1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

In over my head!!

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by boogie, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. Feb 20, 2009 at 12:20 PM
    #1
    boogie

    boogie [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Member:
    #8869
    Messages:
    80
    Gender:
    Male
    south florida
    Vehicle:
    05 DC TRD Sport 2WD 6" Fabtec 951 Moto Metals
    bull bar, lift, rims ,tires,TRD floor mats,led interior bulbs, color matched bed cap
    I am in the process of installing front components in my 05 D/C. I followed the tutorial on line and the result is less than stellar.

    I wired the incomming wire to the input side of the crossover. Wired the tweeter and woofer to the output side of the crossover and nothing. I balanced the signal to the stock side and had music , moved the balance to the side I just installed and nothing.

    I checked and double checked all my connections and they seem to be right.

    Does the other side have to be installed for it to work? I'm at a loss. I'm sure I'm overlooking something simple, but for the life of me I can't figure it out. I appreciate any and all advice.
     
  2. Feb 20, 2009 at 12:36 PM
    #2
    wildjerseyfirefighter

    wildjerseyfirefighter I sell fishing and fishing accessories

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Member:
    #11677
    Messages:
    7,958
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    NJ
    Vehicle:
    05 Tacoma TRD Sport
    stock, for now
    is the stock side still hooked up?

    Sounds like you got mixed wires somewhere.
     
  3. Feb 20, 2009 at 1:13 PM
    #3
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,963
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    try hooking the stock speaker back up and see what happens just for kicks. Helps you know that you are at least getting signal.
     
  4. Feb 20, 2009 at 1:51 PM
    #4
    boogie

    boogie [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Member:
    #8869
    Messages:
    80
    Gender:
    Male
    south florida
    Vehicle:
    05 DC TRD Sport 2WD 6" Fabtec 951 Moto Metals
    bull bar, lift, rims ,tires,TRD floor mats,led interior bulbs, color matched bed cap
    As usual I've provided about half the information needed. I'm hooking these up to a stock JBL system.

    I'm eventually going to replace the entire system but was trying to get a head start. It seems I would be better served to install these components after I put in my new HU. Thanks for the replies. I guess I'll put it back to factory for now.

    Just put the factory stuff back in and it all works fine.
     
  5. Feb 20, 2009 at 1:55 PM
    #5
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,963
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    Eh, no prob with the route you are taking, just that there's a bit of troubleshooting. I'd get an answer nailed down - maybe one of your speakers is defective? If so, you might need to take things back to the store within 15 days.
     
  6. Feb 21, 2009 at 8:40 AM
    #6
    boogie

    boogie [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Member:
    #8869
    Messages:
    80
    Gender:
    Male
    south florida
    Vehicle:
    05 DC TRD Sport 2WD 6" Fabtec 951 Moto Metals
    bull bar, lift, rims ,tires,TRD floor mats,led interior bulbs, color matched bed cap
    I talked with an "installer" and his take on it is that the component speakers are not compatible with my stock JBL system.

    Does that make any sense?
     
  7. Feb 21, 2009 at 10:13 AM
    #7
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,963
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    In a Cadillac Escalade ESV with the Bose package, the speakers send a response signal back to the head unit. To use different speakers, you have to buy a device that fools the car into thinking the Bose speakers are still attached. If you remove the deck and speakers, you have to buy a different unit that fools the car into thinking the stock head unit is still attached. :goingcrazy:


    ...but we aren't in a Cadillac. :D


    So what the installer said isn't impossible, but it's usually far fetched. Instead of assuming the worst, it's best to methodically eliminate problems or questions.

    Again,
    -Have you tried re-installing the stock speakers?
    -have you tried both sets of component speakers?
    -can you try installing on a different vehicle?
    -try taking the components down to a REPUTABLE car stereo shop, tell them your problem, then ask if they could hook things up to see if the speakers work. Be present the ENTIRE time so you can make sure they tried things out and can't just sell a line of BS about how things didn't work.
    -try hooking up the components to your home stereo at a VERY low volume (I'm not responsible if you blow them!). Does sound come out?
    -try hooking up the midrange without the crossover, or try hooking the stock speaker up to the crossover in place of the midrange. Try very low volumes again. Any sound?

    these are just scenarios I could think up to try testing. If you know how to use a multimeter, you could go around with that as well.
     
  8. Feb 21, 2009 at 11:03 AM
    #8
    boogie

    boogie [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Member:
    #8869
    Messages:
    80
    Gender:
    Male
    south florida
    Vehicle:
    05 DC TRD Sport 2WD 6" Fabtec 951 Moto Metals
    bull bar, lift, rims ,tires,TRD floor mats,led interior bulbs, color matched bed cap

    I've tried some of your suggestions..I'll try the rest ..thanks a bunch.
     
  9. Feb 21, 2009 at 12:01 PM
    #9
    boogie

    boogie [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Member:
    #8869
    Messages:
    80
    Gender:
    Male
    south florida
    Vehicle:
    05 DC TRD Sport 2WD 6" Fabtec 951 Moto Metals
    bull bar, lift, rims ,tires,TRD floor mats,led interior bulbs, color matched bed cap
    This is what I found:

    1. Hooked up woofer just as you would a normal coaxial speaker, woofer worked fine.
    2.Hooked woofer up through the crossover without the tweeter, woofer worked fine.
    3.Hooked woofer and tweeter up through crossover, unplugged the factory tweeter and neither the woofer or tweeter worked.
    4.Plugged the factory tweeter back in and the woofer, tweeter and factory tweeter all worked.

    Obviously there is something that happens when I unplug the factory tweeter that will not allow the components to work. Any thoughts on this?

    I do appreciate the help.
     
  10. Feb 21, 2009 at 12:44 PM
    #10
    boogie

    boogie [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Member:
    #8869
    Messages:
    80
    Gender:
    Male
    south florida
    Vehicle:
    05 DC TRD Sport 2WD 6" Fabtec 951 Moto Metals
    bull bar, lift, rims ,tires,TRD floor mats,led interior bulbs, color matched bed cap
    Nevermind........search is your friend:eek: I need to make a jumper for the factory tweeter plug.
     
To Top