    Male
    Sacramento
    Vehicle:
    05 Total Chaos Tacoma
    Total Chaos
    I guess the question was how to extract the power out of the fuse block and what circuit to use. I found the add-a-circuit and will be using that. I am a prerunner so I will see if there is any power in any empty fuse holder, that would be fantastic. If not, I'll go with the cig lighter since I have that powered from the battery.
    I'm adding this guy from Amazon. It's pretty cool since it's self contained with fuses and relays. But since I'm only using it for off-road lights which I relay off the high beam I had to add more relays. It did clean up the dash and amount of wires going thru the firewall. Reduced that from about 20 to 6.
     
To Top