1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Installed new tires, TPMS light comes on?

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by geekhouse23, Aug 4, 2014.

  1. Aug 4, 2014 at 6:57 AM
    #1
    geekhouse23

    geekhouse23 [OP] DCSBORFTMFW

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Member:
    #108251
    Messages:
    3,884
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    3rd gen MGM DCSB 4x4
    mostly stock, grocery gettin' Prius
    285/75/16 LT Duratracs Load E but on the way home the TMPS light came on :( any way to remedy this with the new tires?

    Last night I spent 15-20 mins making sure each tire was inflated to the specs listed on the driver side door jamb and the light is still on :confused:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Found these:

    http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/wh...er-lift-spare-tire-reprogram.html#post8552470

    http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/2nd-gen-tacomas/334740-tpms-woes.html#post8854375

    Should I press and hold the set button to reset the new pressure? It's set to the factory specs unless anyone else has a suggested PSI I should run?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Aug 4, 2014 at 7:01 AM
    #2
    RadTaco914

    RadTaco914 MALLIN'CRAWLIN'

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Member:
    #89268
    Messages:
    1,795
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    NEIL
    WNC
    Vehicle:
    13' MGM D-cab (sold) Pro-4x CC Titan
    There's always the possibility of damage to a sensor when the tires were installed..Was it on when you left the tire shop? I've never had to rest my tpms on either tacoma's..
     
  3. Aug 4, 2014 at 7:11 AM
    #3
    geekhouse23

    geekhouse23 [OP] DCSBORFTMFW

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Member:
    #108251
    Messages:
    3,884
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    3rd gen MGM DCSB 4x4
    mostly stock, grocery gettin' Prius
    Yes it was on after I left the shop. I will be in the area today and I think I might just drop it off and see what they say. They never mentioned that it would be an issue using the old sensors. it's just frustrating..:mad:
     
  4. Aug 4, 2014 at 7:12 AM
    #4
    Crusher 2

    Crusher 2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Member:
    #7871
    Messages:
    104
    Gender:
    Male
    N. Virginia
    Vehicle:
    06 Dbl cab,mostly stock
    New Wheels too? Did you transfer the sensors to the new wheels? (I did not on my second set of wheels.... drives the oil change artists nuts trying to get that light to go out!) Did you check pressure in the spare? Is it the same as the tires on the ground?
     
  5. Aug 4, 2014 at 7:19 AM
    #5
    geekhouse23

    geekhouse23 [OP] DCSBORFTMFW

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Member:
    #108251
    Messages:
    3,884
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    3rd gen MGM DCSB 4x4
    mostly stock, grocery gettin' Prius
    New wheels, yes. The stock spare is still under the truck. It does not have a sensor from factory.
     
  6. Aug 4, 2014 at 9:43 AM
    #6
    rbeezy

    rbeezy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Member:
    #43325
    Messages:
    3,330
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ron
    Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    2011 Tacoma SR5
    The stock spare does have a sensor from factory
     
  7. Aug 4, 2014 at 9:44 AM
    #7
    RadTaco914

    RadTaco914 MALLIN'CRAWLIN'

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Member:
    #89268
    Messages:
    1,795
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    NEIL
    WNC
    Vehicle:
    13' MGM D-cab (sold) Pro-4x CC Titan
    Not on the 12's & up
     
  8. Aug 4, 2014 at 9:51 AM
    #8
    scottalot

    scottalot Tacomaentia <- My sickness

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2013
    Member:
    #105349
    Messages:
    18,693
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tolattocS
    32.7833° N, 79.9333° W
    Vehicle:
    2015 DCSB Offroad 4x4 , Hell's yes!
    Wife, kid, and a dog. Sold 2013, sold 2014 Tacoma. All listed stuff was on the '14 Bed Mat, WeatherTech Rain Guards, Ultra Gauge, TW Sticker amongst others, Useless Free OEM Bug Deflector, Flyzeye, OME Kit with 885's and Dakar and Nitro Shocks front and Rear . Tailgate mod, SOS Concepts 1/4" Skid Plate, White LED's interior Dome and Maps, Goodyear Wrangler MTR Kevlar 275/70/17, Wet Okole Seat Covers - full piping in Charcoal Grey, Lamin-X Green Fog light film, 17"x8 -10 offset Level 8 MK6 wheels in Gun Metal Finish, SOS Concepts Sliders W/ Kickout 12/21/14, Stubby antenna, LED reverse lights, lift removed 2/20/15 - making changes and trying to make up my mind
    I would definitely take it back. See if maybe they damaged one.. That's all I would think the problem is.. GL - it sucks to fix up something and create a new problem that wasn't there before.

