1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Installed a PLX gauge

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas' started by SpaceMonkey, Mar 27, 2010.

  1. Mar 27, 2010 at 6:11 PM
    #1
    SpaceMonkey

    SpaceMonkey [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Member:
    #15886
    Messages:
    600
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston, Tx
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner
    Purchased a PLX DM-100 obd gauge from URD. This is what comes in the box.

    [​IMG]

    Today I spent a little time hardwiring the gauge to switched power. Using a tacoma wiring guide I found online, I traced the wire to tap which is coming from the accessory relay. It was already fused at 7.5A so I didn't bother adding another 5A fuse to the switched circuit. Don't mind that larger red cable hanging on the right; it's for my dvd bypass.

    [​IMG]

    I mounted the PLX box to the steering shroud; really couldn't find any other good place. I made sure all wires were tucked away from any moving parts.

    [​IMG]

    and here are some shots of the gauge in the URD flexpod:

    [​IMG]

    It comes with 4 built-in sensors already which are RPM, Throttle Position, Vehicle Speed, and Timing. (I didn't have RPM showing in this pic)

    [​IMG]

    Here is a shot of the configuration screen. You can also check engine codes and clear them.

    [​IMG]

    And it has OBD II support too. Some more screen shots:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Finally, here is the remote for it. I still haven't found a good location to mount permanently. Perhaps next to the cup holder.

    [​IMG]

    extra shot of the interior. ;)

    [​IMG]

    Now I need to pair up another gauge with the PLX. that will be down the road. Perhaps another PLX to read AFR.

    FYI, PLX does sell a bigger gauge, the DM-200 obd, which is 60mm but other than the size, the gauges are 100% identical. The DM-100 obd is 52mm which is a more standard size. I think it looks perfect mounted in this location.
     
  2. Mar 27, 2010 at 6:32 PM
    #2
    rme

    rme Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Member:
    #8309
    Messages:
    1,898
    Gender:
    Male
    Savannah
    Vehicle:
    Green TACOMA
    XM, Panasonic Stereo, Headlights,Electric Ant,Toyota Deluxe Wheels, Rhino Lining, Cargo Rails
    Look perfect my "ass!" It is perfect!!! That has to be the sweetest set up I've ever seen. I have a set of McNally gauges in the VW but I really like how you did it. Damm I know your a perfectionist...Did you ever think to mount the gauge(s) in the drivers pillar using a bracket or preformed gauge bracket? What are you going to do with the other slot you have empty...(what gauge are you going to put in it) Does the larger gauge come with a dual mount as well? Does the gauge interfere with your looking at your other instruments in the dash? I got to tell you "I AM IMPRESSED!" Thanks for sharing....
     
  3. Mar 27, 2010 at 6:34 PM
    #3
    mwild

    mwild I CANT SPELL SO DONT BITCH

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Member:
    #6720
    Messages:
    1,414
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Vernon, NJ
    Vehicle:
    03 2500 Dodge Ram
    Cat-Back, weather techs, ipod and sisuis Old 04 Taco: 5100s At all 4 corners set at 2.5", Toyotec AAL, Gibson cat-back, Deck plate mod, 20% Tint on fronts, 10" Kicker Comp sub, Sirius radio, Bud Built Skid, Pro Comp 8069 Wheels
    That looks sick i like that alot better then the scan gauge.
     
  4. Mar 27, 2010 at 6:45 PM
    #4
    SpaceMonkey

    SpaceMonkey [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Member:
    #15886
    Messages:
    600
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston, Tx
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner

    Thanks man. The flexpod where the gauge mounts is a separate part sold from URD. They offer 52mm and 60mm versions. Very easy to install. Here is the link:

    http://www.urdusa.com/product_info.php?products_id=1260519003

    URD also sells the PLX gauges (better pricing and excellent customer service from Gadget) or you can get them from PLX directly

    http://www.plxdevices.com/multigauges.html

    I couldn't mount gauge in the A pillar because I have custom tweeter pods.

