1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

I'm installing my Hellas and have a question

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by xxaarraa, Feb 10, 2012.

  1. Feb 10, 2012 at 8:49 AM
    #1
    xxaarraa

    xxaarraa [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Member:
    #39413
    Messages:
    578
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi Guys,

    I am in the middle of installing my Hella 700FFs behind my Satoshi with an Elusive Elements light bar. I have a question on wiring them. If you take a look at this instructions sheet that came with the hellas,

    [​IMG]



    • If you look at the far right corner where they show the wiring for the switch. The top (labeled # 3) is ground, middle (labeled # 2) is from the relay. What is the bottom (labeled # 1)? It shows it going to my headlights? Does this mean I have to splice into headlight wires? If yes, which color wire on the headlight do I tap?
    • Also, I am assuming the white box thing in between the battery and the relay is just an in-line fuse?
    Thanks in advance,
     
  2. Feb 10, 2012 at 8:54 AM
    #2
    Muy Grande

    Muy Grande Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Member:
    #14111
    Messages:
    1,392
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Dallas, TX; RGV, TX
    Vehicle:
    06 DC TRD
    Suspension: DHoes up front, Dakar and OME out back. Audio: Alpine w205 w/ pair of Alpine Amps, Image Dynamic 6.5 Component Speakers up front and Image Dynamic Subs in the Back. Armor: ARB Bull Bar, Rocktek rear bumper and custom rock sliders. Other: Rigid Industries LED Light Bar, Platinum DieHard Battery, BlueSea Fuse Block, rear lights, bed lights, leds inside.
    No not your headlights.....it shows a power source.

    So if you have Blue Sea Block installed you would connect it there.....if you don't have a Blue Sea block you can splice into any 12 volt source or you can always connect it direct to the Battery. Keep in mind if you do this you can turn the lights on without turning on the truck. An option would be to put an inline fuse on that power wire going to the battery.

    They sale them at Vatozone or walmart, just get a standard 15/20/25 amp inline fuse. That should do the job.

    Good Luck.
     
  3. Feb 10, 2012 at 8:56 AM
    #3
    chadderkdawg

    chadderkdawg Don't ask questions you don't want the answer to..

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Member:
    #55763
    Messages:
    8,163
    Gender:
    Male
    Des Moines, Iowa
    Vehicle:
    09 FX4 F150
    Yep, just a 12 volt source, wherever you may take that from. I usually do the accessory, just so they couldn't run when the truck is off.
     
  4. Feb 10, 2012 at 9:03 AM
    #4
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,821
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    Yes, those directions are telling you to take power from the headlight so your lights will only come on when your headlights are on and the switch is on. I'll have to check to see which wire the directions are telling you to tap into.

    You do not HAVE to get power from there, it's a functionality thing. If you only want the lights to come on when your headlights are on, then tap the headlight wire. If you want them to be operational any time the ignition is on, find a circuit in the under hood fuse panel that's only hot when the ignition is on and tap off of that.

    That white box is an in-line fuse.

    So... you're putting new lights in the Tacoma, does that mean you've come to your senses on the Ranger idea? :stirthepot:
     
  5. Feb 10, 2012 at 11:13 AM
    #5
    xxaarraa

    xxaarraa [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Member:
    #39413
    Messages:
    578
    Gender:
    Male
    LOL I knew you would ask. I am still debating man, haven't decided yet. But I paid for the light bar and lights like 2 months ago and didn't have anything to do today, so decided to put them on anyway.

    Are you coming to the Foxboro meet & greet tomorrow?
     
  6. Feb 10, 2012 at 11:19 AM
    #6
    xxaarraa

    xxaarraa [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Member:
    #39413
    Messages:
    578
    Gender:
    Male
    I like this idea. I would prefer the hellas to work independent of the headlights, but still cut out when I take the key out of the ignition (in case I forget to turn them ooff).

    Does anyone know if there is a blank fuse slot in the underhood fusebox that is switched power? I could just get an add-a-fuse and tap there. I don't have a multimeter and even if I did, I am pretty sure I have forgotten how to use one :eek:
     
  7. Feb 10, 2012 at 11:22 AM
    #7
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,821
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    I'm a maybe. I've got some running around early morning to do so if I get home in time I'd like to swing by. I've driven by that place tons of times, I want to stop in and see what kinds of products/services they have.
     
  8. Feb 11, 2012 at 6:31 PM
    #8
    JustinL

    JustinL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Member:
    #50299
    Messages:
    3,563
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Newington, CT
    Vehicle:
    2009 TRD OffRoad DCSB Pyrite Mica
    2012 Conversion
    Can you post up a pic of the 700FFs installed? I'm debating those behind my Satoshi and BDE light bracket.
     
  9. Feb 11, 2012 at 6:55 PM
    #9
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,821
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    There are a couple 10A fuses that are at the back of the underhood fuse panel that are only hot when the ignition is on. I've got my aftermarket lights wired off one of them.
     
  10. Feb 14, 2012 at 1:36 PM
    #10
    xxaarraa

    xxaarraa [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Member:
    #39413
    Messages:
    578
    Gender:
    Male
    Alright folks, thanks for all your help. I completed the install today. For the 12V, I just spliced into the add-a-circuit that was already powering my LED DTRLs. Just upped the fuses to 10 A (were 7.5 before just for the LEDs). Happy with the way it turned out, have to see how they hold up and how well they light the road at night.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
To Top