    This. Its stupid IMO - be nice to know the spare was flat before its needed without having to check it.






    Are you sure the new tires don't require a different pressure then the ones that came off. May need to reset the TPMS to the new pressure with that little button under the steering wheel.
     
  9. Aug 4, 2014 at 10:10 AM
    #9
    Canazes9

    Canazes9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Member:
    #61673
    Messages:
    662
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    '07 Dbl Cab TRD Sport / '12 Dbl Cab Offroad
    Couple of issues here:

    #1) Changing the tire size and type can affect the TPMS pressure readings - that's why they give u the reset button, so you can reset it.

    #2) LT tires require more air pressure than P metric tires. When you changed from the factory P metric rated tires to an E rated LT tire, the inflation pressures on the door no longer apply. The minimum inflation pressure for those tires is 35psi. If you run less than 35psi you risk damaging them from heat on extended high speed highway runs.

    Even though 35psi is the min, you will probably see optimum tire wear and performance with a little more. Try playing with tire pressures from 35-45psi, see what drives the best and maintains even wear. 38-40 psi seems best on my E rated 265/75r16's on the Tacoma. My wife's slightly heavier 4Runner does better with 42psi on the same tires.

    More than likely, inflating to the proper pressure will make the TPMS light go off (assuming the sensors weren't damaged).

    HTH

    David
     
  10. Aug 4, 2014 at 10:22 AM
    #10
    geekhouse23

    geekhouse23 [OP] DCSBORFTMFW

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Member:
    #108251
    Messages:
    3,884
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    3rd gen MGM DCSB 4x4
    mostly stock, grocery gettin' Prius
    ^ thanks man! The PSI is correct 34-35 all around. I am going to try the reset button in a bit here. Do I do anything special like hold down for 10 seconds? I think that's in one of the links I posted. Does the key need to be in the "in" position? Or the truck have to be on?
     
  11. Aug 4, 2014 at 10:34 AM
    #11
    Canazes9

    Canazes9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Member:
    #61673
    Messages:
    662
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    '07 Dbl Cab TRD Sport / '12 Dbl Cab Offroad
    From my 2012 owners manual:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    HTH

    David
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2014
  12. Aug 4, 2014 at 11:19 AM
    #12
    geekhouse23

    geekhouse23 [OP] DCSBORFTMFW

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Member:
    #108251
    Messages:
    3,884
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    3rd gen MGM DCSB 4x4
    mostly stock, grocery gettin' Prius
    Hm, followed those instructions and tried it twice, no luck :( I will go out after work and maybe try again. I assume the dealership charges a million dollars to re-program them if that is the case?
     
  13. Aug 4, 2014 at 11:26 AM
    #13
    PB65stang

    PB65stang Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Member:
    #26900
    Messages:
    1,575
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Patrick
    Denver, CO
    Vehicle:
    2015 F150 King Ranch
    Husky floor liners, Fold-a-Cover G4 Elite, Line-X
    Do we know that your new wheels will work with TPMS? It could be as simple as the fact that you don't have TPMS capability with your new wheels.
     
  14. Aug 4, 2014 at 11:28 AM
    #14
    Canazes9

    Canazes9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Member:
    #61673
    Messages:
    662
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    '07 Dbl Cab TRD Sport / '12 Dbl Cab Offroad
    What happens when you start the truck? Is the TPMS light flashing? Did you get mew rims and tires or just new tires on same rims?

    I wouldn't take it to the dealer. Any reputable tire shop should be able to get you operating. Assuming you had TPMS sensors and no problems w/ these rims prior to new tires, I'm betting a TPMS sensor is damaged. The tire shop should have a tool that can tell them which sensor is not operating properly. If they damaged your sensor, they should repair/replace it....