    [​IMG]

    Plus I like having the gauges in front of which makes this setup better for me. The gauge doesn't interfere with the instrument cluster. The 60 mm version may obstruct more of your view which is why I went with the smaller 52mm version.

    I will probably get another PLX gauge like the DM-5 AFR gauge. Then I will add other sensors like boost, EGT, oil pressure, and fuel pressure to my DM-100. That will set me up for my future TRD supercharger. I already have the APR X1 installed.
     
  5. Mar 27, 2010 at 6:47 PM
    #5
    SpaceMonkey

    SpaceMonkey [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Member:
    #15886
    Messages:
    600
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston, Tx
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner

    Thanks. The scangauge with the xgauge feature is a great setup. In fact, it does read AFR (air to fuel ratio) where as the PLX gauge requires a separate sensor. The nice thing about PLX is you can keep adding sensors (although they can get pricey) and you can display them all from one gauge. Pretty neat.
     
  6. Mar 27, 2010 at 6:50 PM
    #6
    mwild

    mwild I CANT SPELL SO DONT BITCH

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Member:
    #6720
    Messages:
    1,414
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Vernon, NJ
    Vehicle:
    03 2500 Dodge Ram
    Cat-Back, weather techs, ipod and sisuis Old 04 Taco: 5100s At all 4 corners set at 2.5", Toyotec AAL, Gibson cat-back, Deck plate mod, 20% Tint on fronts, 10" Kicker Comp sub, Sirius radio, Bud Built Skid, Pro Comp 8069 Wheels
    Are you gonna put something in the other gauge mount.
     
  7. Mar 27, 2010 at 6:50 PM
    #7
    SpaceMonkey

    SpaceMonkey [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Member:
    #15886
    Messages:
    600
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston, Tx
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner
    yes, eventually. It will probably be an AFR gauge from PLX.

    The other nice thing about PLX gauges is you can customize them. Change colors, backgrounds, and other displays. I haven't messed with that part. here is what one creative member on TN did with his DM-200. Very sweet install.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2iIx11F-cco
     
  8. Mar 27, 2010 at 6:52 PM
    #8
    mwild

    mwild I CANT SPELL SO DONT BITCH

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Member:
    #6720
    Messages:
    1,414
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Vernon, NJ
    Vehicle:
    03 2500 Dodge Ram
    Cat-Back, weather techs, ipod and sisuis Old 04 Taco: 5100s At all 4 corners set at 2.5", Toyotec AAL, Gibson cat-back, Deck plate mod, 20% Tint on fronts, 10" Kicker Comp sub, Sirius radio, Bud Built Skid, Pro Comp 8069 Wheels
    nice
     
  9. Apr 23, 2010 at 6:32 AM
    #9
    SManZ

    SManZ el tráfico más lento se queda derecha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Member:
    #22817
    Messages:
    1,339
    Gender:
    Male
    Centreville, VA
    Vehicle:
    '10 Supercharged 4x4 Sport 6-spd
    TRD Supercharger, King 2.5" extended travel remote-resi coilovers, OME Dakar leaf packs, King 2.5" extended travel rear shocks, Total Chaos UCAs, MBRP turndown exhaust, TRD intake, TRD Quickshifter, Goodridge SS brake lines, EBC Sport Rotors, Hawk HPS pads, TRD FJ Cruiser Special Edition 16" Anthracite Rims, Spidertrax wheel spacers, 265/75R16 A/T, Autometer oil pressure, oil temp gauges, TRD boost gauge, PLX DM-100 OBD II scanner, flexpod mounts, A-pillar gauge pods
    SpaceMonkey, that is a nice setup! I'm looking at doing the same thing but I have some questions;

    You mentioned it comes with 4 sensors. Do these sensors need to be wired in or does it read this data through the OBD port?

    Does this gauge display AFR? If so, can it be used to tune a URD MAF calibrator?

