1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Installing a Pioneer AVIC-X920BT

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by cstorer, Aug 26, 2010.

  1. Aug 26, 2010 at 1:53 AM
    #1
    cstorer

    cstorer [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Member:
    #42243
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Edmonds WA
    Vehicle:
    05 Double cab TRD off-road
    Hey guys, I'm new to this forum. I have a couple questions about installing the Pioneer AVIC 920bt, mostly wire related. Hoping someone who has done this can help me out.

    1) Where's the best location to tie into constant & switched power?

    2) Do I need to connect the blue/white wire (auto antenna relay control terminal)?

    3) Where do I connect the pink wire (car speed signal input)?

    4) Where do I connect the violet wire (reverse-gear signal input)? I have a manual tranny, so I'm thinking it will be near the gear box, correct?

    5) Where do I connect the lighting switch terminal? Would it be the headlight control wire? If so where exactly is that located?

    Lots of questions I know, any help would be appreciated. Thanks guys!
     
  2. Aug 26, 2010 at 3:05 AM
    #2
    rocket_scientist

    rocket_scientist Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Member:
    #32536
    Messages:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    Hell, NC
    SEARCH. There are multiple posts on this topic on the front page of this board!

    But...
    1-use the power for the stock HU for the switched power and the clock for your constant.

    2-use this wire for your amplifier turn on.

    3-Depends on the model of your truck. SEARCH

    4-Connect this to the parking brake wire and to ground if you are doing the bypass to allow changing settings on the move.

    5-connect to the headlight wire on your stock HU harness.

    SEARCH!
     
  3. Aug 26, 2010 at 3:07 PM
    #3
    cstorer

    cstorer [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Member:
    #42243
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Edmonds WA
    Vehicle:
    05 Double cab TRD off-road
    I DID search, I wouldn't have asked if I had found what I was looking for. I found nothing on this board that gave details about installing this head unit. I found reviews and people's impressions of the AVIC 920BT, but no details. Thanks for your help dude.
     
  4. Aug 26, 2010 at 6:12 PM
    #4
    Endurozw

    Endurozw War Damn Eagle!

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Member:
    #17122
    Messages:
    216
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zach
    Birmingham, Alabama
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner DC SR5 w/ tow package
    Fold-a-cover G4 - Wranger Duratrac 265/75/16 Audio Upgrades: Pioneer AVH-P4200DVD / JL Audio HD600/4 amp / Hybrid Audio 6.5 Clarus up front / Arc Audio 10 in subwoofer
    This might be an obvious question but just to check...you did buy a wiring harness correct?
     
  5. Aug 26, 2010 at 11:00 PM
    #5
    cstorer

    cstorer [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Member:
    #42243
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Edmonds WA
    Vehicle:
    05 Double cab TRD off-road
    No I didn't, but I'm not planning on tapping into the JBL system so I shouldn't need one right? I'm running my own amp, speakers and sub.
     
  6. Aug 27, 2010 at 1:37 AM
    #6
    wrmathis

    wrmathis Dark Lord of the Sith

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Member:
    #9126
    Messages:
    7,089
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Lives: Fountain, Colorado/Home: Leesburg, GA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Tacoma TRD OR 4x4
    parts and stuff
    i would still use the power portion of a harness even if ur not goin to use the factory wiring for the speakers
     
  7. Aug 27, 2010 at 11:00 AM
    #7
    cstorer

    cstorer [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Member:
    #42243
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Edmonds WA
    Vehicle:
    05 Double cab TRD off-road
    Running out to get one, hopefully the local stereo shop has one! Thanks for the help.
     
  8. Aug 27, 2010 at 12:40 PM
    #8
    81shark

    81shark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Member:
    #10567
    Messages:
    1,681
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2006 Base Access CP1
    i agree with tapping into the factory harness with a adapter. no need to hook up anything beyond the wires you need.

    it's never a good idea to chop up the factory harness.
     
  9. Aug 27, 2010 at 12:51 PM
    #9
    cstorer

    cstorer [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Member:
    #42243
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Edmonds WA
    Vehicle:
    05 Double cab TRD off-road
    Well they had a harness, it was $100. The guy at the shop gave me some nice connectors that do a really clean job of tapping into the factory harness, so I think I'm gonna go that route instead. I would definitely prefer the harness, but I'm not gonna spend $100 on it! Especially when the non JBL harness is like $10 on ebay.
     
  10. Aug 27, 2010 at 12:53 PM
    #10
    cstorer

    cstorer [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Member:
    #42243
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Edmonds WA
    Vehicle:
    05 Double cab TRD off-road
    Never did figure out where to tap the car speed signal input wire (pink wire) into. I did a search but couldn't find any info, any suggestions?
     
  11. Aug 27, 2010 at 2:42 PM
    #11
    cstorer

    cstorer [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Member:
    #42243
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Edmonds WA
    Vehicle:
    05 Double cab TRD off-road
    I called the guys at soundman car audio (who are awesome by the way - I'm gonna plug them since they helped me out when they didn't need to - http://www.soundmancaraudio.com/). The guy I spoke to said the speed sensor wire, and the reverse wire don't need to be hooked up. Apparently the speed sensor wire can actually slow the system down since it's trying to calibrate vehicle speed with GPS satellite location. He spoke to a tech at Pioneer who said he doesn't even hook them up. Interesting. Anyways, for anyone else wondering what to do with that wire then that's an option.

    Performed the DVD bypass (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2lxMNf7rLZo), hopefully it works like it's supposed to.
     
  12. Aug 27, 2010 at 8:18 PM
    #12
    wizzard

    wizzard fng

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Member:
    #41787
    Messages:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    Central MS
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner SR5 V6 Rad Red, AC, TRD/OR
    I'm starting this project tomorrow. From what I've learned, the speed sensor wire is used with the ECO stuff (don't care about this feature) , and the reverse would be hooked up only in conjunction with a backup camera (perhaps a later project)
     
  13. Aug 28, 2010 at 11:19 PM
    #13
    cstorer

    cstorer [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Member:
    #42243
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Edmonds WA
    Vehicle:
    05 Double cab TRD off-road
    I wonder if the Eco stuff is actually worth utelizing. It would be cool to have a more detailed trip computer, however I don't give a rat's ass about my carbon footprint. The back-up camera will be a future addition for me too.
     
  14. Sep 2, 2010 at 6:23 AM
    #14
    travbz24

    travbz24 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Member:
    #37129
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    Des Moines, Iowa
    Vehicle:
    2011 BLK DC TRD SPT
    Does anyone have pics of the install? Wondering about where to route the mic wire and where to mount the nav antenna and route its wire.
     
  15. Sep 3, 2010 at 3:59 PM
    #15
    Dallas8888

    Dallas8888 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Member:
    #32232
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    Toronto
    Vehicle:
    2007 SR5
    4x4 Illuminated Switch, BakFlip G2, Weathertech Floor Liners
    stick the antenna magnet to the top of the unit...I ran my mic wire up the passenger pillar and clipped mic to the roof liner....I'll try to get some pics. You should also connect wires for back-up camera from now and just tie them off somewhere behind the glovebox....then you won't have to remove HU again later.
     
  16. Oct 2, 2010 at 8:38 PM
    #16
    JLink

    JLink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Member:
    #36795
    Messages:
    11,337
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Ocean, NJ
    Vehicle:
    The "Big Nig"
    Lifted, Locked, Armored. Ready To Wheel.
    I have my antenna mounted on my dash on the passenger side next to the pillar. If putting it on top of the unit doesnt screw anything up thats a really good idea. It said it should be able to see the sky, but if your method works thats awesome. I never would of thought of doing that.
     
To Top