    David
     
  15. Aug 4, 2014 at 11:34 AM
    #15
    geekhouse23

    geekhouse23 [OP] DCSBORFTMFW

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Member:
    #108251
    Messages:
    3,884
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    3rd gen MGM DCSB 4x4
    mostly stock, grocery gettin' Prius
    Ok here is the process when I turn it on:

    TPMS light comes on and flashes for about a min or so. Then it turns solid (no flashing).

    These are new rims and tires over stock.

    From my build thread:

    "Your TPMS issue might require you to take a trip to the stealer-ship to get your sensors reprogrammed. Are you positive you got your old sensors installed in your new wheels? I've read somewhere that alloy wheels require alloy sensors and that steel wheels won't accept alloy sensors. That might be your issue. The stealer-ship should be able to check the pairing of your sensors to your truck."

    Sounds reasonable, don't know if it's true and why the tire shop didn't say anything to me.
     
  16. Aug 4, 2014 at 11:49 AM
    #16
    Canazes9

    Canazes9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Member:
    #61673
    Messages:
    662
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    '07 Dbl Cab TRD Sport / '12 Dbl Cab Offroad
    The flashing indicates a communication problem between the sensors (if you have any) and the truck. You need to go back to where you bought the tires/rims - they should have discussed all of this with you. I have not heard that steel/alloy rims require different sensors, but may be true. Regardless, the dealership is going to charge you for EVERYTHING if they have to remove tires/install sensors/remount/rebalance/initialize sensors, etc.

    Go back to where you bought the tires/rims. Find out what you have - it could be as simple as you got new sensors with the new rims but they forgot to initialize them. Few minutes and you could be on your way free of charge.

    Where are your old rims? Are the TPMS sensors still in them? if not where are they?

    Need to start with the tire shop first....

    David
     
  17. Aug 4, 2014 at 11:52 AM
    #17
    Canazes9

    Canazes9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Member:
    #61673
    Messages:
    662
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    '07 Dbl Cab TRD Sport / '12 Dbl Cab Offroad
    Did you get a receipt? What does the receipt say?

    David
     
  18. Aug 4, 2014 at 12:20 PM
    #18
    geekhouse23

    geekhouse23 [OP] DCSBORFTMFW

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Member:
    #108251
    Messages:
    3,884
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    3rd gen MGM DCSB 4x4
    mostly stock, grocery gettin' Prius
    The invoice is not billed for new sensors. It is billed for new valve stems.

    Double checked the old rims and there are no sensors. I told them to take them from the old rims and put them on the new ones. As far as I can tell, they are on the new rims on the truck. I wonder if they need to be initialized although they were only transferred :confused:

    When I picked it up, I walked in said I was here to get the Tacoma. The dude gave me the keys and I walked out..I assume anyone walking by could have done that....:eek:

    I called and talked with the manager who said to bring it in after work. I will be going straight there and I will be damned if I am going to pay for anything done today; especially if they did not educate me on anything or if they broke a sensor.

    Once this is resolved, I will NOT be going back there again; Yelp here I come! :typing:
     
  19. Aug 4, 2014 at 12:28 PM
    #19
    KenLyns

    KenLyns Lord of War

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Member:
    #37674
    Messages:
    20,685
    Gender:
    Male
    Belly of the Beast
    Vehicle:
    4x4 TRD Off Road Full-Auto
    All-Pro Front Bumper, All-Pro UCAs, Icon ET Coilovers, Icon VS Rear Shocks, TSB Leafs, Timbren Bumpstops, CBI Sliders, ViAir Compressor, Klearz LED 3rd Brake Light, Pop-N-Lock Tailgate Handle, Husky Front Flaps, Deeza HD Sway Bar Links
    Are the valve stems on your new wheels mostly rubber or metal? OEM sensors have metal stems.
     
  20. Aug 4, 2014 at 12:53 PM
    #20
    Canazes9

    Canazes9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Member:
    #61673
    Messages:
    662
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    '07 Dbl Cab TRD Sport / '12 Dbl Cab Offroad
    Factory TPMS valve stem looks like this:

    [​IMG]

    I don't know why they would charge you for valve stems if they re-used your TPMS sensors.


    David
     
To Top