    My end goal is to get something like this or a Scanguage (which IMO looks dopey), and a vac or boost/vac if I go FI, both in the steering column mount that you have. And then a oil pressure and possibly a dedicated AFR gauge in an A-pillar mount.
     
  10. Apr 23, 2010 at 8:01 AM
    #10
    SpaceMonkey

    SpaceMonkey [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Member:
    #15886
    Messages:
    600
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston, Tx
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner
    The 4 sensors are built into the red box you see in my pics. These are additional parameters aside from the standard OBD II ones.

    AFR is not available out of the box; a separate sensor is needed for it and I plan to get it soon. However, short and long fuel trims are available from the OBD II which may be used to setup the URD MAF calibrator. Please confirm with Gadget first from URD. I'd hate for you to buy this expensive gauge and have it not work for your application.

    I kept my Scangauge II because of the xgauge features which interestingly enough can read AFR (not 100% accurate). I have both scangauge and PLX gauge connected to my OBD port using a splitter cable.

    Your goals are in line with mine but I'm trying to keep the number of gauges down. With PLX, you can simply add sensors and display them all from one gauge. Boost gauge will go in on the other slot of my flexpod.

    Best of luck to you.

     
  11. Apr 23, 2010 at 8:12 AM
    #11
    SpaceMonkey

    SpaceMonkey [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Member:
    #15886
    Messages:
    600
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston, Tx
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner
    Forgot to include this update:

    Routed the remote in the center console. This will work for now.

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Apr 23, 2010 at 8:15 AM
    #12
    SpaceMonkey

    SpaceMonkey [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Member:
    #15886
    Messages:
    600
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston, Tx
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner
  13. Feb 26, 2012 at 12:07 AM
    #13
    DOUBLEJTACOMA

    DOUBLEJTACOMA Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Member:
    #72324
    Messages:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeremy
    Jasper, Alberta
    Vehicle:
    Blacked out SR5
    -Black Halo Projector Headlights with HIDs -Black Billet Grille -Night Shaded Tail Lights -Exhaust (Magnaflow) -URD 2.7L Supercharger (soon, may need help)
    I'm getting one for sure now
     
  14. Feb 26, 2012 at 2:28 AM
    #14
    S7ICKlVlAN

    S7ICKlVlAN Cpt. Bubbleguts

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Member:
    #17250
    Messages:
    1,376
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2012 TRD Sport DCSB
    TRD badged | Hunting Cage | Smoked Tails | LED Everything | Slim Cubby HID bi-xenon's | Spidertrax 1.25" | BHLM | FLM | S2000 Ant | 20% Shade | PL 8521 | OME 885 | Bilstein 5100's | Toytec 2" AAL | FN 18x9" Bronze BFD's | 275/65-18 Duratrac's | Wrinkle Red Valve Covers | 3M Di-Noc Wrapped Interior | Kode MB Push Button Ignition | Relentless Sliders | URD TCAI | Mr.Marv Enclosure | Arc Audio 10" | Hybrid Audio Clarus F/R | Alpine PDX-5 | Alpine INE-S920HD
    Whoa, that is a slick gauge. I'll be dropping some coin on it ASAP. Thanks for the write up OP!
     
  15. Mar 11, 2013 at 10:44 PM
    #15
    DOUBLEJTACOMA

    DOUBLEJTACOMA Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Member:
    #72324
    Messages:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeremy
    Jasper, Alberta
    Vehicle:
    Blacked out SR5
    -Black Halo Projector Headlights with HIDs -Black Billet Grille -Night Shaded Tail Lights -Exhaust (Magnaflow) -URD 2.7L Supercharger (soon, may need help)
    Did you ever have any problems getting the 4 parameter mode to display properly? I just installed that same gauge and I am only getting the obdII data when I am at 5 parameters/page and I have to use the remote to get that going each time. If I program the gauge to boot up in 4 parameter mode after turing on polling as per the instructions, it just has zeros across the board....
     
To Top