1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Installing a double din with stock sub

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by supralight, Aug 24, 2011.

  1. Aug 24, 2011 at 3:29 PM
    #1
    supralight

    supralight [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Member:
    #21479
    Messages:
    674
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    Earth
    Vehicle:
    2013 4Runner limited
    Hi.

    If I install a double DIN in my TRD O/R access cab with the center sub, will the sub still work, and will it work better or louder?

    Thank you!
     
  2. Aug 24, 2011 at 3:31 PM
    #2
    Blackshirts

    Blackshirts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Member:
    #32057
    Messages:
    3,962
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner
    Headlight mod, sound system. MB Motor Sport Rims. Black Tails. 5100's, 885, grill craft, Fogs, N-Fab Step Sides. BFG TKO Tires, Wet Oks, LED map lights and dome, LED gauge mod
    Sub will still work if you hook it up.. When you buy your sterio ask for the Tacoma wire adapter and yes it will be lounder.
     
  3. Aug 24, 2011 at 3:36 PM
    #3
    supralight

    supralight [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Member:
    #21479
    Messages:
    674
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    Earth
    Vehicle:
    2013 4Runner limited
    Ok, if I understand well, you are sure that the tacoma wire adapter will include the pins of the access cab sub even if it only exists on like 10% of tacoma made? Or do I have to order/find a special wiring for my submodel?
     
  4. Aug 24, 2011 at 3:45 PM
    #4
    supralight

    supralight [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Member:
    #21479
    Messages:
    674
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    Earth
    Vehicle:
    2013 4Runner limited
    I also wanted to cut power to the headliner speakers (will surely sound like shit with a new HU), will that be possible without cutting the power to the sub?
     
  5. Aug 24, 2011 at 5:26 PM
    #5
    supralight

    supralight [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Member:
    #21479
    Messages:
    674
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    Earth
    Vehicle:
    2013 4Runner limited
    Ok. Good. Thanks for the advices!
     
To Top