1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

In search of a ride for my son

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by bigmule, Dec 23, 2009.

1. Dec 23, 2009 at 5:08 AM
    bigmule

bigmule [OP] New Member

Member:
    First Name:
    mike
    westerville ohio
    Hi all and Merry Christmas
    I’m a newbie in search of some information and a truck for my son’s first ride.
    I’d like to spend between 5,000 and 10,000. It must be a 4 x 4 and ext. cab. I’m good at most mechanical, fair on electrical and the bodywork I’ll farm out.
    Now for the questions;
    1. Are there any specific years we should stay away from?
    2. I’m leaning towards a 4 cylinder but plan to do some towing. No more than 1500 lbs. Should I look for a 6 cylinder?
    3. Is gas mileage much different between the 4 and 6?
    4. Automatic or standard?
    5. Is rust a major issue?
    6. Parts readily available
    7. Anything I’m missing
    Thanks a bunch
    Mike

2. Dec 23, 2009 at 5:17 AM
    VirginiaBound

VirginiaBound Whyareyoureadingthis?

Member:
    First Name:
    Sam I am, green eggs and ham
    North of Maine, South of Spain
    My daily driver and play around truck is a 99 Tacoma. Its a 4cyl 4x4 with a 5 speed manual. I get around 23 mpg and its a great first truck for me. Its not anywhere near the nicest truck on here and Im not trying to say it is, but I think for your sons first truck that would be the perfect set up. Any of the 98-2004 trucks are pure tanks.

The gas mileage is different, my friend has a 6 in his 99 and hes getting around 14 mpg.